Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Catherine Kolnaski Magnet School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2014

I think a lot has changed for the better since this school has opened. They have found the right teachers and administration to make this school work. Everyone is so nice and helpful. If there is any concern you can easily talk to the principal or vice principal. I only wish there was more parent involvement .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Does your kid go to cathrine Kolnalski and eat breakfast everyday. Well then there's some things you might wanna know then. Due to budget cuts of 2013-2014 year kids might not get breakfast. Kids who take bus might get there last and get a cheap breakfast. I'm a parent who drops my kids off everyday and walk with them to get breakfast. Two weeks ago the last few kids got frozen muffins because they ran out of omelets and last week the last kids it only yogurt for breakfast an I kid you not. And as of today a teacher reached into the garbage and took out a carton of milk and a carton of juice an a box of cereal an told another teacher to put it back because it wasn't opened. This is disgusting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

My son went to CKMS for K. His teacher was assigned days before school started. We weren't notified of the change in his teacher until we came to the welcoming lunch. His teacher was inflexible and punative during the school year. My son picked up many bad habits from other kids. His skills were advanced compared to his classmates, when asked if I could send additional work for him to do after he finished what they were doing in class, it was not allowed. When my son started crying one day in class he was sent to the office and written up for "insubordination"! I couldn't believe it. When I called the principal, Mr. Basse, to notify him that I'd be taking my child out of the school, I explained my dissatisfaction and he hung up on me. The teacher then called a child study team meeting to ensure his next teacher would be aware of all of my son's "problems". If I could give this school a 0 instead of 1 star I would. If you have a choice where your child goes to Elementary school, do not choose CKMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

I agree with the last post. My son also went to another school last year and now is at CK. No more vocabulary words, no homework of any value, and the staff treats the kids like they are a bother. If I had another option, my child would not attend this school. I can not believe the lack of education he is getting. I find teachers saying they arn't allowed or haven't yet gotten the cirriculum finalized for teaching the second grade. Are you kidding. When might be a good time to get that done. How many kids are getting a poor education and that is OK because the teachers just haven't gotten it together yet?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

I find it incredible that the only comments here are good ones! I'm appaulled at the curriculum this school has offered my son since he began going to CKMS. He went to a different school in Groton last year and since the move to this school both the behavior and his education have plummeted! The teacher actually told me she isn't allowed to give them spelling tests or teach them cursive or multiplication tables. I am anything but satisfied with this school and academic rating!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 30, 2010

My son started Kindergarten here in 2008... Now that we must move our only regret for leaving Groton is this school! The staff is extreemly helpful and understanding. They focus on the child and his learning experience. They have excellent programs. We had to apply for the lottery to get him in as it was out of our district, The school in our district was a turnstyle for military kids, not too much focus on the specific educational needs for your child. CKMS will teach your child healthy choices and they have wellness walks and give your child a great sense of self esteem in the process making being healthy fun. This school has set the bar for what we will expect for our sons education. I hope we can find something just as wonderful in our new location.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

I am take admition for my daughter and i make right dicition because she learing very well she is improve her self becuse her teacher and school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

My daughter has attended Kolnaski since it opened. You could not find a better administration and a more dedicated group of teachers. My daughter is hearing impaired and has some other educational needs. She has received a tremendous amount of help and all kinds of services to accommodate her needs. She is now reading at grade level. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female60%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic64%
White70%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%

Reading

All Students55%
Female47%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic59%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English57%

Writing

All Students74%
Female78%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic70%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female62%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%

Reading

All Students52%
Female46%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English54%

Writing

All Students64%
Female70%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 34% 20%
White 30% 61%
Black 20% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 4%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 Poquonnock Rd
Groton, CT 06340
Phone: (860) 449-5612

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT