Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Irving School 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing. The teachers are awesome and have challenged both of my kids. Mrs Olson was a great addition. They created community meetings on wednesdays which gets the whole school and the families together. I would recommend to anyone.

Irving School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
My son is comfortable here and his teachers are caring as is Mrs. Olson.My only wish is that with those students who have trouble with the tests that they could have a few more minutes to finish or be put into another room with a teachers aide to take the pressure off of the student.


Irving School 1

Posted January 03, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has been to a couple of schools and has never been so traumatized. She is special needs and has behavioral issues and it will take me some time to undo the trauma they have caused her due to their lack of education in how to deal with these issues and their refusal to put her in an appropriate setting.

Irving School 5

Posted June 07, 2010
- a parent
This school has a wonderful atmosphere. The building needs repairs, but with a dwindling budget, I'd rather save the teachers than fix cosmetic problems. My daughter needs extra help and they go above and beyond to make sure they they accomodate every need he has. Currently they are trying to save the all day kindergarten. Wonderful teachers, great principal.

Irving School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
I absolutely love Irving School. I went there from K-7th grade. And now my 4 children have had the opportunity to attend also. It is a close knit family type atmosphere. Everyone cares. I'm proud to say my children go to this school. Good Luck Irving!


Irving School
no rating

Posted March 21, 2009
- a parent
Irving school is in an older building but the important issue is how the teachers interact with students and parents. I find that the teachers really do care about the students and the level of education is good. My daughter loves to go to school and is reading two grades above level. There is diversity in the school and I feel this is important for all children who will soon be adults and live in a diverse world. In the future this will help the children who will become adults to accept people no matter what race, religion or ethnic backround, this is what helps keep peace in the world.

Irving School 2

Posted December 20, 2007
- a parent
It is an averge school that has great teachers.Although the teachers are good the building is a mess but I have a feeling the mayor is going to fix that. My son loves it. He is excited to go to school every day and he loves the teachers.

Irving School 5

Posted November 09, 2007
- a parent
We moved into this school district mid-year and they really made my daughter feel welcome. In addition, my daughter has special needs and they went the extra mile to make sure her accommodations were in place immediately and even trained the entire staff to help her. The teachers are very caring and get the kids excited about learning.


Irving School 3

Posted August 25, 2006
- a teacher
Irving School has many caring teachers. They go the extra mile to help motivate our children who have many different problems and needs. Our children need to be recognized, too many kids are overlooked. When I was a kid, my favorite teacher was the one that had parties and laughed. I learned a lot in her class and many teachers at Irving remind me of her. Stop fighting and smell the roses.

Irving School 5

Posted August 11, 2006
- a parent
my son loves the school in first grade they had him reading at almost a third grade level.so far teachers are always willing to help and listen . and Mr. Gallo is always there when I have a question .My son loves all his classes.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Irving School
9 Garden Place, Derby, CT  06418
(203) 736-5043
Last modified Irving School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Irving School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top