Advertisement
Advertisement

The Grace S Webb School

Private | 104 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Hartford

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $135,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2011

i was a student at Grace Webb an do not send your children there. The school is NOT who they say they are there was only two good thatcher rayen and shawen love them they change my life all most done with college they in they inspire me to go to college by shem daley


Posted March 31, 2011

I am a student at Grace Webb and anybody who is reading this? PLEASE. do not send your children there. The school is NOT who they say they are. When my school system decided to send me to this institution, Grace Webb promised to give me a proper education and a good support system for my issues, but that's completely opposite. They don't give me an education, instead, they are rude and mean and verbally abusive to us to the point where we aren't able to get academics done. The staff are extremely arrogant and the teachers don't seem to know a thing about what they're teaching. I agree with other reviews, they focus more on punishing us than helping us. I noticed that a lot of students who go there (including me) develop even more severe behavioral problems than we had before we came. The staff are monsters in this school, absolutely terrible. Kids cry and scream on a daily basis because the staff are so degrading. It hurts to know that grown adults act this way to students who are emotionally fragile. I'm begging you, whoever wants to come here, FIND.ANOTHER.SCHOOL. because they damaged me for life. save your sanity and don't attend this abusive environment.


Posted March 22, 2011

Very good at keeping parents informed. The staff truly cares and makes an effort to keep the parents and student involved in the decision making process regarding individual plans and any changes to help improve the entire process. They really do focus on what the student really needs to suceed and they let the student have a voice which sometimes schools don't do, espcially in a therapuetic environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

Grace Webb School is wonderful. The teachers, clinicians and all the staff are true professionals and give the students a great environment for a therapeutic school. The school has always communicated with me on my child's progress or lack of and has always kept me in the loop of any decisions that they have made during the school day. Thank you to Grace Webb!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

This is the worst school ever!! Do NOT send your child to this school. They will ruin your child's self esteem and their methods are geared towards punishing the kids rather than rewarding them for good behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2009

I currently attend GSW, and it is the worst school I've ever attended. The teachers never help me with my problems, and they believe that punishment is a better way to get a student to learn to behave than actually giving a reward or positive reinforcment for good behavior. I despise this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2008

This school is most awful...and very unfair to both kids and parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

A great school for children and teens who need to be rehabilitated to better mesh with society's idea's of behavior and acceptable actions. I was a student at Grace Webb; I used to be a rotten brat and I had an overwhelming temper. In my past one psychologist had even said I would need to be locked away, because I had no will to change my ways. My parents looked everywhere with no luck, until they found Grace Webb. I'll spare you the details; the point is when I left Grace Webb my parents said I was a pleasure to be around. I still have my times now a again, but Grace Webb gave me the tools to build the new me. I would recommend this school to anyone who want the perfect child or teen, not as a last resort, but as the first step to a new begining.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 62%
Black 23% 15%
Hispanic 22% 18%
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • CEC
  • NAPSEC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Retreat Ave
Hartford, CT 06106
Phone: (860) 545-7054

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Sanchez School
Hartford, CT


Burr School
Hartford, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT