Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
200 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 87 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Unquowa School 4

Posted June 06, 2016
- a parent
Three of my children attended Unquowa each very different. Unquowa found ways to bring out the best in each of them. Individual teachers were amazing. The second grade teacher found the best in my daughter who struggled and helped us see her gifts more clearly. The long term coach encouraged them to try new sports and while none were going to NCAA colleges they learned to love sports because of how he encouraged and supported them, a fifth grade teacher supported all my kids through tween anxiety. These amazing teachers became part of our family and we will miss them and be grateful to them forever. Thank you Unquowa.

The Unquowa School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Alison Bevan did an amazing job with the costumes for the play. So much hard work and talent went into making the Spring musical visually stunning.


The Unquowa School 5

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Terrific year at school. My child is thriving academically with a great new mathematics teacher this year. The Spring musical they had the other week was incredible and a great experience for all the kids participating (and everyone does). Looking forward to the fall already.

The Unquowa School 5

Posted November 30, 2015
- a parent
I can not say enough good things about this school. The Unquowa school is clearly a place of academic excellence, but it is so much more. Students grow to love learning and they approach this learning with a wide-open minds. Emphasis is placed on creative thinking as opposed to standardized learning of details. The true strength of the school rests in its culture which is one that embodies respect for each person and their individual gifts. I cant believe how luck my wife and I were to find this hidden gem. I can't think of any other place we would send our children. And our children would never want to be anywhere else.

The Unquowa School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
Unquowa is focused not only on academics, but also developing "good, caring, people". The staff helps kids accept each other for who they are. Differing interests and unique abilities are celebrated. Students do not ostracize each other for not all being the same. My son has learned that his classmates have skills and interest that he doesn’t share, but has started to become more curious as he has gotten to know them better. There is also alot of community service outreach in which students regularly participate.


The Unquowa School 5

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
Unquowa is truly an amazing and unique school with a very progressive approach to education and learning. My son is in the Lower School and could not be happier. Teachers and administration make a concerted effort not only to get to know each student holistically, but to understand and meet his/her unique academic needs. Remarkably, teachers manage to meet each child’s individual needs in a variety of subjects whether they are ‘gifted’ or ‘typical’. Some of the most outstanding characteristics of the school are: 1. Sharon Lauer- Head of School. This woman knows her stuff! She sees where education is headed in the twenty first century and has geared the curriculum and altered teaching methods accordingly. She has created a nurturing, compassionate environment where students are expected to treat each other with kindness and learn to think critically about issues and ideas. I have never been in the presence of more polite children than at this school. 2. The commitment of teachers to students, parents and each other. Teachers are invested in what each child is learning. This is not a ‘teach to the middle’ place. They are not racing to cover material- they want our children to love learning and really understand what they are being taught. When something isn’t working, they actually fix it! Teachers also realize that kids are different and learn differently. There is no one size fits all approach here. 3. An integrated curriculum. This is apparent as early as lower school, but is most obvious in upper school where English and social studies are now studied together as “humanities’. Educators and researchers have realized for a long time that material is not best learned in isolation if it is to be applied to problem solving in the real world. We see this on the graduate level consistently- The Case Study approach at Harvard Business School (HBS) is a great example. Students are still learning each subject, but they are also learning how the material in different subject areas relate to each other. Material that could otherwise seem dry really comes alive. In some ways this is just the tip of the iceberg in terms of what this school has to offer. Bottom line is your child will learn to think (not only to memorize), likely enjoy doing it and be prepared for high school.

The Unquowa School 5

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
Each August for the past few years, our children begin to countdown the days until school opens. Eagerly. My husband and I initially found this a bit strange, not having shared their enthusiasm for school when we were children. However, over the last 8 years at Unquowa, we have watched our children continue to develop not only enthusiasm for school but a wonderful enthusiasm and curiosity for pure learning. The Unquowa administration, faculty and staff are steadfast in their commitment to combine rigorous, robust academics with enriching and meaningful learning experiences. "Learning"at Unquowa is unique in that it occurs not only in classrooms and textbooks , but outside the classroom- be it in the gardens, on the stage, out on the banks of the brook, or in the art room. Students have the extraordinary opportunity to combine traditional learning with hands on experiences. Couple this with an environment that requires respect and understanding for each other. No wonder our children cannot wait to go back.

The Unquowa School 5

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
As our son approaches graduation, I asked him "What makes Unquowa so special?". Without hesitation he said, " The teachers really bond with the kids". It is that bond with his caring and committed teachers that has fueled our son's desire to work hard and excel, not only in the classroom, but on the athletic fields, theatrical plays, musical productions, science fairs and in the technology lab. His teachers know when to push and challenge him. This bond and his solid relationships with the devoted Unquowa teachers has fostered his self advocacy skills. We are confident that he his well prepared for high school and has the skills to be successful. We are so appreciative of the superb leadership by the Head of School, Sharon Lauer, and the strong sense of community she has fostered. It is always unfortunate when a vocal few taint the reputation of a school, especially when there are hundreds of families that have been changed by the tiredless dedication of the Unquowa School. If you are looking for a school where teachers really connect with their students, I encourage you to take a look at Unquowa and ask for yourself, " What makes Unquowa so special ? ".


The Unquowa School 5

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
We couldn’t be happier with Unquowa. Our son has attended for four years and is thriving academically and socially - and, perhaps most importantly, developing a solid sense of who he is and what he has to offer.His test scores rank him as a Johns Hopkins talented youth scholar, he participates in after school athletics throughout the year, he sings and acts in the school plays, has traveled to Costa Rica this with his classmates – we’ve been consistently impressed with the opportunities the school affords it’s students to learn and grow. We appreciate the quality and dedication of the teachers and staff, the sense of community that permeates the building, and are especially impressed with the exemplary head of school, Sharon Lauer, who works tirelessly to make Unquowa the exceptional environment that so many families feel compelled to rave about.

The Unquowa School 5

Posted May 20, 2015
- a parent
I have left a review or two here before when both of my children were in the lower school at Unquowa and since we have become part of the upper school I wanted to leave another review. I was surprised to read the most recent review from what appears to me to be a disgruntled parent. My child's experience this year has been wonderful. I felt support for my child both academically and when faced with the hurdles of becoming a "middle schooler", This support has even been offered to me via parent groups the school offers. Truly a place the that I feel nothing but the utmost support and caring. Mine is a student with some focus issues and the way the teachers come together to support individual students is truly something rare and needed. To sit down with the teachers at Unquowa who care enough to not only devise plans to make school life better and be encouraged to try strategies at home to help my child with focus, has been a god send. I find the teachers to be approachable, supportive and always with the best interest of my child first. They believe in building a community that teaches children to be responsible, caring and compassionate for one another.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Unquowa School
981 Stratfield Road, Fairfield, CT  06825
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 87 reviews. (203) 336-3801
Last modified The Unquowa School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top