Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Irving School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2014

This school is amazing. The teachers are awesome and have challenged both of my kids. Mrs Olson was a great addition. They created community meetings on wednesdays which gets the whole school and the families together. I would recommend to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

My son is comfortable here and his teachers are caring as is Mrs. Olson.My only wish is that with those students who have trouble with the tests that they could have a few more minutes to finish or be put into another room with a teachers aide to take the pressure off of the student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2011

My daughter has been to a couple of schools and has never been so traumatized. She is special needs and has behavioral issues and it will take me some time to undo the trauma they have caused her due to their lack of education in how to deal with these issues and their refusal to put her in an appropriate setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

This school has a wonderful atmosphere. The building needs repairs, but with a dwindling budget, I'd rather save the teachers than fix cosmetic problems. My daughter needs extra help and they go above and beyond to make sure they they accomodate every need he has. Currently they are trying to save the all day kindergarten. Wonderful teachers, great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I absolutely love Irving School. I went there from K-7th grade. And now my 4 children have had the opportunity to attend also. It is a close knit family type atmosphere. Everyone cares. I'm proud to say my children go to this school. Good Luck Irving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

Irving school is in an older building but the important issue is how the teachers interact with students and parents. I find that the teachers really do care about the students and the level of education is good. My daughter loves to go to school and is reading two grades above level. There is diversity in the school and I feel this is important for all children who will soon be adults and live in a diverse world. In the future this will help the children who will become adults to accept people no matter what race, religion or ethnic backround, this is what helps keep peace in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

It is an averge school that has great teachers.Although the teachers are good the building is a mess but I have a feeling the mayor is going to fix that. My son loves it. He is excited to go to school every day and he loves the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

We moved into this school district mid-year and they really made my daughter feel welcome. In addition, my daughter has special needs and they went the extra mile to make sure her accommodations were in place immediately and even trained the entire staff to help her. The teachers are very caring and get the kids excited about learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

Irving School has many caring teachers. They go the extra mile to help motivate our children who have many different problems and needs. Our children need to be recognized, too many kids are overlooked. When I was a kid, my favorite teacher was the one that had parties and laughed. I learned a lot in her class and many teachers at Irving remind me of her. Stop fighting and smell the roses.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 11, 2006

my son loves the school in first grade they had him reading at almost a third grade level.so far teachers are always willing to help and listen . and Mr. Gallo is always there when I have a question .My son loves all his classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2005

Giving candy and prizes out to reward children is a sign of inexperiance. The 'warm and fuzzies' need to lighten up. where is the leadership in the principal's office. The new super is here... hope she steps in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2004

The building itself is certainly old and could use some updating, but as far as my children are concerned, they love it there. The teachers I have had experience with have been wonderful. Parents need to be more involved, but the existing PTO does a good job with limited numbers of volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2003

School looks to be neglected. Very dark, dingy, appears to never have been painted since it was built. It needs a lot of work. Pto parent involvement is terrible, maybe 10 - 12 parents show up at meetings. Nobody seems to care much there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female73%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic55%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%

Reading

All Students58%
Female66%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English60%

Writing

All Students67%
Female79%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic70%
White70%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female61%
Male48%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English51%

Reading

All Students40%
Female39%
Male42%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English40%

Writing

All Students69%
Female86%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female62%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic55%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%

Reading

All Students63%
Female73%
Male52%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic57%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%

Science

All Students77%
Female73%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%

Writing

All Students89%
Female91%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 61%
Hispanic 36% 20%
Black 19% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9 Garden Place
Derby, CT 06418
Phone: (203) 736-5043

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bradley School
Derby, CT


St Joseph School
Shelton, CT


St. Joseph School
Ansonia, CT


Lafayette School
Shelton, CT


Assumption School
Ansonia, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT