Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fairfield Warde High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, July 8, 2014

I didn't realize what a good school Fairfield Warde was until I got to college and found out that not all school systems are so lucky. My jaw hit the floor when some of my (private highly rated liberal arts school) college classmates didn't know what an X variable was. When I went to FWHS it was so big that you could really take a plethora of classes unavailable at smaller schools, and that allowed me to find my niche.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2014

Love my school, the diversty is good, classes are good, a bit of a chalenge but nothng a hard-worker couldn't handle:) I will very much miss it when I leave. They are welcoming and nice and we have some really great teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2013

Well, I just graduated from this school and I miss it already. The faculty are so welcoming. Instead of seeing them as teachers, you start to see them as second parents because of the special bond you grow between one another. Mostly all the teachers know you by name. The only down fall is that most of the students are very ignorant when it comes to race, culture, and stereotypes. It's as if they only know Fairfield and never been anywhere else with different types of people. Going through this just makes the non-ignorant stronger and more prepared for life outside of Fairfield... Overall this school is great and if I can do it all over again I would. :)


Posted June 21, 2013

Fairfield Warde High School provides a strong, comprehensive high school education. In general, both teaching and administrative staff are very highly qualified and extremely caring. Students are encouraged to attain high levels of academic success through ready access to honors and AP courses; and courses like American Studies provide particularly strong preparation for college-level study habits and discourse. The extra-curricular programs are varied, with lots of opportunities for student participation--in athletics, the arts and philanthropic organizations. However, recent budget concerns may be putting pressure on extra-curriculars--for example, "pay to play" will be introduced for 2013-2014 for certain sports, which may impact participation. One warning: like any school of its size, FWHS has an occasional teacher who doesn't measure up. It's important for parents to talk to their children about their school experiences, and if they start hearing that a teacher has never taught this subject before, or has never taught it at this level (e.g., AP) before, parents need to monitor their children's progress, and be vocal advocates within the school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2009

Great school, students were prepared to their next college level.My children who came here were accepted to one of the private prestigious school in the nation with the highest scholarships offer we could ever imagine. It's because of their preparation they got from this school, although there are lot of challenges ahead, but they are confident that they can tackle it, because of the motivation they learned at Fairfield Warde.As a parent we are grateful to this school.It deserve my rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

As a former student, this school was awesome. I have many memorable times in this school, all of them good ones. The music dept. was or rather still is amazing; the music dept at Warde is better than my college's. I remember being a senior and playing the William Tell Overture's Cello solo, which was an accomplishment.


Posted October 3, 2009

My Child is getting a great education at Warde. She loves fashion and her teacher is helping her live her dream. She wants to earn a scholar ship to go to FIT for the summer program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

I love this school so much. I currently go here and it is so accepting which is very nice. There is a place for everyone, most teachers are good too. overall, i feel like we are all treated with respect, we are treated as equals, and teachers let us be ourselves while trying to help us excell in every way. my school is amazing. also the extra curriculars are such a great opportunity! they are in the morning though which is cool, like the clubs are really interesting. bassically this school is a good choice. <3
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2009

As a student at this school who would, by all teen-movie standards, be considered an outcast, there was no more welcoming atmosphere than Warde. Sure, there were a few groups here and there, but the overall level of acceptance and interaction was a far cry away from many horror stories one hears about teenage issolation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2008

Fairfield Warde HS is a school with an incredible faculty and student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2008

I am a Fairfield Ward high school assisant non- paying staff employee. It is very nice place to work at most of the people at school are nice.


Posted January 31, 2008

I always feel like I'm given the best opportunities. I have friends who go to other schools in Connecticut and New York, and when I talk about the different electives and clubs that we're offered, they're shocked!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female93%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian American100%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%

Reading

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian American100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities81%
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%

Science

All Students96%
Female98%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian American95%
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%

Writing

All Students97%
Female99%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian American95%
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities74%
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 61%
Hispanic 12% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Black 4% 13%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Italian

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Italian

Resources

School facilities
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

755 Melville Ave
Fairfield, CT 06825
Phone: (203) 255-8354

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Central High School
Bridgeport, CT


Bassick High School
Bridgeport, CT


University School
Bridgeport, CT





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT