Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
East Lyme, CT
Students enrolled: 1,162

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


East Lyme High School 5

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
I do not agree with the previous comment about not emphasizing math and science. Both my daughter and son graduated from ELHS and won scholarships to Purdue University where they studied Earth Science and Chemistry. My daughter's teachers adapted the math curriculum to fit her advanced knowledge resulting in her being awarded the Beering scholarship worth $250,000. I believe the students and parents are equally important in the quest for knowledge.

East Lyme High School 1

Posted April 24, 2013
- a parent
I think the school does not emphasis and promote the importance of science. The school does not encourge student to excell in math. That is why you hardly see any East Lyme graduates in top engeneer schools.


East Lyme High School 5

Posted January 08, 2011
- a student
I believe East Lyme High School is a great place for students to get the most to pre-college education while also building life long relationships with many students.

East Lyme High School 5

Posted October 06, 2010
- a parent
The academics here are great and many of the graduating students go on to top colleges. Honors math is very well supported and the teachers are excellent. In fact, the teachers in general are very willing to help students and many have very high expectations. My oldest was very well prepared for an honors program at a top engineering school.

East Lyme High School 5

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


East Lyme High School 4

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
I has great courses, the students are trusted and the privileges are great.

East Lyme High School 4

Posted September 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

East Lyme High School 5

Posted December 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


East Lyme High School 5

Posted July 09, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

East Lyme High School 2

Posted May 12, 2008
- a student
The school doesn't do nearly enough to support the arts, whether it be through their drama society or through their art program. Academics and athletics are emphasized to the extreme here, and so non-athletic students may feel marginalized for not participating in a sport or being a high achiever academically. The quality of the teachers is excellent in English & Language Arts as well as History, but I agree that math is not supported at all. I would like to see a re-vamping of their guidance office as well- there is very little emotional support for students- transfer students especially.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Lyme High School
30 Chesterfield Rd Box 21, East Lyme, CT  06333
(860) 739-6946
Last modified East Lyme High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
East Lyme High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top