Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Whitby School

Private | PK-8 | 410 students

An academically forward and challenging environment focusing on the whole child.
 
 

 
 

Living in Greenwich

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,750,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I have two young boys (4 and 3) at Whitby. They love going to school and they are engaged in their learning. At the time of enrolling our boys in Whitby, my husband and I toured every local pre-school. The academics at Whitby are simply incomparable - many 3 yr olds can read and write, 4 yr olds are doing 1st grade math, all children receive instruction in Spanish. The beauty of Whitby is that a child's age will not hold them back. The teachers meet them where they are and keep them learning. Gifted children do not suffer the boredom they might face at other schools. Most importantly - children at Whitby learn how to navigate a world of varied sizes and abilities. Through the mixed age classrooms, older children learn patience when aiding their younger peers. Younger children learn how to emulate the good behavior of their older peers. And essentially - they all learn through these experiences that the world is a diverse place where differences ought to be respected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, September 15, 2014

Whitby has been an amazing experience for my family. Not only does my daughter love going to school every day but my husband and I have met so many wonderful parents. We truly feel part of a community and are amazed by the teachers and their commitment to their students. We love the idea that they inspire the students to have a love for learning and empower them to learn and grow in so many different ways. Bravo Whitby!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2014

Quite simply, Whitby lives its mission. It inspires a passion for learning in each child through quality teaching and learning within the International Baccalaureate and Montessori programs. Whitby prepared our daughter for the High School of her choice and my other two children are cared for and challenged by thoughtful and reflective teachers in Whitby's Lower and Upper School. This really is a learning community and we as parents are invited to be active in the school and in our children's learning. My wife and I highly recommend Whitby to any parent either already in this area or relocating to this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2014

Whitby has been so good to our daughters. It is the perfect combination of academics, athletics and art. A diverse student and teacher body adds an international perspective to the education which is hard to find around this area. The IB offered at Whitby may seem hard to understand at the beginning but it creates well rounded students capable to tackle any high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2014

Whitby School prepares student to excel and go beyond learning in the classroom. The school embodies a close knit community with strong leadership and direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2014

I've been a parent at Whitby for 9 years and have 3 boys (age 3, grade 4 and 6). Whitby is at the cutting edge of technology, with a 1-1 laptop program starting grade 1, smart boards and white boards in all classrooms and a fabulous new design tech lab opened last year. My third grader was really excited to use one of the 3-day printers last year. My 6th grader started coding last year and is looking forward to bridge design this year. The Math Dept. is phenomenal, huge amount of differentiation given, there is no glass ceiling to learning, early intro. to Algebra. Whitby has really strengthened their Athletics program over the past 4 years, which as a mom of sporty boys is really important. A new Athletics facility will be ready for the 2014-15 school year. The Arts Program is impressive and last year's Upper School performance of Romeo and Juliet was outstanding. The community is very warm and welcoming and there is a very active Parents Association. Whitby students are out the box thinkers, confident, compassionate, life long learners. I am proud to be a Whitby parent and feel blessed to be able to afford my children such a wonderful educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2014

This school is horrible the principle has no leadership and is disrespectful to students and parents. The transition from Montessori to an IB school does not work at all. Any other school in the area will be a better place for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2014

Whitby has been absolutely tremendous for my two children. Engaged and inspiring teachers, personal yet rigorous curriculum, and committed to raising kind, reflective, courageous, and motivated children. One month into summer break and my children are both asking when school starts again in the fall! About to enter year three of a new leadership tenure and I can't imagine how it could get any better. I especially appreciate the global perspective my kids get from being in class with so many students from other countries, and the regular communication I get as a parent. Seriously, I've learned to keep my mouth shut when talking to my friends about their kids' schools. I feel guilty listening to their concerns about unresponsive teachers, poor communication, and general achievement when I couldn't be happier. Schedule a tour and you'll see for yourself. Not really sure what the last review meant by the uniform. The uniform has been the same for the past four years. Some days I think I would prefer no uniform, but then again, my daughter goes through about four outfits a day on the weekend so a uniform definitely helps with morning decision making.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2014

Whitby has been absolutely tremendous for my two children. Engaged and inspiring teachers, personal yet rigorous curriculum, and committed to raising kind, reflective, courageous, and motivated children. One month into summer break and my children are both asking when school starts again in the fall! About to enter year three of a new leadership tenure and I can't imagine how it could get any better. I especially appreciate the global perspective my kids get from being in class with so many students from other countries, and the regular communication I get as a parent. Seriously, I've learned to keep my mouth shut when talking to my friends about their kids' schools. I feel guilty listening to their concerns about unresponsive teachers, poor communication, and general achievement when I couldn't be happier. Schedule a tour and you'll see for yourself. Not really sure what the last review meant by the uniform. The uniform has been the same for the past four years. Some days I think I would prefer no uniform, but then again, my daughter goes through about four outfits a day on the weekend so a uniform definitely helps with morning decision making.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2014

The Whitby school doesn't care for the children or the parents and the needs of the children. Many issues were brought to the teacher attention then escalated to the head master and nothing was addressed. There is no leadership at this school. The mother's decided to change the uniform mid year and all of the students had just bought new uniforms...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

Exceptional school. Have been to several international schools, and this one rates among the best. Very pleased with new headmaster, children doing very well. When you can see teachers not only qualified but also enjoying their work, you know your children will get the best education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

Whitby has been such a wonderful school for my children. They are so confident and self aware. Their math and reading skills are developing so strong. The Montessori and IB make for a wonderful pairing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2012

Whitby has always been known for its preschool and early elementary years excellence, but it is, in recent years- with its integration of the International Baccalaureate program and the recent arrival of the new Head of School (one of the leading educators in the IB world) -becoming a leader in upper elementary and middle school education in the Greenwich area. Our son, now in third grade, has been at Whitby since preschool and has experienced not only the best in academic teaching (tailored to his specific need for exceptional challenge in the classroom), but his teachers also have provided for him a warm environment that has led to extraordinary social development. The athletics program has undergone a complete overhaul in recent years, and we have been able to watch exceptional athletic team performances over the last several weeks. Any family that values an outstanding and challenging academic curriculum, emphasis on teamwork both on and off the field, and an unsurpassed welcoming sense of community should consider Whitby. It is well worth the investment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2012

Whitby is an excellent Montessori school with an IB International Baccalaureate) curriculum. It is set on 25 acres in the back country of Greenwich, Connecticut.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2011

So glad we found Whitby! A great place to learn. The kids love going to school each day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

Great individualized learning for kids, great teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

Whitby is Unparalleled!! I am beyond ecstatic about the quality of education my 3 children are receiving. The teachers are amazingly enthusiastic about bringing out the best in each child. Children love to learn! Whitby taps into this as soon as they walk through its doors. The primary program is amazing. Many children start reading at 3 yrs old. The Montessori materials are so practical and sensible which makes learning easier and fun. The International Baccaleaurate certification is an immensely wonderful change to the curriculum, especially in the upper years. Besides fostering a strong 2nd language, Whitby is better preparing our children to think in boundless ways - No borders and no boxes. With inquiry based learning, our children are able to think outside of the box. Lastly, Whitby is extremely culturally diverse. Whitby embraces it and encourages everyone to learn about the different cultures represented at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

My son has been a Whitby student for 4 years and it has been a wonderful experience!! The teachers are excellent, warm and nurturing. Unlike the 'union mentality' present at many public schools in the Fairchester area, they are there because of their love of teaching rather than a desire for early tenure and taxpayer-funded pensions. And believe me it shows!! The new headmaster had done a great job at focusing the school towards the future and now that it has received its authorization as an International Baccalaureate school, the quality that we have come to enjoy will only get better! In short, this a phenomenal place your children will want to go to day after day! It is a real gem amongst private schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

As a parent, I have found Whitby to surpass Brunswick in both education quality and child nurturing. Now with the International Bachelorette certification, I expect even better results !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

I am a new Whitby parent this year with two children there and must say I have been very impressed by the quality of education and teachers at the school. The Montessori and International Baccalaureate curriculum has really gotten my kids excited about learning (and going to school each day!) I understand there was some administration issues a couple years back but I find them to be very experienced and open to parent feedback.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 61%
Two or more races 15% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Hispanic 4% 20%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Cantonese)
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Johns Hopkins Talent Search (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Bryan Nixon
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • www.whitbyschool.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (203) 869-2215

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Marching band
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • A recognized leader in education since 1958, Whitby's innovative blend of Montessori and International Baccalaureate (IB) programs provides students with the 21st century skills to thrive in today's dynamic world. Whitby's educational philosophy encourages students to ask questions and guides them to finding their own answers. Whitby students enthusiastically engage in learning, are inspired by their own discoveries and find there is no limit to what they can achieve.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$20000 - $35000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

969 Lake Ave
Greenwich, CT 06831
Website: Click here
Phone: (203) 302-3900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Parkway School
Greenwich, CT


The Mead School
Stamford, CT





The Stanwich School
Greenwich, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT