Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glastonbury High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2014

We moved to this neighbourhood last October and it has been a pleasure to see my son settle very fast and make friends. He is a Sophomore and has had a lot of help from the teachers coming from a different school system. The teachers are very thoughtful and treat your child individually. The Glastonbury community is very friendly and very helpful. The guidance and counseling department is very quick to point out areas that need support in a very supportive and interactive manner. We are very happy to be in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2012

I graduated from GHS in 2008 after transferring from a nearby district. By far, GHS is the best high school in the area. The teachers and administrators are excellent and truly want every student to succeed. There are tons of challenging and interesting courses, AP and otherwise. There are too many clubs and sports to count, so there is always a great way for students to be involved. No other school prepares students for the real world as well as GHS does. My friends who went to other high schools were simply lost compared to myself and friends at GHS. Anyone who has negative feelings about GHS simply failed to realize and take advantage of the wonderful opportunity that they were given.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2012

I am a 2009 graduate of Glastonbury High School and my sister is currently a senior attending Glastonbury High School. After going to college, I appreciate the education I received there. Compared to many of my peers at college, I was very well educated there. As for the complaints about special education students, I must disagree. My sister has a lot of learning disabilities and has received a huge amount of support from teachers and her guidance counselors. GHS is a school where students are pushed to achieve their best potential. Many go on to Ivy Leauge schools. There is a 98% graduation rate, which is pretty amazing. And 97% continue on to college, which is also amazing. I grew up in Glastonbury and it was one of the best places to have lived and spent my childhood. I would recommend this school to anyone living in Connecticut or New England for that matter. I do not plan on staying in Glastonbury forever but it was still one of the best educations I could have ever received.


Posted November 14, 2011

I firmly believe that GHS offers a better education than some private schools in the area. Although I was only in the top 25 percent of my class, in college, I am one of the top students in my grade of 4,000 students. I feel more prepared and I am more successful than my private school-educated peers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2010

My high school junior has a chromosome deletion and syndrome. She is also very smart. She cannot write, due to her deletion. Some professionals at GHS have tried to understand and teach her in average classes. She usually gets A's in those. Other professionals could care less,they organized their way of teaching, with preprinted answer sheets to be done in class with a group, that is socially and emotionally detrimental to a teen like mine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

Too big, fine if you like being just another number, there is plenty of time in life to be just a number, we moved to Bolton and it was honestly the best decision we ever made, after 15 years in Glasontury its nice to live in the real word again!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

First of all, I'd like to say that I am a graduate from the class of 2006 at GHS, and am very proud of it. The teachers were excellent, and opportunities were given to students of all academic abilities; whether or not students took advantage of these opportunities was completely their choice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2007

This is a great school where students could achieve and be successful when they are adults. However the students are not disciplined enough. They goof off and fool around and it is hurtful to others.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2007

I was not at all satisfied with having my child go to this school. There are few extracurriculars, many classes and teachers fall on low standards, the students are undisciplined and act in an innappropriate manner. Students are not encouraged by the staff to do their best, there are so many students that one just glides along. Most parents do not seem to care about what their kids are doing and take no involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2007

Most definitely a college prep environment. If you have a child that is not academically oriented, problems arise. Overall, it is an exceptional learning institution if your child can stay away from all the bad influences that they are bombarded with daily. The educators are strict with the students and sometimes unyielding in their discipline, especially with children that are independent thinkers. My daughter needed a more relaxed and nurturing environment so I pulled her out of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2007

I have had experience both at GHS and a private high school. You can't beat the prep school for class size and teacher interaction with students. When there are 12 kids in a class there is nowhere to hide.My child needed this attention as he would have fallen between the cracks at GHS. He was an average student, quiet and a bit shy. He blossomed in the private school setting. My younger child chose GHS and loved it. He took mostly AP classes where class size is a bit smaller. His guidance counselor was wonderful and really made sure the college application process progressed. He did not take full advantage of the extracurricular activities. He played 1 varsity sport. I wish he had gone to private school; but GHS was a decent alternative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2006

GHS is high achieving because it is fed by higher SES families programmed to achieve. It does offer an exceptional choice of academic and extracurricular programs but is too big and impersonal to deal with any student who does not 'fit the mold'. I totally agree with respect to special ed or learning disabled kids. With respect to the latter, they do not know how to accomodate the smart kid who needs specfic accomodations. Guidance failed to forward my son's transcript in a timely fashion and almost made him miss the college application deadline. They then tried to turn around and blame it on him even though he had provided the proper paperwork and notice. Also, the school discourages parent's attempts to stay involved in their child's academic program and have inflexible grading rules on late assignments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

Glastonbury has a great schoool district overall, but the high school is where it all comes together. With a recent addition to the school of more science rooms, and computer labs the technology access is great. The extracurricular activities are numerous with a particularly notable student drama department. The parent involvment is sometimes pathetic, but other times outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

An excellent, high-acheiving school. Is under renovation(2006) and shall have stupendous science labs when finished. Has a thriving extracurricular culture with lots of clubs and other activities -- good place to build up your college application that way. A good place also for achievement oriented students of minority ethnicities--excellence in academics with rewards for hard work plus a very tolerant and welcoming environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

Principle leadership- Changed and improving. GHS principle moved on to be super and is better suited for that position. Little to no repore with students and excuse is there are 2000 students, no exceptions. Poor attitude to special needs kids. Teacher quality above average, Councelors stretched too thin. Extra activities: Varsity programs elite, but have lost sight of real reason for participation. Too many students offer limited availability in sports. Parent involvement. Probably normal given a very affluent region Safety and discipline: Previously, blind discipline regardless of circumstance or issues. Special needs kids are left left to fend for themselves. Overall: Getting too big for most students. Many will get lost in the numbers. Great college prep, but total exclusion for students not seeking college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2005

Fabulous school and staff!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 28, 2005

After reading some of the comments already, I would have to disagree. I have had nothing but a positive experience at GHS. It has so much to offer. The teachers are great (well, most of them), and the construction hasn't been a problem. In fact, it doesn't even affect the halls. There is more than enough time to get from one end of the school to the other between classes, even with a stop at a locker. Most of the teachers aren't out to get you. In fact, many are extremely understanding. Education-wise, I already know I am getting a better education than I would have at the high school I should be going to. I am far ahead of many of my old friends in classes, and have no trouble understanding the material and passing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2005

First, to that poor girl who signed herself 'A'; I am sure glad you are not my daughter. You need some counseling. For every school there are one hundred different experiences. For all its accolades GHS is just too big. At roughly 2000 students it is one of the largest in the state and is bigger than many small colleges. What is wrong with big? Anonimity and reduced opportunity. In a school of 1000 there are twenty spots on a varsity team and five good roles in the school play. At a school of 2000 there are no more slots and therefor half the opportunity to participate. The teachers and staff are willing to help, but they are just stretched too thin. I would NOT (as I did) move to G'bury for the school. A smaller system is a better environment. G-
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

Actually im a Senior at Glastonbury High School and i think GHS is one of the best schools there is. I went to a private school from 6-10 grade and then decided to go to GHS. The halls are crowded but renovations are going on to fix that. How else do u expect to get the halls less crowded? The teachers are great as well as the front desk staff. GHS is a good school for the wealthy, if your from hartford or manchester probaly change your mind about going here. If your pretty like sports and have some intelligence you will do fine!! GHS has been the best decision of my like. Also if your coming in new to the school try to get your rents to get you a BMW Lexus or Audi those are the top cars here. The parents review above is completely wrong GHS is awsome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2005

There are a few things that are 'off' about Glastonbury High School. First off, it needs a really big cleaning. Half the bathroom stall doors don't work, half the sinks in the bathrooms don't work, the lockers have graffiti all over them and gum on the combinations. The hallways are crowded with an ungodly number of students (almost reaching 2000) and it's sometimes hard to get to your class ontime. Current renovations DON'T help. Administration is very uptight and don't even try to relate to the students. Athletics aren't very popular and there is little to no school spirit. Students are generally unhappy. The teachers can vary from being your best friend, to blowing up on you for asking to use the bathroom. Detentions are unavoidable.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

525 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

523 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

533 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

531 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian American98%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities74%
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%

Reading

All Students93%
Female96%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian American100%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%

Science

All Students96%
Female96%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian American100%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities66%
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%

Writing

All Students97%
Female99%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian American96%
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities76%
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Hispanic 6% 20%
Black 4% 13%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Field hockey
  • Golf

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

330 Hubbard St
Glastonbury, CT 06033
Phone: (860) 652-7204

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

East Hartford High School
East Hartford, CT


Connecticut Ib Academy
East Hartford, CT



Rocky Hill High School
Rocky Hill, CT


Wethersfield High School
Wethersfield, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT