Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Catherine Kolnaski Magnet School 5

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
This school has come a long way. My children have been attending Catherine Kolnaski for the past 5 years. My child is thriving here since it has become a STEAM school. Yes, there is low income housing in part of Groton and some children are "at risk" and can be tough. However, Catherine Kolnaski has the best teachers! Both of my children are above grade level academically. A beautiful school in a beautiful, beachy community.

Catherine Kolnaski Magnet School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
Thank you teachers for all that you have done for my children and for the children in the beautiful City of Groton :)


Catherine Kolnaski Magnet School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
Very hard working, caring teachers that go beyond the old fashioned way of teaching and lecturing. The teachers use so much technology and do many hands on projects.

Catherine Kolnaski Magnet School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
Grit is a word that I learned from a teacher at CK. Students use a lot of technology and are challenged to work hard and hands on in school. Great teachers!!

Catherine Kolnaski Magnet School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
My family has been a part of two different communities in Groton, and Catherine Kolnaski students are more respectful than other students in different, more "privileged" parts of town where children "can do no wrong."


Catherine Kolnaski Magnet School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
Quite a few children lack respect for their peers, the rules, and authority figures without consequence.

Catherine Kolnaski Magnet School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
The principals, teachers and, aides for the most part ignore disrespect and violence. Self control, respect, and responsibility are not concepts that are taught and enforced.

Catherine Kolnaski Magnet School 1

Posted January 21, 2016
- a parent
In response to the person complaining about unopened juices being removed from the trash cans (that contain that meals food and styrofoam trays) would you allow your child to throw away unopened juice boxes at home? Now as far as the school...its terrible! It's supposed to be a magnet school yet there does not appear to be any different between the curriculum offered here and other Groton schools. What differences there are, are disappointing. The test scores are lower than every other elementary school in the district. The children are largely poorly behaved. To make matters worse their defiant, disrespectful, and sometimes violent behavior goes ignored and unpunished most of the time. It is disappointing that my child goes to a school were he is shown that horrible behavior is acceptable. This is his home school, I did not choose to send him here. I wish I had put him in the lottery for the multicultural magnet school in new London. To validate my feelings I have even asked those who have worked at different schools through out the district if the worst behaved kids were there, the answer was yes.


Catherine Kolnaski Magnet School 4

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
I think a lot has changed for the better since this school has opened. They have found the right teachers and administration to make this school work. Everyone is so nice and helpful. If there is any concern you can easily talk to the principal or vice principal. I only wish there was more parent involvement .

Catherine Kolnaski Magnet School 1

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
Does your kid go to cathrine Kolnalski and eat breakfast everyday. Well then there's some things you might wanna know then. Due to budget cuts of 2013-2014 year kids might not get breakfast. Kids who take bus might get there last and get a cheap breakfast. I'm a parent who drops my kids off everyday and walk with them to get breakfast. Two weeks ago the last few kids got frozen muffins because they ran out of omelets and last week the last kids it only yogurt for breakfast an I kid you not. And as of today a teacher reached into the garbage and took out a carton of milk and a carton of juice an a box of cereal an told another teacher to put it back because it wasn't opened. This is disgusting.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Catherine Kolnaski Magnet School
500 Poquonnock Rd, Groton, CT  06340
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (860) 449-5612
Last modified Catherine Kolnaski Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top