Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
320 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Rita School 5

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
We found this school by accident when we were stuck without a school for our son to go to for 1st grade. It was July and our time was running out. We did not intend on sending our kids to catholic school for elementary school but we are so happy we found St. Rita. We started with the idea of it being a temporary fix for the year and now we are in our 3rd year and have 3 children in the school. The amount of care and love our children receive in a day is not something you find just anywhere. Also, the knowledge that is being instilled in my children all with out the stress associated with a public school education is something I never knew existed. It blows my mind each day when the kids come home and see what they are working on, they are learning and thriving in a loving environment where the philosophy is not to teach to the test. They are learning things that are not being taught in the public school, at least not at the lower levels, and they are excited to learn it! My children all love going to school each day, which was not the case when my son was in a public school. Now that we have found St. Rita we have no plans on leaving!!

St Rita School 5

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
Our daughter is in her 6th year at St. Rita School. We have watched her grow through the years at SRS into a respectful, responsible and caring individual. She has thrived both spiritually and academically and has thoroughly enjoyed her years at this wonderful Catholic School. It is very important to our family that the same values and principles that we hold true are also taught at school and this is definitely the case at St. Rita. We have been fortunate to be able to volunteer during fundraisers and events and have witnessed firsthand the teacher’s interactions with the students. There is a tremendous amount of love and caring that the students receive on a daily basis. We strongly feel that our daughter will be more than prepared for when she graduates from St. Rita School and enters high school.


St Rita School 5

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
My sons started SRS in Kindergarten and First Grade and are now in fifth and sixth grade. We are very happy with the education they've received of both their mind and spirit! My sons' teachers have always been very loving and caring. Of course, no school is perfect. In the past if we had an issue it was rectified! I was extremely saddened to read some of the reviews, from former students, regarding the bullying they experienced! This is a new year for our school. Change is good! We have a new principal and refreshed middle school faculty. Our Back to School Meeting focused on one unifying message which I found extremely comforting; it was a message of change, trust and love. I am happy to say that Middle School has been challenging academically and my son continues to learn self-responsibility. Both boys love all their teachers; the teachers and faculty are amazing people. The Middle School teachers as well as fifth grade teachers work as a team and I believe all the teachers at SRS are truly dedicated to the well-being of every student. I'm looking forward to the years we have left at SRS! This year is the beginning of wonderful things to come for our students and school community. We love St. Rita School!

St Rita School 5

Posted November 03, 2015
- a parent
St. Rita School is a wonderful experience for children, academically, socially and spiritually. The children are treated with love and respect. This school instills manners, values, morals and most of all kindness to others. I have 2 children at St. Rita School and I am completely in awe each day with what my children come home with. I love hearing about their day and the lessons they learn academically & socially. It is a wonderful community to be a part of. I feel blessed each day that I have the opportunity to send my children to this beautiful place each day.

St Rita School 2

Posted March 04, 2015
- a community member
As a former student of St. Rita's that is now a junior in high school I believe I can provide an accurate account of the school. While I will admit the education provide by St. Rita placed me a year or two (depending on the subject) ahead of most other students while beginning high school the environment does not promote responsibility. St. Rita was far too sheltered if I didn't complete my homework my grades almost never were affected. The teachers each had a select few favourites and those were the students that seemed to have almost a diplomatic immunity. I was bullied by many other students throughout middle school and because of that suffered severe depression. So severe that suicide was a daily thought of mine. None of the staff ever did anything although I complained before I became severely depressed. Over all I would not recommend this school if you would like your child to remain mentally stable if not than it's the perfect school for you and you're kids.


St Rita School 5

Posted February 27, 2015
- a parent
St. Rita is an outstanding place to educate your child. Students learn important academic content, but more importantly how to be a good citizen both in and outside of school.

St Rita School 5

Posted February 27, 2015
- a parent
Great school! I'm a public school teacher and parent of two children that attend that St. Rita School. The public system is a mess and I know that firsthand. My children have had great teachers and continue to be challenged by the curriculum at St. Rita School.

St Rita School 1

Posted December 13, 2014
- a teacher
As in many other schools, private or public, the administration seem to be the biggest problem. But, St. Rita had taken it a step further by having a rather aggressive and often unreasonable principal whose primary job is to bully teachers based on principal's personal likes and dislikes.


St Rita School 1

Posted October 07, 2014
- a parent
Don't send your children to this school if you expect them to receive a proper education. Don't send your children to this school if you expect them to be nurtured and treated with love and respect. The administration is awful. There are handful of good teachers but overall this school is awful.

St Rita School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
I'm a parent of two children ages 11( eleven) and 6( six) years old. I have never been more happy and more satisfied with their learning at this great catholic school. For me as a parent it's very important for my children to get a good education, to be loved and respected, and the staff members of ST Rita School do a wonderful job regarding our children's education. I'm very pleased with everything this school offers to my children, and I wish to every parent out there, good luck to your children during this new school year! :)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Rita School
1601 Whitney Avenue, Hamden, CT  06517
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (203) 248-3114
Last modified St Rita School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top