Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Broad Brook Elementary School

Public | PK-4, 6 | 532 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 30, 2014

My son goes to BBS and I don't like it. Not because he goes there but because of how the principals, teachers, and other school staff treat students. I see they're very unjust and like to make up vicious lies about people which is very wrong! They think they're supremacist and they're not! Its sad teachers and principals would go so low to put people down, judge them, and be hypocritical towards others! They choose to put certain people in classes that they don't belong in without the parents consent! That's illegal and someone needs to take action on it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

My son has been going to BBS for the past yearsand has been nothing short of wonderful. The challenging coursework, caring teachers, and high expectations for learning have all helped to lead him to become a confident, inquisitive student. I could not be more pleased with my son's progress. The community's lack of value in education is evident in the yearly failure to approve the budget; this poor choice is not the fault of those who work in the system. Never is it used as an excuse by the faculty/staff; they simply gather their resources and attempt to overcome their budgetary limitations. Parental involvement is excellent; teachers partner with parents with nothing but the kids' best interests in mind. This is a great school with a great future! Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

Most of the teachers are very good, the Principal is very active and great with the kids. We have been happy with the school overall. The town needs to invest more into the schools, computer class was eliminated in 2013 due to budget cuts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

The child I have guardianship over attends this school. I wasn't at all impressed with his initial transition. He was placed in an English as a second language class, I was furious. My child only speaks English and so do I. He was place there simply because he is of Hispanic origin, I demanded to know why he was placed and I was asked if I spoke Spanish to him at home. I asked them if they had read his previous IEP which mentioned his early age hearing loss and surgery, which delayed his speech. Its ashamed that people are still racially motivated when making assumptions of a persons house hold. I am American, born and raised. When I asked weather I appeared to have difficulties articulating in English, the staff seamed embarrassed and apologized. My child was pulled from the ESL, or English as a Second Language, class that day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

My son is going to BBS from past 1yr and we pretty much like it . We were initially worried about the ratings but we are happy now .The teachers are quiet cooperative and responds promptly to any issues. The teachers encouragement to the kids is very nice . The teachers make sure the kids do their best in each and every aspect . Overall its a nice school without any issues. Not just my kids all my friends kids are also going to this school since their Pre -K and everyone like it a lot .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2013

My son started going to this school since last year and we like the staff and the way of treating the children is too good. The bus driver cares all the children in both picking and dropping them in the apartment complex. All our neighbors children are used to go to this school and all of them are felt happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2012

My daughter's experience at BBS for the past three years has been nothing short of wonderful. The challenging coursework, caring teachers, supportive administration, and high expectations for learning have all helped to lead her to become a confident, learned, inquisitive student. As an educator myself, I could not be more pleased with my daughter's progress. The community's lack of value in education is evident in the yearly failure to approve the budget; this poor choice is not the fault of those who work in the system. Never is it used as an excuse by the faculty/staff; they simply gather their resources and attempt to overcome their budgetary limitations. Parental involvement is excellent; teachers partner with parents with nothing but the kids' best interests in mind. This is a great school with a great future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2012

A school that has chronic bad test scores, a school that doesn't make adequately yearly progress, and now a school that has two ongoing investigations by DCF. Some major changes need to be made.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female69%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%

Reading

All Students71%
Female69%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%

Writing

All Students74%
Female80%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female77%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%

Reading

All Students76%
Female79%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%

Writing

All Students77%
Female82%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 61%
Hispanic 13% 20%
Black 11% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 4%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14 Rye St
East Windsor, CT 06016
Phone: (860) 623-2433

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Eli Terry School
South Windsor, CT


Windermere School
Ellington, CT



Center School
Ellington, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT