Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Ungraded
Private
Fairfield, CT

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Eagle Hill - Southport 3

Posted March 07, 2013
- a parent
With a new head of school in place this year, let's hope that the curriculum that sorely laggs behind any other school is beefed up, and that the "transition" process which is non-existent be finally created. Problem here is after years of little or no science, social studies, language, grammer, English, NO ART or MUSIC or real CLUBS of any sort, these kids are ill prepared to even consider transition, so it become a zero sum game. The "transition" team seems to never know your child and it feels like they throw darts at a board. They don't even tell parents that their transitioning child may need to take the ISEE or even WHAT that means!!! The school was allowed to languish too long under the almost 30 year tenure of the old head, and needs a good dusting off and shaking off. THAT SAID, many if not ALL of the teachers here are truly phenomenal and THEY GET 5 stars, but the school administrators who have stayed too long and let the school stagnate get the 3 stars.

Eagle Hill - Southport 3

Posted November 17, 2011
- a parent
I find the sudden 3 posts on November 15th, which look as if they were written by the same person on the same day, suspect. Like any school, this school has its strengths and weaknesses. Do not send your child to this school expecting that they will perform miracles or really "fix" what is wrong. Rather, it is a respite for a while from the bad experiences in a public or other school. EH is capable of some some remediation, depending on how "severe" your child's individual needs are, but they do not TRULY customize anything to YOUR particular child's needs. Some kids progress, some kids "regress" and should probably have stayed in public or their old or gone to more curriculum vs. remediation based school That said, the teachers are wonderful and my daughter likes every one of them. She is also happier here surrounded by peers more like herself than in a "regular" school.


Eagle Hill - Southport 5

Posted November 15, 2011
- a parent
This school is a life-line for many children and their extended family network. Like my son, many middle school students with learning differences arrive at Eagle Hill broken and dejected students. Eagle Hill worked patiently to rebuild his self esteem, motivated him to read and improved his reading skills such that he could transition on to high school and read to learn (as opposed to learn to read). Being part of the Eagle Hill community gave him life skills that many adults lack such as empathy for others less fortunate than himself, self advocacy and it allowed him to come to terms with his own learning differences. In our final year, modifications were made to help prepare the kids to transition - including larger class sizes (with additional very experienced teacher support), longer term projects and increased quizzes and tests. The staff is exceptionally caring and experienced and work closely together as a faculty and with the families. No school can be perfect for every child, but we experienced three very productive, happy, worry-free years. Our son still struggles with his disability but learned to compensate and proudly excels in other areas of his life.

Eagle Hill - Southport 5

Posted November 15, 2011
- a parent
EHS has given my children the gifts of reading, math, writing, confidence and a strong sense of self. The teachers and staff have helped them become self advocates and build their self esteem. Academically, socially and emotionally, EHS has it all wrapped up into one! The school is a great environment for children with learning disabilities. My children have thrived at EHS and have found their true potential. The small nurturing environment lends its self to developing interpersonal skills, focusing on deficit areas and a strong sense of community. Staff and teachers know students on a personal level and are always engaging them with a smile. I am amazed at how far my children have come. EHS fosters the whole child and tends to the individual needs of each student. We will be forever grateful for the gifts EHS has given them! The EHS community has built a solid foundation for my children to succeed for a lifetime!!!

Eagle Hill - Southport 5

Posted November 15, 2011
- a parent
EHS was an incredible experience for our son. When he began 3rd grade, we started to see how difficult the academics were for him and his comprehension disability began to show. It was heartbreaking to see how hard he worked but saw little reward in academics. He entered EHS at 4th grade and continued through 8th grade. We cannot thank the school enough for the skills he has learned. Because he always had the motivation to succeed, EHS fostered that desire and taught him the skills he needed to suceed academically, they taught him how to manage his time, and how to self advocatef. He had a great foundation at EHS. He is now a junior in high school and is doing very well. EHS is a school that truly cares about each individual child and works diligently to help each child suceed. EHS has a wonderful administration and faculty whose goal is to nuture and foster each child's strengths as well as teaching skills to help with his or her learning difference.


Eagle Hill - Southport 0
no rating

Posted March 30, 2010
- a parent
My son has gone here for 3 years. While he has made tremendous gains in the areas of language / reading / spelling, I agree that the math & science curriculum are very weak. I have concerns as to where he will transition to after EHS. I feel he has sort of 'maxed out' of the program they offer, but is in no way ready for a mainstream school - it would be too academically rigorous for him & too demanding. He is finishing 4th grade now. He has missed so much in terms of science, art, music, etc that the school simply doesn't offer.

Eagle Hill - Southport 1

Posted March 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Eagle Hill - Southport 5

Posted December 13, 2008
- a parent
My Dater go's To This School and She Loves it!


Eagle Hill - Southport 2

Posted October 27, 2008
- a parent
Eagle Hill Southport is not all that its cracked up to be. The school is geared for elementary aged students and falls short for middle school kids. For a school that is supposed to understand kids that have unique learning styles, the administration and their programs and approaches to the student are rigid and have not changed in years. The math and science curriculum is very weak. The transition program is a joke. The lack of tests, labs and long term projects put students at a tremendous disadvantage after they leave Eagle Hill. The one positive is that there are some very talented and caring teachers.

Eagle Hill - Southport 5

Posted February 14, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eagle Hill - Southport
214 Main Street, Fairfield, CT  06890
(203) 254-2044
Last modified Eagle Hill - Southport is a Private school
Eagle Hill - Southport Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top