Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
448 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 51 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Whitby School 5

Posted March 30, 2016
- a parent
I have two children at Whitby for the last four years. I have found the teachers to be approachable, thoughtful (in their approach to teaching and the way they motivate your student), and expecting the best from my children. I feel grades are earned and not given. In the Upper School, I am most pleased that questions don't merely require a parroting of the lesson. They always aim to incorporate the "why" and ask the child to think. This is very true in math and science too- where I think it leads to a greater level of understanding. That is more important than getting an A on an exam and feeling overconfident about one's abilities. I feel the teachers are more than accessible for parent and child inquiry and supportive of each student's success. The new athletic facility should help improve that area of the school, which is important to my children. That said, they always have had a good time in their respective sports and the staff is very supportive. Socially, I think the IB program helps diversify Whitby more than other similar schools and helps to better support differences in culture, language, and create more acceptance. My children have had small moments of uncertainy (as most adolescents do), but my experience has been that they have a relatively small amount of "drama" and feel largely confident with their peers. There isn't one "type" at Whitby. Our Head of School is present and supportive and knows all the kids and not just some of the families. I feel he has made a broad impact on cultivating a community at Whitby and helping school pride, outreach, and the overall warmth of the school.

Whitby School 5

Posted May 19, 2015
- a parent
Whitby is a dual philosophy school, encompassing both Montessori and International Baccalaureate programs. It really focuses on a childs self development and self-directed initiative (with guidance) that I think is absolutely outstanding for early learners. It is an extremely international, with many children speaking several languages, and all kids learning Chinese and Spanish at a very early age. Mother tongue classes are also available, free of charge, which are incredibly well organized and taught.


Whitby School 5

Posted October 12, 2014
- a parent
In moving to the NYC area and needing a top notch IB rated school, this school was by far the best in the Tr-state area. We were surprised to find a limited number of options of internationally ranked schools in NY area, and concerned about keeping our kids on par with the IB system. Whitby not only is a school our kids are thriving in, it is a school in which we feel part of a wonderful community as parents. One can't compare it to other top Greenwich or NYC schools. In our view, it is in a category of its own. Progressive, setting up our kids to compete internationally, which the world is more becoming. Our kids are learning how to think for themselves and develop strong study behaviors. Things we either never learned or only encountered too late in our own generation. If you are a parent that wants the best for your children, this is the school of the future!

Whitby School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
Whitby has proven to be everything its claims to be. Our daughter goes to school with a smile and eager to get into her classroom to start the day with a new challenge or material. Teachers guide and facilitate providing the earliest opportunities for her to own her learning and each day she comes home with something she has completed. The teachers are the most friendly, nurturing and caring people I've yet to meet in education and the principal without fail is there everyday to meet and greet parents and students - he truly gets the human touch and connection. He is visible and leads this school from the very front. Whitby I believe is almost a fully enrolled school at all grade levels and I am glad my wife and I sought out this school when we did. At the end of the day she comes home with a smile about what's she achieved during the day and the stories attached to them. One of greatest things a parent can hope for is their child being happy going, during and at the end of school and each day she is.

Whitby School 5

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
Whitby School has been exceptional for my daughter. The student teacher ratio is great. The teachers really understand my daughter's educational journey.


Whitby School 5

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
I have two young boys (4 and 3) at Whitby. They love going to school and they are engaged in their learning. At the time of enrolling our boys in Whitby, my husband and I toured every local pre-school. The academics at Whitby are simply incomparable - many 3 yr olds can read and write, 4 yr olds are doing 1st grade math, all children receive instruction in Spanish. The beauty of Whitby is that a child's age will not hold them back. The teachers meet them where they are and keep them learning. Gifted children do not suffer the boredom they might face at other schools. Most importantly - children at Whitby learn how to navigate a world of varied sizes and abilities. Through the mixed age classrooms, older children learn patience when aiding their younger peers. Younger children learn how to emulate the good behavior of their older peers. And essentially - they all learn through these experiences that the world is a diverse place where differences ought to be respected.

Whitby School 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
Whitby has been an amazing experience for my family. Not only does my daughter love going to school every day but my husband and I have met so many wonderful parents. We truly feel part of a community and are amazed by the teachers and their commitment to their students. We love the idea that they inspire the students to have a love for learning and empower them to learn and grow in so many different ways. Bravo Whitby!

Whitby School 5

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
Quite simply, Whitby lives its mission. It inspires a passion for learning in each child through quality teaching and learning within the International Baccalaureate and Montessori programs. Whitby prepared our daughter for the High School of her choice and my other two children are cared for and challenged by thoughtful and reflective teachers in Whitby's Lower and Upper School. This really is a learning community and we as parents are invited to be active in the school and in our children's learning. My wife and I highly recommend Whitby to any parent either already in this area or relocating to this area.


Whitby School 5

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
Whitby has been so good to our daughters. It is the perfect combination of academics, athletics and art. A diverse student and teacher body adds an international perspective to the education which is hard to find around this area. The IB offered at Whitby may seem hard to understand at the beginning but it creates well rounded students capable to tackle any high school.

Whitby School 4

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
Whitby School prepares student to excel and go beyond learning in the classroom. The school embodies a close knit community with strong leadership and direction.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Whitby School
969 Lake Ave, Greenwich, CT  06831
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 51 reviews. (203) 302-3900
Last modified Whitby School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top