Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Hamden, CT
Students enrolled: 321

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ridge Hill School 5

Posted June 14, 2013
- a parent
Ridge Hill School is the best kept secret in Hamden. Class sizes are small, the teachers are dedicated and it has a very friendly atmosphere.

Ridge Hill School 5

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
Ridge Hill is an awesome school. My son is in Kindergarten and his teacher just got teacher of the year. His gym teacher also has the title of "teacher of the year" from another year. RHS encourages parent involvement so you can see how well the school is run. They have many extracurricular activities, for instance, my son got to make s'mores on an open fire in the school grounds. Field trips are also used for enrichment purposes. They go to places like the Yale Art Gallery to the local farm. I highly recommend Ridge Hill School.


Ridge Hill School 5

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
Ridge Hill really does Rock. The teachers are excellent and deeply committed to teaching *all* the students in their classes--including those who are ahead of and behind the curve--using a range of creative and experiential ways of learning. The sense of community at the school is invaluable, and it shows every time a student holds open a door (as others have commented!) or stops a younger child to help tie a shoelace. The administration is open to developing new arenas for learning, including the thriving after-school program (Ridge Hill Rocks) and the community garden, as well as many new field trips and activities. It is extremely well equipped (the music program and library in particular are terrific) and has an abundance of resources onsite to support students and families. Finally, Ridge Hill provides a diverse and inclusive environment that mirrors the society in which these children will grow up to be citizens and requires them to get along and work together with others from different cultural and economic backgrounds. That's an experience that can't be replicated in more elite schools. My main wish for the school is that more parents join the very active PTA.

Ridge Hill School 5

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
We are very happy with Ridge Hill School. My son entered kindergarten mid-year when we moved here. He started as a shy kid who did not want to go to school at all. After only a few months, he is reading, making jokes and cheering when it is a school day. The support and care he feels from his teacher and the entire school community has been amazing.

Ridge Hill School 3

Posted April 22, 2013
- a parent
This school is quite good if you don't have to deal with the administration. The teachers are top notch and really care about their students. I have had a lot of individual attention for my bright child. However, I know a number of people who have had legitimate issues with the administration.


Ridge Hill School 3

Posted December 13, 2012
- a community member
The teachers are top-notch with many "Teacher-of-the-Year" winners located within the school. THe school is enourmous with the most breathtaking scenery and school grounds of all of Connecticut. However, the school is pretty high maintenence with all-carpet floors and vast amounts of dust in every corner. This is a great elementrary school to take your child to if you are interested in a "homeschooling" kind of education with strong bonds between students and teachers.

Ridge Hill School 5

Posted July 28, 2012
- a parent
My sister, younger brother and myself all attended this elementary school. I am now a doctor and my daughter is now attending this school. I have a great deal of respect for this school and amazed how well the school is doing till this day.

Ridge Hill School 4

Posted October 04, 2010
- a parent
Our daughter is in her second year of Ridge Hill School and she is very happy here. The teachers and staff are top notch, and care a lot about the kids. There is a strong culture of kindness, respect and learning here. We are a happy Ridge Hill family - along with all our great neighbors and their children too. Shhh....don't let too many folks know.


Ridge Hill School 5

Posted April 18, 2010
- a parent
One walk through our school and you will see the Ridge Hill School Faculty & Staff care about our children! Thanks to them our children will continue to shine and someday change the world!

Ridge Hill School 0
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
Ridge Hill School has been my daughters home away from home for the past 7 years. Every teacher she has had have been a great influence in her life. I have been blessed for the help I have received from Ridge Hill School in raising my daughter. The school is 40 years past due for some renovations and the students, teachers, parents and the community deserve nothing less. So please, lets bring this school up to date and let our children today and in the future grow in a healthy environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ridge Hill School
120 Carew Rd, Hamden, CT  06517
(203) 407-2035
Last modified Ridge Hill School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ridge Hill School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top