Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Spring Glen School 1

Posted December 02, 2014
- a community member
meh, i was in this school a good while, and it wasn't a good experience. the teachers would rather yell at a student than teach them, and the lunch aids would yell at a student yelling "flubber nuggets" than actually "aiding" lunch. wow spg, thanks for teaching me a valuable lesson in life. and that is, not to say "flubber nugget" infront of a grown person.

Spring Glen School 5

Posted September 07, 2013
- a community member
I lovers Spring Glen!! I attended it from k until 6 and created so many wonderful memories! It is a great school with wonderful teachers who work hard to give children a good start in the future! I recommend it to families who want their kids to have a good education, make new friends and learn from wonderful teachers!!!


Spring Glen School 3

Posted January 31, 2012
- a parent
Spring Glen has great teachers, principal, and a clean, new building and playground. The PTA is very involved (though constantly asking for parents to send in money via cash/check. There is a lot of pressure to contribute financially.) HOWEVER, my primary complaint is with the curriculum. The "new" math program is a joke. It is very lacking, and many parents complain about it, in fact I know of several parents who pay to send their kids on Saturdays to Eli Whitney for math enrichment so that their child will actually learn something! Additionally, in comparing the math, science, and spelling curriculum at Spring Glen to elementaries in Wallingford, Cheshire, North Haven, and even other elementaries in Hamden, Spring Glen appears to be teaching about 1 grade below level for each grade. K-3 has been all that my 2 children have experienced thus far, and in those grades the lack of computer lab time/skills is obvious, and the lack of penmanship (in K & 1st) and cursive instruction is discouraging. Improve the curriculum and add more FREE extracurriculars, and this school has the potential to be fantastic!

Spring Glen School 3

Posted January 31, 2012
- a parent
Desperately needs a better curriculum to give our kids a stronger start! There is no challenge, no foreign language, no gifted program! Though Hamden as a whole is a less academic district, so maybe the poor curriculum at Spring Glen simply reflects that.

Spring Glen School 3

Posted January 20, 2012
- a parent
Our experience with Spring Glen has been mixed. The building and playground are clean, new, and welcoming. The principle seems very personable and completely committed to the school. The PTA is very strong, and there is a good sense of community there. The two things that brought my rating down were the secretary (difficult to work with and not at all welcoming or friendly), and I have been disappointed with the teacher. It feels like she's been using the same material for 30 years. My child is advanced and hasn't gotten any kind of environment to continue to develop that. And for the first 3 months, the only reports of school that I heard back were about the teacher yelling, the playground helpers yelling, and the lunch monitors yelling. My child felt scared in an environment I was hoping would be safe for her. It seems to be a school of incredible potential, and I really think it is heading in a fabulous direction. I have high hopes for the future.


Spring Glen School 2

Posted January 10, 2012
- a parent
I give this school a below average score. After experiencing kindergarten and first grade we decided to move our child to catholic school and we are not catholic. Our overall experience was that if your child is natural student, he will do fine here. But if he needs any additional attention beyond what's offered to the class, you will have problems. The tutors they provide are mainly computer software games. They teachers tended to segregate students in class with how at tentative or distracting they are which sounds like it makes sense but all you gain is ignoring the problem and a group of kids who end up distracting each other all day. My child was not encouraged to raise hand in class to better understand directions, if you didn't hear it the first time, you better listen the next time. The teachers all make you veal like "if it weren't for parents, teaching would be so easy!" Our expectations I would say we're reasonable from the start and this school severely disappointed.

Spring Glen School 5

Posted March 20, 2011
- a parent
Excelleng teachers, strong leadership (the new principal is child/parent focused), and involved parents. Great facilties including a brand new playground. I highly recommend Spring Glen School.

Spring Glen School
no rating

Posted November 06, 2009
- a parent
Teachers and principal are great!!


Spring Glen School
no rating

Posted November 06, 2009
- a parent
It's a wonderful school with a loving group of parents who put their heart and soul into the school. They perform the arduous tasks necessary to make not only the school, but the community a wonderful place for the development of children physically and mentally.

Spring Glen School 5

Posted November 06, 2009
- a parent
Wonderful teachers and parents, great facilities and an amazing new principal - we are happy that our daughter is doing great in kindergarten and will have 5 more years in this school!

Nearby schools

Spring Glen School
1908 Whitney Ave, Hamden, CT  06517
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. (203) 407-2045
Last modified Spring Glen School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top