Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hamden Hall School 5

Posted July 29, 2014
- a community member
I've gone to Hamden Hall for practically my whole life, and love it! It has wonderful academics and great sports teams. The arts departments are wonderful and supportive, and you can tell that the faculty all love what they are doing. The best part though, is the community. Hamden Hall is my family

Hamden Hall School 5

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
My son has been attending Hamden Hall for 3 years. The children are broadly engaged and kept active throughout the day in many areas. They are challenged while keeping a good balance between school work, social and athletic activities. Lots of great friends that get together outside school as well. Wouldn't hesitate to send him again and we plan on staying with Hamden Hall through the end of high school.


Hamden Hall School 5

Posted May 08, 2011
- a parent
Lower and middle school have excellent small school atmosphere with the "bar" set higher starting at 6th grade. Lower school emphasis is to promote love of learning. Lower school reading evaluation, music, art starting at age 3. Students make lifelong friends in diversity rich school. Summer school recommended for new students coming in at 6th grade and above. 8th grade challenging, equivalent to public school high school. Excellent team sports, and students must balance them with academic schedule. Outdoor activities alternative for those not interested in team sports.

Hamden Hall School 4

Posted September 26, 2009
- a student
Hamden hall is a good school, but hmmmm it has a very high bar that u are supposed to live up to and f u dont u are looked down uppon. I guess its because they are getting u ready for college. I'm a eight grader in Hamden hall and i've been there my whole life (1st-8th until grad). Im one of the few lower students, all of my friends are in algebra I or algebra II while im still in math essencitals. In hamden hall they try to have all thier student be very well educated and very well...perfect. If u don't seem to get up to the standard they kind of give u on u and u kind of stay in the back while everyone esle succseeds. There is also alot of pear pressure to wear certin clothes; like im not exagerating every girl in hamden hall has to

Hamden Hall School 5

Posted July 19, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Hamden Hall School 0
no rating

Posted September 06, 2008
- a parent
Terrifc school. Great teachers and very effective administration. The focus has been on the fine arts over the last couple of years and now they are building a new athletic field house

Hamden Hall School 4

Posted April 23, 2008
- a parent
Great school with excellent academics. Administration is approachable and involved. My daughter had excellent teachers who seemed well-versed in their subjects and passionate about teaching.

Hamden Hall School 1

Posted February 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hamden Hall School 3

Posted September 29, 2007
- a parent
This school is well suited to the above average/gifted student who is capable of independent work. It is not 'tolerant' of the average student or, heaven forbid, below- average student in need of support. Children admitted to the Lower School are often very different from the older children required to pass an admissions test. Classes are taught with an eye to the 'upper levels' and weaker students are left with no foundation and no way to catch up.Expectations for students are very high, but teacher direction and guidance is minimal. For a school with such small class sizes, there is no excuse for not providing for students' individual needs. The 'social scene' is obviously a major draw for many parents and children, as there are countless 'events'. The athletic program had the opportunity to be quite good, but was often plagued by mismanagement and rigid, unlikable coaches.

Hamden Hall School 5

Posted July 25, 2007
- a parent
Excellent school, students are well prepared for the top Colleges.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hamden Hall School
1108 Whitney Ave, Hamden, CT  06517
(203) 865-6158
Last modified Hamden Hall School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Hamden Hall School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top