Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Charles Barnum School 5

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
Wow! I'm shocked at the low school rating. This school is top notch. When we moved here from California, our daughter hadn't been taught fractions yet, at Charles Barnum, they were already in review on the subject. I feared that my daughter was going to struggle, but she had individualized help to get her caught up. It was quick and my daughter had no complaints. in just a couple months she was on par with the rest of her incredibly tiny class of 19. She went here for 2 years and the only issue I can think of is the pick/up drop/off situation and the lack of ac, but none of the schools here have it. Tons of parents are super involved (over-involved in my opinion) and there is zero tolerance for bullying. We were super happy.

Charles Barnum School 1

Posted March 16, 2012
- a community member
my child just transfered to this school-since this schools ranking is higher than the other Groton schools i wanted my child to attend this school- then over time i noticed that this school favors girls and they react on hear say from the students- i've called the school a couple of times to tell them my concerns and i'm rushed off the phone by Mrs. Nelson or over talked by his teacher-if you have a daughter this school is the one for you. also my child was called a derogatory name which i addressed to the school and they did nothing about it- a staff member said something that hurt my child feelings i called the school and was told that"that doesn't sound like something she would say" are you kidding me you didn't even ask the staff member before even responding-this school is not all that it's cracked upto be!


Charles Barnum School 4

Posted March 11, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has been attending Charles Barnum for the last year in the integrated PreK program after being diagnosed with developmental delays last year. From the moment you walk into the school, you immediately feel welcome. The office staff has always been very friendly and knowledgeable and actually remembers which child is yours. My daughter's teachers and aides have been wonderful. So kind, patient, and encouraging which has been reflected in how well my daughter has made considerable improvement with her delays. My only minor annoyance is setting up some of her special education services. The school has one occupational therapist assigned to two schools in the district, but is only at CB once a week. I had to stay on top of the process for having my daughter evaluated for her OT. That, I feel, is fairly typical for special education services at most schools. Other than that, I highly recommend this school for anyone moving into the area!

Charles Barnum School 4

Posted February 25, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is a second grader at this school. Charles Barnum is arguably the best elementary school in the district. The staff are excellent and they really care about the students. I know that Great Schools rates CB at 6, but I have looked at the raw data from the test scores and they are comparable to Mary Morrison, which is rated at 7. CB does better at reading and writing, MM does better at math. My only problem is with the district as a whole. I feel that they don't have any programs for exceptional students, so sometimes my daughter isn't being challenged because she's forced to wait for the other students to catch up to her.

Charles Barnum School 5

Posted December 18, 2010
- a parent
My son entered this school at age 3 right after the Birth to Three program under a developmental delay. Everyone has been amazing. Every single person we encountered was helpful, encouraging, and genuinely cared about the children. The school to home communication was excellent and parent involvement was great and encouraged. My son is now 6 with PDD and Anxiety and the support they have given me I will never forget. BEST SCHOOL EVER!!!


Charles Barnum School 5

Posted March 21, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Charles Barnum School 5

Posted February 06, 2010
- a parent
My son has been in the integrated preschool for 3 years they have worked wonders with him he suffers from adhd and they have helped him to be at the same level as the other kids his age this school is the best in Groton

Charles Barnum School 5

Posted January 03, 2010
- a parent
This has been the best school for my daughters so far! we are a Navy family and this was my oldest daughter's third school. the teachers and Staff are so welcoming, and parent involvement is encouraged. We are so sad to be leaving such a wonderful school.
1 person found this helpful


Charles Barnum School 5

Posted September 11, 2008
- a parent
Charles barnum & the staff is the best elementary school a parent could ever hope for. We were so very blessed to have had our son attend charles barnum.

Charles Barnum School 5

Posted January 13, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charles Barnum School
68 Briar Hill Rd, Groton, CT  06340
(860) 449-5640
Last modified Charles Barnum School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Charles Barnum School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top