Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Naubuc School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 24, 2014

Naubuc is a wonderful school with caring teachers and high standards. I have sent three children through the system and I am very pleased with their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2014

Looking back on my time at Naubuc School, I can definitely say this school is underrated. North Glastonbury is often considered, "The ghetto" because there is low income housing near by. When I saw it was only a six I was extremely surprised. Both my brother and I have ADD and are very strong in math. Naubuc provided support we never got again. During our time there, we were both a part of the PACE and CML programs. Along with that, every month the PACE/CML teacher would come in and do a science lab with each class. It's what I accredit my love of science to. The teachers have no problem challenging the students, but the students have to say something! This is what could be improved on, but it also prepares students for Middle and High School. Not only did we learn academic skills, we also learned manners. There are many things, like covering my mouth when I yawn, or keeping eye contact when talking to them no matter what, that I wouldn't have learned otherwise. There is a strong community here and awkward, shy me was never excluded, so people rarely are. They do have open classrooms, which is a bit of a downside, but now I can multitask and don't need complete silence to focus.


Posted July 9, 2013

After having kids at this school since 2003 and still there - I can say the experience has been positive! The diversity of the school prepares your child for the "real" world and the staff and PTO are the best! Having been a room parent more than once, I can speak for the parents being very involved as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

Not very good for special education. The staff was not educated very well with autism, sadly to say. We had to exhaust our means there to finally find the help our child needed. The teacher my child had was ready for retirement and made no attempt to understand the disability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Naubuc has the best teachers. Out of all the schools my children have gone to Naubuc is by far the best! They have such caaring teachers, who are there for th children. Its more then just a job to them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers are excellent, the curriculum in outstanding and the support of the administration is top notch! Could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

Best school in the system. Lowest student/teacher ratio. Most extra help. The biggest pto. Recognized nationally as as an academic school of excellence. Over 31 different languages spoken. Most High school honor students come from here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2009

This is a fabulous school! My child has attended Naubuc school since Kindergarten. His academic progress is phenomenal. The teachers are nurturing, caring and completely committed to the children's success. I also love the fact that the school's population is so diverse! Over 20 different languages are spoken by the students at Naubuc. What a wonderful way for children to be educated to succeed in a truly global economy! Our child attended a private preschool and I had my concerns about sending him to public school, but I can say without doubt that Naubuc has met and even exceeded our expectations for our child's education. I am confident that he will be very successful in life, based in part on the great education he's receiving at Naubuc
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

An over all wonderful educational experience for my son.. I look forward to my daughter being part of the community at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2007

Year 2007/2008 will be our second year at Naubuc School. When my son came to this school he was below grade level, with in a year my son achieved grade level. This was possible because the teachers and the Principal are dedicated and carrying. The faculty at Naubuc School have one thing in common, the success of their students. If a child is not achieving their full potential they will make sure to put every resources that is necessary in place so this child won't fall between the cracks. I love Naubuc School and would not change it. The Principal and Teachers are special people. There are lots of programs in place to give our children the support they need to become assets to our society. Thank you Naubuc Staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%

Reading

All Students80%
Female78%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%

Writing

All Students92%
Female98%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%

Reading

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%

Writing

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female81%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%

Reading

All Students88%
Female95%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%

Science

All Students92%
Female93%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%

Writing

All Students91%
Female93%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 61%
Hispanic 17% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 4%
Black 6% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

84 Griswold St
Glastonbury, CT 06033
Phone: (860) 652-7918

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Joseph O. Goodwin School
East Hartford, CT



Hockanum School
East Hartford, CT




St Christopher School
East Hartford, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT