Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ridge Hill School

Public | K-6 | 321 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2013

Ridge Hill School is the best kept secret in Hamden. Class sizes are small, the teachers are dedicated and it has a very friendly atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

Ridge Hill is an awesome school. My son is in Kindergarten and his teacher just got teacher of the year. His gym teacher also has the title of "teacher of the year" from another year. RHS encourages parent involvement so you can see how well the school is run. They have many extracurricular activities, for instance, my son got to make s'mores on an open fire in the school grounds. Field trips are also used for enrichment purposes. They go to places like the Yale Art Gallery to the local farm. I highly recommend Ridge Hill School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2013

Ridge Hill really does Rock. The teachers are excellent and deeply committed to teaching *all* the students in their classes--including those who are ahead of and behind the curve--using a range of creative and experiential ways of learning. The sense of community at the school is invaluable, and it shows every time a student holds open a door (as others have commented!) or stops a younger child to help tie a shoelace. The administration is open to developing new arenas for learning, including the thriving after-school program (Ridge Hill Rocks) and the community garden, as well as many new field trips and activities. It is extremely well equipped (the music program and library in particular are terrific) and has an abundance of resources onsite to support students and families. Finally, Ridge Hill provides a diverse and inclusive environment that mirrors the society in which these children will grow up to be citizens and requires them to get along and work together with others from different cultural and economic backgrounds. That's an experience that can't be replicated in more elite schools. My main wish for the school is that more parents join the very active PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2013

We are very happy with Ridge Hill School. My son entered kindergarten mid-year when we moved here. He started as a shy kid who did not want to go to school at all. After only a few months, he is reading, making jokes and cheering when it is a school day. The support and care he feels from his teacher and the entire school community has been amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

This school is quite good if you don't have to deal with the administration. The teachers are top notch and really care about their students. I have had a lot of individual attention for my bright child. However, I know a number of people who have had legitimate issues with the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2012

The teachers are top-notch with many "Teacher-of-the-Year" winners located within the school. THe school is enourmous with the most breathtaking scenery and school grounds of all of Connecticut. However, the school is pretty high maintenence with all-carpet floors and vast amounts of dust in every corner. This is a great elementrary school to take your child to if you are interested in a "homeschooling" kind of education with strong bonds between students and teachers.


Posted July 28, 2012

My sister, younger brother and myself all attended this elementary school. I am now a doctor and my daughter is now attending this school. I have a great deal of respect for this school and amazed how well the school is doing till this day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2010

Our daughter is in her second year of Ridge Hill School and she is very happy here. The teachers and staff are top notch, and care a lot about the kids. There is a strong culture of kindness, respect and learning here. We are a happy Ridge Hill family - along with all our great neighbors and their children too. Shhh....don't let too many folks know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

One walk through our school and you will see the Ridge Hill School Faculty & Staff care about our children! Thanks to them our children will continue to shine and someday change the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

Ridge Hill School has been my daughters home away from home for the past 7 years. Every teacher she has had have been a great influence in her life. I have been blessed for the help I have received from Ridge Hill School in raising my daughter. The school is 40 years past due for some renovations and the students, teachers, parents and the community deserve nothing less. So please, lets bring this school up to date and let our children today and in the future grow in a healthy environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Our school has excellent teachers and a diverse group of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Nurturing teachers, innovative programs and ideas
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

Hamden Teacher of the Year is Ridge Hill's Kelly Wade. This school has leadership, a mission and an impressive PTA. My second grader has thrived in this learning culture. She loves her teachers and Principal Butler. Robust public school doing things right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

I'm a parent of a kindergartner at Ridge Hill and we are very pleased with the school. Principal Butler is very responsive and cool-headed. The teachers are very conscientious & CARE deeply about the children. And the students are unfailingly POLITE! I've never had doors held open for me so many times before. We'll be here until 6th grade. Our son has read since he was 3 and they do not shirk from giving him advanced books. We're looking forward to the TAG program come the 4th grade...
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Femalen/a
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%

Reading

All Students62%
Femalen/a
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%

Writing

All Students60%
Femalen/a
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Femalen/a
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%

Reading

All Students77%
Femalen/a
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%

Writing

All Students70%
Femalen/a
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female45%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%

Reading

All Students60%
Femalen/a
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%

Science

All Students58%
Female50%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English59%

Writing

All Students82%
Female91%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female60%
Malen/a
Black48%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%

Reading

All Students85%
Female87%
Malen/a
Black87%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%

Writing

All Students70%
Female75%
Male62%
Black69%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 39% 13%
Hispanic 27% 20%
White 23% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

120 Carew Rd
Hamden, CT 06517
Phone: (203) 407-2035

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St Rita School
Hamden, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT