Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Unquowa School

Private | PK-8 | 175 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fairfield

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $391,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

Be very very careful about enrolling your child if they are entering less than third grade. The first and second grade teachers are horrible and after pulling my kids, they had to be brought up to speed in order to catch up to the public school curriculum. We complained to the administration and received absolutely no support whatsoever. This school does not have the students' welfare at heart at all, they simply protect unqualified teachers. Do your research, there are a lot of upset parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2013

My two children are Unquowa alums who hit the ground running in high school - excelling in all honors level classes and, more importantly, becoming happy and active members of their new school community and taking on leadership roles in athletics and school clubs. They both give Unquowa credit for their strong grades and test scores in high school because, as one of them said, "at Unquowa you learn how good school can be and how to study." What a tribute to their Unquowa teachers...thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2013

I'm confident my son will be well prepared for high school. A focus on academics and the reinforcement of a strong moral compass are givens at most independent schools and Unquowa is no different in that regard. So what makes Unquowa Special? It's hard to put your finger on it, and as Unquowa parents know, that value is sometimes best told anecdotally. For example, at last week's end-of -the-season athletic awards event I was struck by two things. The first was the athletes at the podium, kids 11-14 years old, speaking about their respective seasons with the clear eyed confidence of seasoned public speakers. The second was the was the fact that no parent had their nose in their iPhone checking emails while the kids were speaking. Confident unafraid students and a interested, involved, and supportive parent community might not have the same measurable import as grades and transcripts, but as a parent, these immeasurable qualities are equally, if not more, important. We're happy we chose Unquowa for our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

A school that should look at itself in the mirror and stop believing its own PR. It is not academically rigorous, it plays favourites with abandon and it is remarkably tin eared to parents' suggestions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2012

I found The Unquowa School to be one of the best experiences of my life. Going to the school I wasn't quite sure what to expect but when I got there I loved it. The teachers and head were the nicest I've ever had and the curriculum was great in challenging you at different levels. After 2 years I left and going to another supposedly top school but it didn't compare at all. I'm learning stuff that I had learned 2 years before at Unquowa. The environment was something I miss dearly, the interaction between the older and younger students is something I haven't found anywhere else. Unquowa was really a one of a kind school built on community, kindness to everyone, and letting everyone come out of their shell if they hadn't been able to at their old public school.


Posted February 18, 2012

I brought my daughter to Unquowa in 5th grade. She entered Unquowa a shy girl who was able to slip through the cracks at public school because she didn't need to give her best effort to get reasonable grades. Unquowa has changed her into a girl who is self-confident in herself and her abilities. She works hard and is challenged by the teachers if she gives less than her best. I have two other children and I only wish it was in our budget to send all of them to Unquowa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

I have a child who has been at Unquowa for two years and it has been a great experience. The curriculum is both stronger and weaker than our excellent public school, depending on the subject, but is comparable overall. The environment is small, intimate and sheltered, which has allowed my child to grow significantly in ways she did not feel comfortable doing in the public school. She is now an extremely confident, mature and motivated student who has set high academic goals for herself. Unquowa is not for every child, but sending our daughter there was the best decision we've made on her behalf.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

We have been an Unquowa family for five years now and remain confidant that it was absolutely the right move for us. At Unquowa, your children will receive a top quality education. By the time they graduate, they will not only have a solid base as a student, but as a human being as well. The negative reviewer below may have a personal axe to grind with the Head of School, but in our experience the leadership has proven to be strong, caring, and progressive. With so many excellent public and private schools in our area, Unquowa really stands out as a unique and thoughtful place. Simply put, a great place to let your children grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

We have been apart of the Unquowa community for 12 years. During that time our children have grown from toddlers to young adults in an educational environment that is supportive, challenging and most of all empowering. Surrounded by people who genuinely care about their development as well rounded individuals, academically, athletically and artistically. An Unquowa education goes beyond books and smart boards, it is a living and growing community of families and professionals all working together so that the students have every opportunity to achieve their personal best. Sustainability at Unquowa is not just a goal, it is the current reality from our vegetable gardens to our graduates and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2012

My children flourished at Unquowa. The school environment has helped to make them confident and curious. The academics are rigorous but the attention they give to each child's learning style brings out excellence in their results. They love the sports as well and all their town sports coaches comment on thir sense of sportsmanship
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2012

sub public school quality education at private school prices. Teacher turnover is notable, so clearly your 25k tuition is not going toward the teachers. The school does an impressive job with the marketing itself but the reality is drastically different.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

Unquowa School gives all students individual attention to attain their personal best. The school teaches self esteem and self confidence by allowing children to take risks and participate in all activities. The Administration has an open door policy, as well as, the devoted teachers. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

As a past parent of two children, I can assure anyone interested in a solid rigorous education in a nurturing environment for their children that Unquowa is the school to attend. The caring teachers and small classrooms provides individual attention to your child's learning style. My children were very well prepared for high school. The school provides experiential learning and critical thinking skills needed to be successful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 9, 2012

All three of my children attended the Unquowa School. The education was excellent. The curriculum is well rounded with great learning experiences in the Visual and Performing Arts. The school is a member of the Fairchester Athletic League. It is diverse and competitive. Unquowa's graduates go on to the best high schools in the area. Unquowa was an incredible experience for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

The Unquowa School is a nurturing environment for children. The teachers truly care about each and every student and are always available to the students and parents.They are very prepared academically to move on to high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2009

Unquowa has had a tremendously positive impact on our two children, both academically and socially. We are now in our 7th year at Unquowa and believe that there is not another school in the geographic area that would have met our needs so fully. Eight years ago we were searching for a school that offered a broad curriculum, a flexible teaching style (understanding that all children learn differently), diversity in the classroom, and most importantly possessed a highly effective, creative, caring staff and faculty. Unquowa has greatly exceeded our original expectations. Most importantly, Unquowa is a school that teaches to the whole child and consistently maintains high standards that impact students positively every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

We have a nine year old boy in his second year at Unquowa. He has benefitted greatly by the small class size and the affirming environment. He loves the school which has proven to be an excellent match for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

The school and faculty has exceeded our expectations. A rich and engaging teacing environment that stresses the importance of respect and caring toward others. Our two girls can't wait to go to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

We have two children who have attended Unquowa School. One is a recent graduate and one has just entered the Upper School. Our experience has been fantastic. The Head of School and faculty are exemplary. They set an excellent balance between an intellectually rigorous and respectful environment. The curriculum is fully integrated and focuses on actually teaching students how to think independently and to love learning, instead of on standardized test scores. A huge percentage of the Upper School students are John's Hopkins scholars, which certainly speaks to the caliber of the students and the quality of the education. The school community is very close, not pretentious, and kids have an easy time making and maintaining friends from various backgrounds and numerous communities. We simply cannot say enough good things about the school. Unquowa truly is a hidden gem that helps make every kid shine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Intellectually competitive, emotionally cooperative Our children aged 12 and 9 just entered their third year at Unquowa and we could not be more pleased with the school. We looked all over Fairfield County for a school with the right mix of academic rigor and focus on personal growth and Unquowa fit the bill perfectly. Our kids are happy, involved, and exposed to an innovative educational curriculum on a daily basis. Unquowa is intellectually competitive, but it is also emotionally cooperative. From the Pre-K to the Upper School, you will not find a tighter knit group of students. Unquowa School s intimate size enables a nimbleness and curiosity that larger schools can t match. Whether it s the in depth partnership programs with regional museums, the all organic approach to meals, or the energized and committed faculty and staff, you d be hard pressed to find a school as innovative and forward thinking as Unquowa.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 61%
Black 5% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hispanic 1% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (203) 336-3479

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

981 Stratfield Road
Fairfield, CT 06825
Website: Click here
Phone: (203) 336-3801

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Stratfield School
Fairfield, CT



Hillel Academy
Fairfield, CT



Jennings School
Fairfield, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT