Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Parkway School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 07, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Sweeney is the best! He does a fantastic job with the students. Great at teaching all aspects of child development.

Parkway School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 07, 2016
- a parent
Students are encouraged to develop these traits and teachers monitor the progress and report to parents on students behavior in school.


Parkway School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 07, 2016
- a parent
Parkway focuses a lot on this. The message gets reinforced in numerous ways. Very strong support from all staff members on this.

Parkway School 5

Posted July 07, 2016
- a parent
Parkway has terrific teachers and a wonderful community of supportive, friendly parents. It has many different after school activities which are great for students.

Parkway School 5

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
We have three children who have attended Parkway. We consider ourselves to be pretty reasonable, down-to-earth parents. The school is wonderful. No institution can be all things to all people, but the teachers and the administration enthusiastically attempt to deliver. Our children have experienced standard curriculum and some Advanced Learning Program (ALP) math. We understand how hard it is for public schools to meet federally mandated standards and still emphasize "knowing" each child, but the teachers and administrators at Parkway try very hard to do this. We have been satisfied with the level of education and care our children have received at Parkway. The parents are wonderful and engaged, especially in the younger grades. If it takes a "village" to raise our children, the Parkway village is energetic, positive and engaged.


Parkway School 5

Posted October 19, 2014
- a parent
I have always found Parkway School to be a wonderful, caring learning community of teachers, administrators, staff, parents, and students. The teachers and staff are engaging, and they collaborate to support each and every child to progress to his or her highest potential both academically and social/emotionally. Parkway School is a place where "everybody [not only] knows your [child's] name" but also who he or she is as a person and as a learner. An absolutely wonderful school!

Parkway School 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
This school is fantastic! The teachers have proven to be top notch and are very dedicated to the students. We have 2 children - they are very different learners and we have found that the teachers and staff consistently go out of their way to instruct, support and reward our kids in a meaningful and effective way. The principal, Patty Allen, is a great advocate for the children. Classes are small, resources are plentiful, the PTA is strong and the parents are NICE. In thinking of what the school could improve upon - I wish there was a little more consistency in the way the teachers communicated with the parents. Teachers use their own style of communicating (weekly newsletters, occasional emails, monthly updates, etc) and it varies greatly from class to class. Great Job Parkway!!

Parkway School 5

Posted October 04, 2014
- a community member
This is the most fantastic and fun school ever! Great teachers and great location, too.


Parkway School 3

Posted July 12, 2011
- a parent
We couldn't have been more disappointed with this school. We found dealing with the curriculum and teachers very difficult (we had two children attending the school, three years apart). The goal was to keep students in a status quo. We fought to let our children read books, excel in areas they showed interest and to take the ALP tests. Though we were discouraged from letting our children take the ALP tests, they passed and were accepted. We still opted for a decent education in private schools. Funding and standardized tests scores should not be the objective. For children to strive in this changing world, being able to set oneself apart and find challenges is key. Parkway is not this kind of school

Parkway School 5

Posted September 06, 2010
- a parent
Parkway School is the WHOLE PACKAGE. From rigorous academics, to higher order thinking skills, to real world application and opportunities for students to lead, Parkway is an amazing school! The staff is phenomenal. Each teacher is highly qualified and knows every one of their children's strengths and goals. They match their instruction to the needs of the children; be they gifted or in need of support. The staff are all very positive and forward thinking. We could not have our children in a more academically rigorous, engaging environment! We are thrilled!

Nearby schools

Parkway School
141 Lower Cross Rd, Greenwich, CT  06831
(203) 869-7466
Last modified Parkway School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top