Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Hamden, CT
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hamden Hall School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a community member
No, this school is just trying to say "Doing sports is the only way show your ability. Other stuff just means you are a such poor- useless dorks!!

Hamden Hall School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a community member
No respect, even teachers perceive their students base on their races rather than how they really behave.


Hamden Hall School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a community member
This school is only treating white people nicely. Other students cannot receive as much care as major white students get.

Hamden Hall School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a community member
This school is only teaching you how to be honest,integrate and fair to Christian-white society. Any minority and other thoughts will be brutally crushed here. You will lose your confidence forever if you attend this school!

Hamden Hall School 5

Posted January 13, 2015
- a student
I have attended Hamden Hall for seven years and it has been great! While there is certainly a lot of homework, the administration is currently trying to ameliorate this (and teachers are very understanding). Teachers are always available for extra help, even after school if need be. If a student wants to do something and shows initiative, there are always people who will support their endeavor. The curriculum can be as challenging or as easy as one wants. The school is currently pushing above-average students to do independent work in whatever field(s) they find interesting (maritime history, chemistry, etc.). The major cons that come to mind are: small size, doing so many different things that the programs sometimes get stretched thin, and cafeteria food (while included in the tuition) is sub-par. Overall, my parents and I are very satisfied with the experience. I only wish that I had tried more advanced/diverse activities earlier on (something they are trying to do, now).


Hamden Hall School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a community member
I've gone to Hamden Hall for practically my whole life, and love it! It has wonderful academics and great sports teams. The arts departments are wonderful and supportive, and you can tell that the faculty all love what they are doing. The best part though, is the community. Hamden Hall is my family

Hamden Hall School 5

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
My son has been attending Hamden Hall for 3 years. The children are broadly engaged and kept active throughout the day in many areas. They are challenged while keeping a good balance between school work, social and athletic activities. Lots of great friends that get together outside school as well. Wouldn't hesitate to send him again and we plan on staying with Hamden Hall through the end of high school.

Hamden Hall School 5

Posted May 08, 2011
- a parent
Lower and middle school have excellent small school atmosphere with the "bar" set higher starting at 6th grade. Lower school emphasis is to promote love of learning. Lower school reading evaluation, music, art starting at age 3. Students make lifelong friends in diversity rich school. Summer school recommended for new students coming in at 6th grade and above. 8th grade challenging, equivalent to public school high school. Excellent team sports, and students must balance them with academic schedule. Outdoor activities alternative for those not interested in team sports.


Hamden Hall School 4

Posted September 26, 2009
- a student
Hamden hall is a good school, but hmmmm it has a very high bar that u are supposed to live up to and f u dont u are looked down uppon. I guess its because they are getting u ready for college. I'm a eight grader in Hamden hall and i've been there my whole life (1st-8th until grad). Im one of the few lower students, all of my friends are in algebra I or algebra II while im still in math essencitals. In hamden hall they try to have all thier student be very well educated and very well...perfect. If u don't seem to get up to the standard they kind of give u on u and u kind of stay in the back while everyone esle succseeds. There is also alot of pear pressure to wear certin clothes; like im not exagerating every girl in hamden hall has to

Hamden Hall School
no rating

Posted September 06, 2008
- a parent
Terrifc school. Great teachers and very effective administration. The focus has been on the fine arts over the last couple of years and now they are building a new athletic field house

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hamden Hall School
1108 Whitney Ave, Hamden, CT  06517
(203) 865-6158
Last modified Hamden Hall School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Hamden Hall School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top