Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hamden Middle School 5

Posted February 25, 2016
- a student
Hamden Middle School for me was honestly very challenging in 7th grade I came from a school that had much lower standards and now I'm happy that I'm here as I feel like I will be able to go through high school and college by using the skills I learned here. The teachers are great, funny and love to help you learn new concepts I highly recommend Hamden Middle School!

Hamden Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 25, 2016
- a student
I have never learned better. The teachers at this school are excellent they are funny and make you truly think and if you are in fact having trouble they will have no problem helping you!


Hamden Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted February 25, 2016
- a student
The homework given here is great it is just the right amount usually you only have daily homework from Science, Math and your Language. English you get some projects and Social Studies gives homework sometimes its mostly quizzes and tests though.

Hamden Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 25, 2016
- a student
Because you are left alone to do some projects so you must care about them, empathy because you do teambuilding in gym and compassion because you must have some sort of compassion for your fellow classmates in order to do well

Hamden Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 25, 2016
- a student
The principal is great and keeps order in the school you learn about all of these things from your teachers


Hamden Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 25, 2016
- a student
Mr. Simone Mr. Sgrigneri Mr. Tremper Mrs. Ryan Mr. Stratton Mr. Broughs Mr. DelGudice and anyone I forgot in this list!

Hamden Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 25, 2016
- a student
This school defiantly develops persistence as if you do not try your hardest you will fail. I learned this my first year. And most defiantly grit you will discover how far you are willing to go for a good grade and you will discover just what type of person you are when it comes to deadlines will you settle for a C or will you strive for an A?

Hamden Middle School 5

Posted September 17, 2014
- a parent
I have been very happy with Hamden Middle School. I have one child who matriculated through this school and another currently attending. The facility is new and kept very nicely, Principal Levy is very approachable and dedicated. I have always felt welcome and respected when I came to the school for any reason. There is a great system for parent communication called the Parent Portal which really keeps you in touch with your child's progress and daily assignments. The school is extremely well organized into smaller teams of students and teachers which is so important when you have a student body as large as Hamden's. The team teachers work together in a coordinated effort and I have been impressed with the teaching staff. I would recommend this school.


Hamden Middle School 2

Posted March 30, 2013
- a parent
this school is ok, however there are to many distractions in this school and some teachers are a little out of hand.

Hamden Middle School 5

Posted February 11, 2009
- a parent
Great area to live, very safe, nice town. Good school to have your child attend . It was built recently and the school is well equipped and the teachers are very organised. I love Hamden schools on the whole. If you are moving to New Haven try to live in Hamden town.

Nearby schools

Hamden Middle School
2623 Dixwell Ave, Hamden, CT  06517
(203) 777-5571
Last modified Hamden Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top