Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Greenwich, CT
Students enrolled: 939
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brunswick School 2

Posted August 04, 2015
- a community member
The school most certainly has all the bells and whistles, impressive buildings, athletic fields etc... However, if you have a bright child in the Lower school, you will be most disappointed. Too much emphasis is placed on diversity and donors to have a challenging classroom environment. One gets the sense that Pre-K-4th are supporting the upper school without much in return. When a child is held back in Preschool, the school most likely needs to re-evaluate the admissions process. It is common knowledge that parents of certain children pay to get in. Sadly, the integrity of Brunswick outside of Greenwich is not exactly highly rated. We were fortunate to have space open up at a school where graduates are known for their academic prowess before all else, that those admitted are there for the right reasons. We had high hopes for Brunswick, yet were sadly disappointed by their less than selective admissions process. It is hard to find a family that doesn't get in...at some point.

Brunswick School 5

Posted December 21, 2012
- a parent
Brunswick is an exceptional school; academically-driven and challenging, supportive, yet firm. As with any school, some teachers are amazing, others just fine. The culture is not at all what the former poster describes, it is a shame he didn't turn to his dean or teachers for support. Surely, they would have helped him. There is an emphasis on striving for excellence and a supportive athletic culture that emphasizes sportsmanship and participation for freshman, while becoming more competitive for upper classmen. Our son is thriving there, we are thrilled he attends such an amazing school.


Brunswick School 1

Posted November 06, 2012
- a community member
As a Brunswick Alum, I have been disgusted by the culture of Brunswick School. The banner "Courage, Honor, Truth" has never been practiced by the faculty, students, or affiliates and in its place the school promotes a sense of self-entitlement, arrogance, and pretentiousness that makes any individual with a shred of humility or decency cringe. Teachers are widely inconsistent within the same courses, two teachers teaching American History could have totally different, subjective guidelines for performance. While this may be expected with different teachers, this becomes an issue when it comes to AP level courses. Students in one course can be all receive 2's or 3's on the AP exam despite receiving A's while other students can receive 4's or 5's despite receiving B-'s. This sort of inaccuracy is unprofessionally and simply pathetic for a school that has been around for over a century. On top of that, students who do not conform to egotistical, boastful behavior are not only treated as pariahs but there is a sense of cutthroat competition even amongst so called "friends." I find this school absolutely abhorrent and would never dream of sending anyone I knew into that school.

Brunswick School 5

Posted December 10, 2011
- a parent
Brunswick's facilities, teachers and academics are consistently ranked in the top 20 in the country. I am in constant wonder at how they can create such a warm environment yet gently guide boys into becoming articulate, respectful men. Even the language used by the youngest members of the Brunswick family is quite impressive. The leadership of this school is remarkable and the teachers are phenomenal. If you are fortunate enough to be admitted. Enjoy the fact that your son will love going to school each day and you will become part of a close community.

Brunswick School 5

Posted October 15, 2011
- a parent
My son has found Brunswick to be very nurturing and stimulating at the same time. They teach in terms boys find interesting. I am in awe of how even the second graders speak. They are well mannered, bright and very impressive. If you want the very best in academics this is it. Parent involvement is extremely high and there is almost something everyday to get involved. If you have a high energy boy that is curious and academically inclined this is the ideal place for him to flourish.


Brunswick School 5

Posted October 15, 2011
- a parent
Best private school in Greenwich. Excellent academics, with well-mannered, socially responsible children. Brunwick educates in terms boys find engaging. Academics are challenging and parent involvement is extremely high. Wonderful teachers. I am so happy we chose Brunswick over other top private schools in the area. If you want the best for your son academically this is it!

Brunswick School 5

Posted February 22, 2009
- a parent
Brunswick has the best facilities in the area, both for athletics and academics. My son has been challenged and encouraged to do and be his best. I feel he will be well prepared for college and whatever career he pursues.

Brunswick School 5

Posted November 07, 2008
- a parent
An exceptional institution... academically tought yet supportive and caring


Brunswick School 5

Posted October 28, 2004
- a student
Brunswick was the best experience of my life and I could not picture myself anywhere else. If you had the same experience that I had at Brunswick, for the 13 years that I went there, you would agree that you could never see yourself attending another school besides Brunswick.

Brunswick School 5

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
My husband and I feel that Brunswick School was the greatest experience for our family. My son received an exceptional education and had people that really cared about him. The staff were more than just teachers they were family.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brunswick School
100 Maher Avenue, Greenwich, CT  06830
(203) 625-5815
Last modified Brunswick School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Brunswick School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top