Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ridge Hill School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 27, 2015
- a parent
My children have gotten the individual, authentic attention necessary to connect to learning. With small class sizes and specific groupings, the teachers at Ridge Hill are creating the right environment (hands-on stations, book nooks, science centers) for a great elementary experience!

Ridge Hill School 4

Posted December 27, 2015
- a parent
Ridge Hill School has a small, involved community that works collaboratively to educate the whole child. We feel fortunate to attend this school with small class sizes, opportunities for involvement and home to the Hamden Family Resource Center. RHS has many family events and an excellent afterschool program that offers affordable enrichment classes.


Ridge Hill School 5

Posted June 14, 2013
- a parent
Ridge Hill School is the best kept secret in Hamden. Class sizes are small, the teachers are dedicated and it has a very friendly atmosphere.

Ridge Hill School 5

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
Ridge Hill is an awesome school. My son is in Kindergarten and his teacher just got teacher of the year. His gym teacher also has the title of "teacher of the year" from another year. RHS encourages parent involvement so you can see how well the school is run. They have many extracurricular activities, for instance, my son got to make s'mores on an open fire in the school grounds. Field trips are also used for enrichment purposes. They go to places like the Yale Art Gallery to the local farm. I highly recommend Ridge Hill School.

Ridge Hill School 5

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
Ridge Hill really does Rock. The teachers are excellent and deeply committed to teaching *all* the students in their classes--including those who are ahead of and behind the curve--using a range of creative and experiential ways of learning. The sense of community at the school is invaluable, and it shows every time a student holds open a door (as others have commented!) or stops a younger child to help tie a shoelace. The administration is open to developing new arenas for learning, including the thriving after-school program (Ridge Hill Rocks) and the community garden, as well as many new field trips and activities. It is extremely well equipped (the music program and library in particular are terrific) and has an abundance of resources onsite to support students and families. Finally, Ridge Hill provides a diverse and inclusive environment that mirrors the society in which these children will grow up to be citizens and requires them to get along and work together with others from different cultural and economic backgrounds. That's an experience that can't be replicated in more elite schools. My main wish for the school is that more parents join the very active PTA.


Ridge Hill School 5

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
We are very happy with Ridge Hill School. My son entered kindergarten mid-year when we moved here. He started as a shy kid who did not want to go to school at all. After only a few months, he is reading, making jokes and cheering when it is a school day. The support and care he feels from his teacher and the entire school community has been amazing.

Ridge Hill School 3

Posted April 22, 2013
- a parent
This school is quite good if you don't have to deal with the administration. The teachers are top notch and really care about their students. I have had a lot of individual attention for my bright child. However, I know a number of people who have had legitimate issues with the administration.

Ridge Hill School 3

Posted December 13, 2012
- a community member
The teachers are top-notch with many "Teacher-of-the-Year" winners located within the school. THe school is enourmous with the most breathtaking scenery and school grounds of all of Connecticut. However, the school is pretty high maintenence with all-carpet floors and vast amounts of dust in every corner. This is a great elementrary school to take your child to if you are interested in a "homeschooling" kind of education with strong bonds between students and teachers.


Ridge Hill School 5

Posted July 28, 2012
- a parent
My sister, younger brother and myself all attended this elementary school. I am now a doctor and my daughter is now attending this school. I have a great deal of respect for this school and amazed how well the school is doing till this day.

Ridge Hill School 4

Posted October 04, 2010
- a parent
Our daughter is in her second year of Ridge Hill School and she is very happy here. The teachers and staff are top notch, and care a lot about the kids. There is a strong culture of kindness, respect and learning here. We are a happy Ridge Hill family - along with all our great neighbors and their children too. Shhh....don't let too many folks know.

Nearby schools

Ridge Hill School
120 Carew Rd, Hamden, CT  06517
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (203) 407-2035
Last modified Ridge Hill School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top