Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
325 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 68 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Stanwich School 5

Posted September 26, 2015
- a community member
I have three children at Stanwich School. Stanwich School has been our first choice of schools in Greenwich since 2006 and still is today. We wanted and receive an education for our children that kept them challenged and inspired. We are getting that. We are parents that value doing good for others, building good businesses and raising children that are passionate and positive about life. Stanwich is amazing for families that believe in making the world a better place. It is a community based school. Our sign of success comes from the feedback we receive about about our children from adults in all situations outside of school. We attribute that success to being value minded parents and Stanwich School. This School is a great fit for families that care about the world they live in. Lucky us to be part of Stanwich.

The Stanwich School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 09, 2015
- a parent
The Stanwich School is not just an excellent school, it's a special place for children and parents to experience top notch academics delivered in thoughtful and meaningful ways. Because it's more than an education, Stanwich delivers a well-rounded learning experience by also focusing on values and community. Honesty and integrity are just some of the values that are instilled in the students. Stanwich is a truly special place for families to experience. Our child attends the Lower School and his confidence and abilities have grown tremendously during the school year. His new thirst for knowledge has continued through the summer. The academics, administration, sense of community and attention to the students in the Lower School has accelerated his abilities and aptitude beyond our expectations. The Head of the Lower School, along with the teachers and administration should be commended for their dedication to the students because it's obvious in the results we've seen in our child as well as his classmates.


The Stanwich School 2

Posted August 04, 2015
- a community member
As a Father, Community Member and a product of an independent school, I felt it my obligation to finally sit down and write a review. Two of my children attended Stanwich. It was a sad and disappointing experience. Both of my children are bright, academically Stanwich met their needs. It was not nurturing and there were children in their classes who had serious behavioral issues. Class sizes differed greatly, as did the ratio of boys to girls. After school programs were offered the day school started. Teachers for the most part were good. We felt the school itself was not well run, especially for our child in the Lower School. We did not feel the person in charge of the Lower School was genuine or hands on. We now are aware a few good teachers have left the school. We are fortunate our children were accepted at another school, however, the transcript process was frustrating. They were sent in late, almost a month and a half after the teachers had submitted them to the office. I can understand how it must feel to be handed paperwork for another school, however, it is the decision of the family where to send their child to school. I wish more thought had been put into why we didn't want to stay, rather than the numerous calls about how Stanwich was the right school for us, or the tuition they were losing. There was no genuine conversation, more of a sales pitch. Our community needs Stanwich, I do hope they are able to find a strong Head of School. It certainly has a lot of potential in a great community.

The Stanwich School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Stanwich doesn't just "talk the talk" -- they walk the walk. Children are expected to do community service and to live by the Stanwich 7. Only school in the area like it.

The Stanwich School 5

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Since Stanwich abides by the Stanwich 7 (Judeo-Christian principles), the children are expected to act accordingly. Highly recommended if your child is a high achiever. Great teachers, very committed to the kids.


The Stanwich School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are extremely effective at Stanwich because they are very invested in each child. The class sizes are small, therefore, the teachers get to know your child very well.

The Stanwich School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Alot of homework, but then again, alot more is expected of our children in this day and age. Homework reviews what is taught in the classroom so it is on target.

The Stanwich School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Stanwich prepares their children for the future. Academics are rigorous, but that's why the children come out with a solid education.


The Stanwich School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Anything less than respect toward one another is not tolerated. Teachers are very involved if a student gets out of line.

The Stanwich School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 21, 2015
- a parent
Academic rigor is a hallmark of the school, so persistence and determination are necessary traits to do well at the school. Good study skills and a respect for completed and well- prepared homework is shared by this whole community

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Stanwich School
257 Stanwich Rd, Greenwich, CT  06830
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 68 reviews. (203) 542-0000
Last modified The Stanwich School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top