Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Farmington, CT
Students enrolled: 331
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Miss Porter's School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 11, 2015
- a parent
Whenever an incident crops up- however minor- that involves some violation by a student of this code of conduct, it is dealt with by the administration quickly and publicly.

Miss Porter's School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 11, 2015
- a parent
Developing a strong moral base in its girls is central to the school's mission. The girls seem to take this to heart, even when the adults aren't watching.


Miss Porter's School 5

Posted July 11, 2015
- a parent
It is true that the academics are rigorous, but I have to say that the school has exceeded my expectations of how they have helped mould my child. She is turning into a very well-rounded, empathetic, and motivated woman, they have really drawn her out of her shy self, and she is learning to love what academics have to offer in life. For all these things and more I give the school major credit. When we first applied to the school , we read somewhere that they "take in girls and turn them into women". My husband and I used to laugh about that, but approaching senior year and discovering that they do exactly that, and they do it very well. ( PS: they have many entertaining traditions and the girls DO have fun, too!)

Miss Porter's School 1

Posted May 18, 2015
- a parent
Grim! These girls are "educated" almost 24/7. There is little, if any, time to go deep, have fun with learning. They study, study, study, study, study, study. If that's academic excellence, you can have it. Kids have lots of time in life to burn out; it shouldn't happen at the ages of 14-18

Miss Porter's School 2

Posted November 24, 2013
- a parent
My daughter attends Porter's and we are very disappointed with the continued decline of the school. The head of school and administration are largely absent and unresponsive to any kind of feedback. Half of the faculty has left over the past two years and the new teachers are far too young and inexperienced to be effective in the classroom.


Miss Porter's School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a student
Amazing. The staff and students here are just so helpful and they are always there for you. The traditions in the school are part of what makes porters unique. The academics are strong and so are the athletics and arts.

Miss Porter's School 5

Posted March 29, 2013
- a parent
MPS is an outstanding institution that helps girls become women of confidence, substance and stature. The academics are rigorous and the expectations high, but the teachers are available to support and cheer on the students. The fellow students are even more supportive--remarkably so-- and their is little tolerance for bad behavior among the girls. Everyone seems to find a niche where they can flourish. Finally, they give the girls the freedom to find their place in the world, without pushing them to go to a short list of colleges or engage in a preconceived list of activities.

Miss Porter's School 2

Posted January 09, 2013
- a parent
The new head of school is a great business woman but has no real love of the girls. She has changed a lot of the wonderful established traditions It seems as if she has sucked all the fun out of the school. Many of the girls are demoralized. Some of the teachers are exceptional but many are only average. The pressure on the girls is huge and the support system is lacking. If I had the decision to make all over again, I would not have sent my daughter there.


Miss Porter's School 5

Posted May 16, 2011
- a community member
Miss Porter's School is a boarding school for girls, grade 9 through 12, located in Farmington, Connecticut. It is ranked number 1 all-girls school in the US. There are only about 89 students per grade, with the class average of 11 students and student teacher ratio of 1:8. It has one of the highest average SAT scores throughout high schools. Notable alumni include Jacqueline Kennedy, Gloria Vanderbilt, Dorothy Bush(Former-President Bush's sister), Dorothy Walker Bush(President bush's mother), Mamie Gummer(Meryl Streep's daughter) and Alice Hamilton. The school is very well-respected and famous donators include Oprah Winfrey. Miss Porter's School as sent many of its students to Ivy League colleges. It is difficult to get accepted to attend there. The acceptance rate of 2011 was very low according to the admissions office.

Miss Porter's School 5

Posted June 14, 2010
- a community member
Miss Porter's School is unlike any other. The faculty strive to help the young women develop into self thinking, independent leaders. The faculty go above and beyond to insure that each young woman develops into her own.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Miss Porter's School
60 Main Street, Farmington, CT  06032
(860) 409-3500
Last modified Miss Porter's School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Miss Porter's School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top