Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hamilton Avenue School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

My child was in Ms. Elmlinger's class, and we could not have been happier with her teaching. She had a warmth and love with the children. We have taken advantage of the Suzuki violin program, which has been great. My child is an advanced reader, and I was particularly impressed that the Principal, Ms. Womack, meets with every teacher monthly to talk about EACH child, and when discussing the unique needs of my child - decided to put her in an advanced reading group with a few other first graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

The Renaissance School at Hamilton Avenue has been such an amazing school to both my children. The building is top of the line and the educators are gifted and caring. Both my children are eager learners thanks to how motivated the teachers keep our children. Both of our children began playing their violin and cello at age 3 in the preschool program at the school and now they are in 4th and 5th grades. They play so naturally and beautifully. Now that one of my kids is moving on to Western Middle school we are highly enthusiastic about this next step. Their International Baccalaureate program is amazing and those magnet seats are going to fill up quickly. We are happy we live in the zoned area. We highly recommend Hamilton Avenue School to any parent looking for a quality education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2013

Continuation from my other response ("Wow, I don't think another student has commented!") The school is very diverse, which I like because I got to experience a lot of different culture. However, me and also my 2 other sisters could not connect to the students there. We had 2 or 3 friends (from the advanced learning program (ALP)) but we couldn't connect to all the other kids. And when we went to Middle School, all three of us were no longer friends with our 2 or 3 friends any more... we got into arguments and we no longer talk to each much (well, actually, I am still friends with one of them). It seems as though this is the case with also lots of other students too... kids from Ham Ave no longer were together and they mostly became friends with the Parkway, Glenville and New Lebanon kids. I don't know why, but that's just one thing I noticed. I'm not saying the kids at Ham Ave are "bad" (no student is "bad") but I just wonder why, for example, the Glenville students all remained friends throughout middle school and high school but not the Ham Ave kids. Anyways, the staff at Ham Ave are great, the teachers are too, and overall, it is a great school!


Posted September 11, 2012

My son is in Kindergarten here...his teacher is very inspiring and loving. He LOVES coming to school each day...he is being challenged by the more advanced reading program he was placed in, loves the extensive music program and is having FUN! I am highly impressed by Ham Ave so far. We came here through the lottery process because we thought it was important, in Greenwich, to teach our child about diversity. I feel it is a nice and very equal blend of cultures and the school makes a great effort to break classes down into smaller groups so that all children get appropriate levels of learning and are challenged. The main office staff and overall school activities/functions could use some more organization but otherwise a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2012

I love HAS. I have two children there now, and I have nothing but positive things to say. The teaching staff is stellar... All care about the children very much, and work hard to bring quality programming. There is great opportunity for me to get as involved as I'd like to be, and the teachers can be reached in a variety of ways (meeting, phone, email). I definitely feel connected to what is happening in their classrooms. Overall, great school, excellent teachers, quality education (regardless of what the CMT's come back looking like... That is not how this school can be fairly judged).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

HAS is an amazing school, the teachers at this school should be rewarded day after day for all their dedication and passion. I have nothing but great things to say about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

Ham Ave is a wonderful school with a strong academic program, an amazing music and art program, great diversity, good teachers and strong parental involvement. It is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

Our son is the pre-K progam as a special needs kid (he's on the autism spectrum). Everyone at the school has fallen over themselves to avail him to all of the services the district has to offer. His teacher, and the assistants, are amazing and caring educators. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

this school offers a safe caring environment for children who come from an area rich in cultural diversity with a view of the real world.


Posted September 30, 2008

HAS is a great school, which unfortunately has been cast in a negative light because of all the controversy with the mold, the new school,etc,etc. The administration, office staff, and principal are fantastic in my opinion. My children love HAS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2008

The school is a disgrace, the mold problem is a blessing that the students will be in a real school building, change is not welcomed and unsettling, but once the studnets assimilate in their new surroundings, with new kids and real rooms for teaching and for gym and a real caferteria and playground, they will adjust and enjoy the new environment, HA doesn't exist anymore with the split up, ownership of these kids by the leaders will not be there anymore, how can the leaders be present between 6 different schools on a daily basis...it's a true blessing, the administrators/prinicpals should be fired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

Hamilton Ave School is in my opinion the best school in Greenwich. The teachers are the only ones in town who take accountablity for their students.The work very hard at teaching each and every student. Dr. Rau has goals, which may be hard on the teachers, but are shown in the students work. She has brought back being afraid to go to the Principals office and I applaud her for that. I am very greatful my child goes there. I only wish the teachers could get paid more than the other teachers in town. Our children learn in school and in afters. Not at home with a tutor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

The quality of academic programs is overseen by administration's seflish need to look good, keep their image and repuation to the outside at the expenseof overworking, stressing the teachers and creating a tensed work place. There are too many meeting, not enough time to have normal commom planningtime and grade level meetings to discuss teaching concerns let along curriculum issues. This is a negative trickle effect to the students and my kid is stressed. she has heard the principal Dr. Rau yell many times at staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2007

There are afterschool programs there but do they meet the needs of the kids or is it just babysitting. Was a survye ever done to see how much my children learned from day 1 to last? The environment is disruptful due to student's negative aggressive behaviors in the hallway /classrooms. It intereferes with my children's learning % is consistent in 3 classes where we know the kids in those rooms. Students runout, knock things over, run in hallways and to the outside, hit other kids I don't see the studetn discipline by the current principal who is so focused on having her school 'look good' by the state, the BOE, outside agencies to approve them for certificates and awards that she is forgetting what is happening in her own classrooms. I can't wait to have my children transferred soon.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 11, 2006

I think that they should have an afterschool program in the school which will help those younger students adjust more, as far as Kindergarten and First grade. There are still some children who have not adjusted to the to school and the teachers have problems with intervention. A lot of parents could not afford day care or pre-school for their children, so Hamilton Avenue should provide that. Maybe they should consider that in one of the PTA meetings. Overall it is a GREAT school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 15, 2005

Wonderful academic programs.Great arts and music,after school programs. Lots of parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female80%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic72%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%

Reading

All Students70%
Female81%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic64%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%

Writing

All Students74%
Female85%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic69%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female85%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%

Reading

All Students73%
Female78%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%

Writing

All Students79%
Female87%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female91%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%

Reading

All Students79%
Female82%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%

Science

All Students80%
Female81%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%

Writing

All Students85%
Female93%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 20%
White 39% 61%
Black 8% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

184 Hamilton Ave
Greenwich, CT 06830
Phone: (203) 869-1685

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Julian Curtiss School
Greenwich, CT


New Lebanon School
Greenwich, CT


Carmel Academy
Greenwich, CT



Brunswick School
Greenwich, CT


Greenwich Academy
Greenwich, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT