Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Greenwich, CT

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Parkway School 5

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
We have three children who have attended Parkway. We consider ourselves to be pretty reasonable, down-to-earth parents. The school is wonderful. No institution can be all things to all people, but the teachers and the administration enthusiastically attempt to deliver. Our children have experienced standard curriculum and some Advanced Learning Program (ALP) math. We understand how hard it is for public schools to meet federally mandated standards and still emphasize "knowing" each child, but the teachers and administrators at Parkway try very hard to do this. We have been satisfied with the level of education and care our children have received at Parkway. The parents are wonderful and engaged, especially in the younger grades. If it takes a "village" to raise our children, the Parkway village is energetic, positive and engaged.

Parkway School 5

Posted October 19, 2014
- a parent
I have always found Parkway School to be a wonderful, caring learning community of teachers, administrators, staff, parents, and students. The teachers and staff are engaging, and they collaborate to support each and every child to progress to his or her highest potential both academically and social/emotionally. Parkway School is a place where "everybody [not only] knows your [child's] name" but also who he or she is as a person and as a learner. An absolutely wonderful school!


Parkway School 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
This school is fantastic! The teachers have proven to be top notch and are very dedicated to the students. We have 2 children - they are very different learners and we have found that the teachers and staff consistently go out of their way to instruct, support and reward our kids in a meaningful and effective way. The principal, Patty Allen, is a great advocate for the children. Classes are small, resources are plentiful, the PTA is strong and the parents are NICE. In thinking of what the school could improve upon - I wish there was a little more consistency in the way the teachers communicated with the parents. Teachers use their own style of communicating (weekly newsletters, occasional emails, monthly updates, etc) and it varies greatly from class to class. Great Job Parkway!!

Parkway School 5

Posted October 04, 2014
- a community member
This is the most fantastic and fun school ever! Great teachers and great location, too.

Parkway School 3

Posted July 12, 2011
- a parent
We couldn't have been more disappointed with this school. We found dealing with the curriculum and teachers very difficult (we had two children attending the school, three years apart). The goal was to keep students in a status quo. We fought to let our children read books, excel in areas they showed interest and to take the ALP tests. Though we were discouraged from letting our children take the ALP tests, they passed and were accepted. We still opted for a decent education in private schools. Funding and standardized tests scores should not be the objective. For children to strive in this changing world, being able to set oneself apart and find challenges is key. Parkway is not this kind of school


Parkway School 5

Posted September 06, 2010
- a parent
Parkway School is the WHOLE PACKAGE. From rigorous academics, to higher order thinking skills, to real world application and opportunities for students to lead, Parkway is an amazing school! The staff is phenomenal. Each teacher is highly qualified and knows every one of their children's strengths and goals. They match their instruction to the needs of the children; be they gifted or in need of support. The staff are all very positive and forward thinking. We could not have our children in a more academically rigorous, engaging environment! We are thrilled!

Parkway School 3

Posted May 24, 2010
- a parent
Our son was in KG last year at Parkway and we were very disappointed overall by the quality of Parkway. There were not many interactions between us (parents) and the teacher. Our son used to do well in Preschool and he loved going to school. He liked school less and less as the year went on. 24 students in his class; little attention given to individual students who are doing "well enough."

Parkway School 5

Posted October 28, 2009
- a parent
By far the BEST elementary school in town. Teachers do an awesome job and are always prepared with new and exciting material that captures and challenges students to o their best.


Parkway School 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
School deserves it because it makes impossible to bring forward the children with different learning problems despite not getting enough help from State like parents working in some way or another.

Parkway School 5

Posted November 28, 2007
- a parent
Both of our children attend Parkway and we are very pleased with it. I attended Collegiate School in New York City, 1-12, so I knew little about the public school systems. The teachers are wonderful. The programs are very complete. There is little area that we have issues with, besides the fact that guidlines have to be dealt with on a state level.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Parkway School
141 Lower Cross Rd, Greenwich, CT  06831
(203) 869-7466
Last modified Parkway School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Parkway School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top