Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Irving School 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a parent
This school is amazing. The teachers are awesome and have challenged both of my kids. Mrs Olson was a great addition. They created community meetings on wednesdays which gets the whole school and the families together. I would recommend to anyone.

Irving School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
My son is comfortable here and his teachers are caring as is Mrs. Olson.My only wish is that with those students who have trouble with the tests that they could have a few more minutes to finish or be put into another room with a teachers aide to take the pressure off of the student.


Irving School 1

Posted January 03, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has been to a couple of schools and has never been so traumatized. She is special needs and has behavioral issues and it will take me some time to undo the trauma they have caused her due to their lack of education in how to deal with these issues and their refusal to put her in an appropriate setting.

Irving School 5

Posted June 07, 2010
- a parent
This school has a wonderful atmosphere. The building needs repairs, but with a dwindling budget, I'd rather save the teachers than fix cosmetic problems. My daughter needs extra help and they go above and beyond to make sure they they accomodate every need he has. Currently they are trying to save the all day kindergarten. Wonderful teachers, great principal.

Irving School 1

Posted November 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Irving School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
I absolutely love Irving School. I went there from K-7th grade. And now my 4 children have had the opportunity to attend also. It is a close knit family type atmosphere. Everyone cares. I'm proud to say my children go to this school. Good Luck Irving!

Irving School 0
no rating

Posted March 21, 2009
- a parent
Irving school is in an older building but the important issue is how the teachers interact with students and parents. I find that the teachers really do care about the students and the level of education is good. My daughter loves to go to school and is reading two grades above level. There is diversity in the school and I feel this is important for all children who will soon be adults and live in a diverse world. In the future this will help the children who will become adults to accept people no matter what race, religion or ethnic backround, this is what helps keep peace in the world.

Irving School 2

Posted December 20, 2007
- a parent
It is an averge school that has great teachers.Although the teachers are good the building is a mess but I have a feeling the mayor is going to fix that. My son loves it. He is excited to go to school every day and he loves the teachers.


Irving School 5

Posted November 09, 2007
- a parent
We moved into this school district mid-year and they really made my daughter feel welcome. In addition, my daughter has special needs and they went the extra mile to make sure her accommodations were in place immediately and even trained the entire staff to help her. The teachers are very caring and get the kids excited about learning.

Irving School 5

Posted June 12, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Irving School
9 Garden Place, Derby, CT  06418
(203) 736-5043
Last modified Irving School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Irving School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top