Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Greenwich, CT
Students enrolled: 477
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Greenwich Catholic School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 17, 2015
- a parent
The school is very nurturing and has done an excellent job in teaching compassion and respect.

Greenwich Catholic School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
They allow behavior that is completely inappropriate, rude and disrespectful. Very sad that this is a catholic school as those values are not presented


Greenwich Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are highly unprofessional. They discuss private matters of students with other students. The teachers also gossip with parents about students and make very harsh and inappropriate comments based on their personal judgement. It's not a good learning environment for these children.
1 person found this helpful

Greenwich Catholic School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
How can the school develop this skill when they themselves do the opposite? They are phony and cater to the ones that give large donations. Very sad

Greenwich Catholic School 1

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
Teachers do not care about the students. They allow the students who's parents are on the board and on the HSA committee to walk around the school like they own the place. There are the rules for them and another set for the rest of the student body. The students are rude and entitled with 0 integrity and manners. What's worse is they learn this from the behavior of the parents. It's a very sad environment. The parents all talk badly about each other. Even the ones that claim to have been friends since preK. Save your money. Most go here because it's cheap and can't afford better or because their kids can't get into the more elite private schools of Stamford and Greenwich.


Greenwich Catholic School 1

Posted June 20, 2015
- a student
This is not a safe environment for a child to be in . I got punched either in the face this year more then once don't care. The only good part about the school is the religion teacher who will listen to you and talk to you whenever you need it. The rest of the school is just terrible. Some kids are nice so just are mean and bullies. Stay away from the bullies if you go to this school

Greenwich Catholic School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 20, 2015
- a student
This school has been a very negative experience for me, Starting in 6th grade. It is not a safe environment for students. I got punched either in the back or face 10- 15 times this year and not once did a teacher do anything about it. All they do is complain about the kids, but they do not teach us anything. The only good part about school is Religion class where the teacher will listen to everyone and you are welcome to talk to her whenever you want. Sometimes teachers just start crying in the middle of class and leave the room for know reason. This is why over 35 kids are leaving the school this year.

Greenwich Catholic School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
We have two children enrolled in GC and couldn't be more pleased with our decision to enroll our children. Mrs. Kopas is an outstanding leader and educator. The teachers are concerned and dedicated and we feel that our children are very fortunate to have the GCS experience.
1 person found this helpful


Greenwich Catholic School 3

Posted August 28, 2014
- a community member
I went to this school for a couple years and could not have had a worse experience. In the middle school, the students were very conceded, rude, mean-spirited, fake and pretentious; pretending to be victims of bullying when really they were the ones causing the problems. Basically if you did not start GCS with them then you were considered an outsider, unless you followed they're actions. Indivuality and creativity was frowned upon by the students and teachers, despite what other reviewers might have said. Minorities are disproportionatelty represented in this school. On a positive note, there were four teachers that were very inspiring and helped me through my middle school years. However, some other teachers were more concerned with being friends with the students and kissing up to the parents rather than teaching. They seemed to be equally as fake as the students. Overrall, I advise parents to think very carefully before you send your kids to this school.
5 people found this helpful

Greenwich Catholic School 5

Posted January 19, 2013
- a parent
We are a second generation GCS family with over 26 years of experience with the school. Since 2009 our new Principal, Mrs. Patrice Kopas, has brought outstanding leadership to the staff and to a renewed faculty body. We can afford the most expensive schools in the area, but have found that GCS provides the same quality education in a more well rounded environment. The religious aspect is present but not stiffling, children do attend mass together and learn catholic prayers, but they are mostly taught the importance of being kind and having faith. While children learn how to be respectful of others, they are also encouraged to express their individuality. Parents take a very active role within the school, there is a true sense of inclusion and community. The campus is unparallel and there is currently a millionaire initiative to upgrade buildings and facilities (which are already well maintained). The excellent Blue Ribbon academic experience stars with the Little Angels and Pre-K programs, which are outstanding. Don't be discouraged by the wait lists!.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Greenwich Catholic School
471 North Street, Greenwich, CT  06830
(203) 869-4000
Last modified Greenwich Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Greenwich Catholic School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top