Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Haven High School

Public | 9-12 | 885 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2012

I wanted to like this school and sent my son there with hesitation. It has not been a good year. The security is the hardest working faction of the school. The Principal is rarely available, the teachers do not return calls or emails. The online grade program is only as good as the teachers who keep it updated, and most of them do not seem to so I never really have an idea of the grades for my son. The Digital Arts Academy is a complete joke and most kids have dropped out of the program. The tutoring program no longer exists because I'm told the teachers would not do it. If you have a bright and motivated child, of course your child will do well here and anywhere else. If your child needs guidance, assistance, and may be easily led, this is not the school for your child. The Board of Education is weak, and they still cannot figure out why they are more than half a million underspent. The sports program uses up taxpayer money and does not produce results. The athletes are targets for discipline because they are the only students that may be motivated by discipline. Despite the town's troubles with race and culture challenges, there does not seem to be an effort to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Both my children started their education in catholic school, they both decided not to continue their education at a Catholic High School and wanted to go to the Public High School in their town. They transistioned wonderfully, my daughter graduated in the top 10 of her class and my son is currently a junior and doing well. The teachers, counselors, etc. have always been supportive and helpful to my children and us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

Why do people always blame the school? My daughter is doing very well academically there. You get what you put into your education. You could do to a school in an elite community, and the drug and alcohol use there would make a less elite community seem wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

I had 4 Children Graduate from EH, I must say the Teacher's care very deeply about the students, If I had a problem with one of my Kids they were extremely helpful in resolving the problems.and they treat all cultures or backgrounds the same. it is not an Italian community. and the school is not small at all. if anything it's state of the Art. Very nice school to send your child, they care very much for the kids well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

This school is very racist and administration refuses to initiate any typeo f cultural diversity training. It is a small school in a very small Italian community and the 'good ole' boy feeling echoes loudly through the halls. This school is pathetic
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

Of course, like any other school EHHS has some problems. But overall it is an awesome school! Most teachers at the school are very caring about their students, they truely want to see their students succeed in life. They make a connection with them on a personal level which not many teachers do. As an EHHS graduate this personal connection with teachers helped me greatly. They were always their to help you in whatever you could possibly need. As for preparing me for college, I could not have been better prepared because of the help from several staff members. For some reason so many people believe EHHS is a horrible school. But, the school has helped many kids with their futures. The school probably gets so many bad reviews because peoples opinions mainly come out when they've had a negative experience. People haven't gotten to see the many great experiences!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2008

This school is horrible. The school does not have any teachers that pay attention to their students, also the school needs to actually figure out the problems with the children and getting the facts before suspending them .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

East Haven high school has consistently performed among the worst public schools beyond the inner cities. Sports are a greater priority than academics, and the school doesn't achieve in either domain. The teaching is poor, prone to low expectations which are inconsistently met. The college graduation rate is below average. If you want your kid to be prepared for college, or simply to receive an adequate high school education, avoid this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 14, 2007

My child is a freshman this year and is very happy. Coming from another state where every class was over crowded this school is already ahead with small class sizes. There is plenty of extracurricular activities for any child to participate in. Language, choir, guitar, track and field and cheerleading are among the activities she is involved in. You will get out of high school what you want to get out of it. The only negative I do have is that on open house 3 of the teachers did not show, that did send a negative message I thought.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

My daughter graduated in 2000 and I must say, I sure do hope EHHS has come a long way since then. I can remember her having COPIES of her math book because they couldn't afford the books, EHHS needs a little guidance and maybe it would be going somewhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

I believe that just like everyother school, east haven has a few problems. However, I believe that what you receive from East Haven has to do with what you put into your high school experience. If you are willing to challenge yourself, then you will be able to go onto a high learning facility (college). In order for things to become better at East Haven, students have to understand that they can better themselves if they a willing to try. The question is, do they want too?
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 27, 2005

Let me tell you, nothing about East Haven High is helpful for college. I graduated and went onto college clueless!! It was fun to cruise through and watch movies all year, but the fact of the matter is, when it comes time to go to college, not one thing you learned in East Haven was applied. I wish I went to a private school that actually prepared me for what I was going to encounter in the future. --EHHS Grad.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 27, 2005

EHHS is not a bad school. there is much debate on what goes on in the bathrooms, but i can assure you nothing bad goes on. the students are smart kids and should not be underestimated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2004

Please consider to add hidden or store cameras in the restrooms so kids will behave right in there as well. Also, encourage kids [to] talk to parents and adults and add contents of scientific facts in health class. Just a thought.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 22, 2004

It seems that EHHS overall is a fine school. The sign posted at the front gate says that it is a smoke free school. This really bothers me because I know that kids smoke on the grounds and I also know from others that kids are smoking in the boys and girls bathrooms. This needs to be monitored more closely. I also do not feel that a child who is 5 minutes late for the day should be docked for the entire day. This is not right. With all the construction going on in East Haven right now the school needs to be a little more lientent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

214 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female64%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%

Reading

All Students82%
Female88%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%

Science

All Students81%
Female81%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%

Writing

All Students92%
Female97%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 61%
Hispanic 16% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 3% 13%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

35 Wheelbarrow Ln
East Haven, CT 06513
Phone: (203) 468-3267

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

North Branford High School
North Branford, CT




North Haven High School
North Haven, CT


Amistad Academy
New Haven, CT


High Meadows
Hamden, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT