Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Allgrove School

Public | PK-3 | 255 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2010

The staff is caring and devoted. We are the smallest independent school system in the state of CT -- we have very limited resources. This money could help in so many ways. We have leaks in the roofs, asbestos, ants in the springtime, and currently no money to hire a substitute custodian while our regular one is on medical leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

I have two children in Allgrove at the moment. My initial impression of the school itself was disappointing, as the building is terribly out of date and has fallen into what many would consider to be 'disrepair'. However, the teachers thus far have proven to have a dedication to the students that surpasses other schools and that is what makes Allgrove special. I have my opinions of the administration of the school district, and the town's politics are an entire separate post, and in spite of that the teachers really strive to go above and beyond their environment and circumstances to provide a quality education. I am concerned about the large size of the classes, though. Having volunteered many times for in-class helping, I have witnessed the utter crowding and distractions that come with 24+ students per teacher in some cases. There will be much trouble if teacher positions are cut
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2007

My son is in kindergarten and he enjoys the school very much and so do I. I think that the whole school is involved with his education, the secretaries, support staff, etc. and not just his homeroom teacher. They have prepared him well for first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

2006-2007 Academic year has this school full to the brim. Teachers are very strong (well seasoned) but with so many kids in each class, it is hard for them to get everything done. This town desperately needs a new elementary school. This building is quite old and in disrepair. Notes of importance: Kindergarten is 1/2 day only. Bathooms are terribly old and need updating. School does the best it can with what it has to work with--which is a really old building built for much fewer students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

I have had 3 children go through Allgrove, and we have experienced tremendous improvements with the addition of new, bright, positively focussed, and charismatic teachers. I love to volunteer in the classrooms to learn more positive ways of setting expectations and following through with consequences that get kids to cooperate! The new Everyday Math program is outstanding. I wish I could send my 7th grader back to Allgrove. The new focus on social interactions and making good choices, is positive and refreshing. The only change I would like to see that would make it safer for picking up and dropping off children during the school day, is that the teacher parking and visitor parking be switched to allow children to remain on the building side of the enterance and not have to cross traffic. Overall, many kudos!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2005

Allgrove School is an excellent school for interaction between students and faculty, parents and faculty, and community and faculty. I also attended Allgrove and have many wonderful memories that I hope my children will also have. The reading program is also commendable and I have no doubt that my children will be prepared for all the standardized testing to come in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 63% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
73%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female66%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%

Reading

All Students62%
Female46%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%

Writing

All Students86%
Female80%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 62%
Black 7% 13%
Hispanic 7% 19%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33 Turkey Hills Rd
East Granby, CT 06026
Phone: (860) 653-2505

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

R. Dudley Seymour School
East Granby, CT


Tariffville School
Tariffville, CT




Calvary Christian School
Windsor Locks, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT