Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Rita Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 403 students

We are best known for academics and moral education.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hamden

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $215,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2013

I am a twenty-something alum with some perspective to offer any parents who may be considering this school. St. Rita is "the place to be" if your child is Catholic, subordinate, passive, and willing to express him- or herself within the narrow spectrum of ideas and behaviors that the school considers appropriate. Furthermore, I was bullied relentlessly for two of my three middle school years at "the place to be." By graduation, I had been ostracized completely, and my teachers were too focused on sports, end-of-year awards, high school placement, and a perfect graduation to actually focus on the simple well-being of a student. Let me be clear: the school is not accountable for the actions of my peers. The school is accountable for sweeping the entire thing under the rug and dismissing my genuine cries for help as "complaints" and "petty adolescent drama" in order to maintain their "place to be" fa ade. While surviving this environment eventually made me a more resilient and empathetic person (and I no longer resent the school), I wouldn't wish the lack of nurturing and support I received from the St. Rita teachers and administration on any child. It is simply not worth the anguish.


Posted October 18, 2012

I have two children at St. Rita School and I couldn't be more pleased with the academic curriculum, moral/integrity building, parent involvement and teacher responsiveness. My children are not only receiving a solid academic education, but a one with strong Catholic values that we reinforce at home. St. Rita School truly is "the place to be!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

We have three children attending the school and could not be more pleased. We are in the process of selecting a high school with our eldest child and are impressed by St. Rita School's reputation. Members of high school admission staff have told us that St. Rita students are well prepared in all subject areas, study skills but most importantly are "good" kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

Have 2 children at SRS so far and I could not be happier. The principal, the teachers and the overall feel of the entire school is excellent. I really enjoy being part of this active and vibrant community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2012

One of my favorite schools in Hamden! As a parent, I highly recommend this school to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2011

St. Rita School is a wonderful asset to the community of Hamden. The students are friendly, bright and engaging. They have wonderful programs for academics, arts, sports, and community involvement. Most importantly, the character formation of students is grounded in strong values and the love of Christ. I am proud to be associated with this school as a Current Board Member.


Posted January 24, 2009

St. Rita's is an AMAZING school where 'the love of Chris is lived and shared.' The staff, faculty, and teachers are superb, and the kids are very well-behaved and well-educated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2008

St. Rita truly prepared my children for high school and college. Not only were my children prepared adademically but they were nourished spiritually. The same values my husband and I were teaching at home were reinforced at school. I would highly recommend St. Rita to all parents and children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

St. Rita is more than a school. It is a family community built of faith. Every teacher and administrator in the school looks after each and every child. The academics are first rate. St. Rita children get a strong basis in reading and math and are taught organizational skills and time management that prepare them to excel in high school and beyond. Most importantly, the school is supported by a strong faith community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 62%
Black 5% 15%
Asian 3% N/A
Two or more races 3% N/A
Hispanic 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Sr. Maureen Fitzgerald,ascj
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (203) 248-1016

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Hartford
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Sacred Heart Academy
Notre Dame High School
Xavier High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1601 Whitney Ave
Hamden, CT 06517
Website: Click here
Phone: (203) 248-3114

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



High Meadows
Hamden, CT





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT