Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Farmington High School

Public | 9-12 | 1293 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 27, 2013

The school is high standard education, excellent teachers, great curriculum. Every student has a chance to be involved in the area of interest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

DAYUM DAT SWAGGILICIOS SKOOL LIKE A BAWS SO EPIK LIKE IT TOTALY EPIK SO YOLO BROSKI


Posted May 2, 2010

great school, as a sophomore i love the staff and the teachers make it a top priority to be there for assisting students all the time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2009

Farmington High School is one of the best in the state. They challenge all students academically and this pays off huge dividends when they reach college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2008

Farmington High School is truely an honor and privilege for my daughter to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

The teachers are excellent and methods of learning there are outstanding. My daughter graduated and her experience there has benefited her throughout her college years
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2007

Farmington High School is truly an exceptional school. You will definately prepare yourself for college and life. Teenagers who live in Farmington/Unionville, that attend FHS, come from different cultural and economic backgrounds which helps add to the diversity of the school. The teachers are second to none. The state statistics show that FHS is one of the top high schools in Connecticut.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2006

I was a student at FHS. I agree that the teachers are generally enthusiastic and interested in their students' success. The one qualm I have about FHS is the Integrated Math System. I had to go through this system, as I did not excel in mathematics, and I have found that the 'bits and pieces' mish-mash approach to this series of courses proved unhelpful during my high school and college career. I strongly encourage current students to avoid these classes if possible. A course focusing on one aspect of mathematics would be more useful when college is a goal (this is of course my opinion and is based on my sole experiences as a student).
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 5, 2006

Farmington High served to be the high school that I as well graduated from in 2002. It's a great school that has helped make my academic experience in college so much easier than many of the students I go to school with. The college prep is on point! The staff, faculty, and administration also provide an atmosphere that is welcoming. I loved the experience and would do it again if I could!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2006

I graduated from FHS in 2002, went on to pursue undergraduate work and now am employed by a major university in their admissions office doing student recruiting. It is my job to visit high schools in the regions of eastern NY, all of CT and all of RI and I can honestly say that compared to the other schools in the area Farmington is deserving of its title as the best in the state of CT. Its students, teachers and staff provide an environment they should be proud of that really does create the complete high school experience and goes above and beyond preparing students for what lies ahead. After having a positive personal experience one might think that I would hold a bias, but my travels and experiences have led me to believe that Farmington High School truly lives up to its credible recommendation.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 28, 2006

As a relatively recent graduate of Farmington High School, I cannot overstate the quality of the education I received there. Yes, the teachers are paid very well, but they are the best at what they do. Like any other profession, quality comes with a price. I will never forget the shock I felt during my first semester of college when I realized the degree to which I was over-prepared for higher education. Other college freshmen were struggling with tasks and workloads that I considered trivial, and because of FHS's extensive selection of Advanced Placement classes and quality preparation for AP exams, I entered college as a second-semester sophomore. I am currently pursuing a Ph.D and some of my upperclassmen college students turn in work that would never be accepted at FHS. Some people there may not appreciate their good fortune, but the long-term benefits of this first-rate education cannot be exaggerated.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 28, 2006

True, Farmington is home to many privileged people, and some are stuck up, but their money paid for my incredible education. Notice that I learned how to spell 'their' correctly. See, old money buys good grammar! It seems like one grumpy reviewer might need to revisit Farmington High, ignore the BMWs in the parking lot and the Gucci in the hallways, and actually LEARN a thing or two. As it happens, I'm not rich, neither were most of my friends. It's not 'Clueless.' There are even (dare I say it...) people from Unionville and Hartford in the school system! Seriously though, anywhere you go will have the rich and the poor, the stuck-up, the embittered envious, and the graciously grateful. Part of high school is learning to navigate this complicated social scene and becoming an independent-minded adult. Farmington doesn't change growing up; it just turns out smarter graduates.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 14, 2006

I am sorry but if we are so 'stuck up', then why are we the best public school in Connecticut? Not all of the students are stuck up, I have been to 3 different high schools, and out of them this FHS gives the best education, has the best teachers, and the best overall environment that I have seen. Not to mention the school has a nice budget to provide for materials that the students need. I am surprised this school is not a private school. I am proud of Farmington's heritage, and it's awesome school. If you do not like this 'rich, stuck up' life style them don't commeth here. Amen!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 23, 2005

This school was the worst school I have ever encountered. The children are as stuck up and inconsiderate as thier parents. They have everything handed to them and believe their money will make up for the brains they don't have. I applaud the principle for dealing with these students and thier parents. Some of the teachers extend thair humanity while others are only in it for the pay. Overall, I think this school needs a major makeover and attitude adjustment. The academic standing point is highly overrated.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female92%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian American95%
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities61%
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%

Reading

All Students96%
Female97%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian American100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%

Science

All Students95%
Female94%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian American95%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%

Writing

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian American97%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities76%
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 4%
Black 5% 13%
Hispanic 5% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10 Monteith Dr
Farmington, CT 06032
Phone: (860) 673-2514

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Miss Porter's School
Farmington, CT





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT