Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Momauguin School

Public | 3-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2011

Today was my last day of school at Momauguin. Since Momauguin only goes up to 5th grade, i get to go to a different school. I came from D.C. Moore and there was a huge difference! At Momauguin, I grew so close to my classmates, it was like going to school for another day with my family. I've only been here for 1 year but its the best year ever! So many fun events and kids are in that school! Our 5th grade grew so close, we all started crying on the last day of school! Were like a family and I love each one of them<3


Posted May 10, 2010

it's a good school for kids to learn and grow as a person. and my nephew vinny loves it there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Our grandson loves every minute of his school day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

The dedicated staff, who find innovative ways to enrich their students' learning and keep the students interested and eager to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

i like the teachers and how they teach and everybodys nice
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2009

There is definately alot of favoritism going on their. and alot is to be said with their teachers . I would check into other schools in the area before going to momauguin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

I love the school. everyone is cool and fun all the teachers and students. my teacher is Mrs. Meoli. Mrs. Vass is reading and soical studies. its so fun. i asolutly love mrs. gooddale!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2008

My son recently transferred to Momauguin and is so very happy to be there! His teacher Mrs Wieland is an outstanding teacher and his work is challenging and far above average! The principal Mrs Goodale is simply the nicest lady who grew up in this neighborhood and her life and career is truly vested in the interest of all the children from Momauguin area! Even the school secretary Mrs DeFrancesco is a delight and very professional - I can't wait to see how far my son will progress in this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

I cant say enough about this school. The teachers and staff have been wonderful to my son. They all seem to take pride in what they do. Even the principal Mrs Goodale makes an extra effort to keep track of my son's progress. My son loves it there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

my son is in momauguin 3rd grade. He is doing excellent work. He has a wonderful teacher Mrs. Hurley. She is warm hearted, patient, smart. He is very happy there and so am I!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female88%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%

Reading

All Students62%
Female83%
Male39%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%

Writing

All Students62%
Female80%
Male44%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female65%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%

Reading

All Students73%
Female81%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%

Writing

All Students73%
Female74%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female91%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic59%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%

Reading

All Students66%
Female73%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic52%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%

Science

All Students73%
Female74%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%

Writing

All Students77%
Female91%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 61%
Hispanic 27% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 4% 13%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

99 Cosey Beach Rd
East Haven, CT 06512
Phone: (203) 468-3321

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

D. C. Moore School
East Haven, CT


Grove J. Tuttle School
East Haven, CT




Nathan Hale School
New Haven, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT