Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Juliet W. Long School 1

Posted April 01, 2013
- a parent
The principal hates the kids. The teachers are wonderful. The school is old, and my child has told me that the bathroom creaks. Some of the staff in Gales Ferry School are rude, and mean to the small children. As I said, the principal is one of them. She is also extremely rude to the parents, who can do nothing because they dont want their children to pay for it. I just hope someone will at some point.

Juliet W. Long School 1

Posted July 12, 2011
- a parent
My very bright student is not being taught well at all and now hates school.


Juliet W. Long School 0
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
They do alot for the children. They are a friendly community.

Juliet W. Long School 5

Posted July 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Juliet W. Long School 5

Posted August 27, 2008
- a student
this is one perfect school


Juliet W. Long School 0
no rating

Posted October 16, 2007
- a parent
This is a great school. The kids all seam to get along well and my kid made friends easily. The school has a great gym program and skilled teachers. Some have been around as long as I have! The teachers keep a close eye on the kids and know when to punish and when to let it go. At recess the kids all have tuns of fun. I can tell seeing as I can't hear myself talk when I go outside during recess. Aids roam around making sure safety is going well. It's really a great school. I encourage you to enrole your child in this school.

Juliet W. Long School 5

Posted March 15, 2007
- a parent
Agree w/ other postings. This year there is a new principal (shared w/ Gales Ferry now). Atmosphere w/ new principal and office staff changes isn't quite as friendly. Hopefully new ones will warm up. Facilities definitely old/out of date. Some classes too large. Overall some great teachers but wide variety of teaching and classroom management styles. If child needs specifics, request those. New pressures on teachers for testing is making life more difficult, but that's probably happening everywhere. I find most teachers have excellent classroom control. Kids are happy here which makes a huge difference to me. Negatives: lunch program(or lack of), facilities. Highlights: high academic standards without stressing the kids, nice community atmosphere, caring staff.

Juliet W. Long School 2

Posted December 14, 2006
- a parent
This school has an average quality curriculum. I feel teachers spend too much time keeping trouble-makers in line and focusing on struggling students. The students performing at or above level are left to their own devices. There is no hot lunch program, but the PTO does sponsor pizza and Subway each once a week. The school's appearance seems extremely drab sitting next door to a newer facility (the K-2 school). The classrooms are over-crowded with average class sizes ranging around 25 children per class. The library is dreadfully understocked and is situated in what used to be a small classroom with only bookshelves lining the walls of the room, none standing in rows through the room. I have to say that coming over from Gales Ferry School last school year to JWL School this school year I was shocked at both the appearance of the school and the class structure.


Juliet W. Long School 5

Posted March 11, 2006
- a parent
JWL is an excellent school. The teachers really go that extra mile for their studnets. There are many extra curricular activities from stamp club to destination imagination (a problem solving competition team). Students are encouraged to be themselves but to be responsible for their learning. There is a high level of parent invovlement especially at lunch times. Only drawback, no cafeteria or hot lunch program. The PTO does have a pizza day every Wednesday and sponsors Subway lunch on Friday. Kids eat in their classrooms.

Juliet W. Long School 2

Posted January 19, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Juliet W. Long School
1854 Route 12, Gales Ferry, CT  06335
(860) 464-2780
Last modified Juliet W. Long School is a Public school that serves grades 3-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Juliet W. Long School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top