Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Fitch Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2013

I attended this school back in 1978, 79, and part of 80...I was a military brat, and I loved this school. My most memorable years are from Ftitch Junior High and the Staff, Teachers and Students! I developed the best friendships here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2012

This is the WORST school in the district and it shows in the students grades in high school. I remember a student showing me that they drew giraffes on several of their math finals answer key. All of these questions were extremely simple. Also the students were apparently never taught how to behave in class. One of them I know always talks out and takes pictures in class. Talk about immature.


Posted April 27, 2012

The staff at this school do not care for the safety and well being of the students. They will trust one adults testomony over 7 students and punish students for standing up for something they know is wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2011

I LOVED this school when I attenede first semester in '96. My brother was in 8th. We had to move across town and they wouldn't let me stay. They made me transfer to West Side. While I was at this school I loved it. I remember the teachers were wonderful and understanding. Very helpful and guiding. My brother did really well here. I was disappointed I didn't get to stay.


Posted March 18, 2010

I used to be a student in here and there was just too much drama but teachers were great and i learned a lot
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 14, 2009

I am a student here at FMS. I love this school. There are many great teachers here that are devoted to teaching and helping students!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2009

i go here and it is excellent
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2007

This school has been wonderful for us. Fair administrators, wonderful teachers, a good education and support system. Our son did very well here. Best school in Groton!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

I love this school beacause of the great teachers and the great students.And they are also fair.Located in a great area.I also love it beacause it has some many extra activities.It is also in a great city and state.I love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2004

My son loves FMS, the choice of extracurricular activities is great. Flex is equally as good. Thumbs up for the excellent Teachers at this school, always able to answer your questions and resolve homework problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2003

its an ok school to go to because of its safety
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 61%
Hispanic 16% 20%
Black 15% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

61 Fort Hill Rd
Groton, CT 06340
Phone: (860) 449-5620

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT