Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public
Hartford, CT
Students enrolled: 714

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Classical Magnet School 2

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
This school definitlety needs to find it's direction. The school has gone down over the last 2yrs and I think has drastically changed since the original principal Left. The administrators seem to be on a power trip instead of keeping the outstanding values the school held before. out of the 3 yrs my daugher attended that school the last 2 were the worst and the main reason she is no longer there. everybody has their own experience mines just wasn't a good one.

Classical Magnet School 1

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
Dont go to this school. Some of the staff are great while most others arent. They did not know how to handle book problems until recently. So anything lost in the past is dropped on the student, due to the fact they just started giving receipt for books returned. Which in my cause makes this school a total failure for not being able to do something so simple earlier.


Classical Magnet School 3

Posted February 10, 2014
- a community member
This school has some great qualities and you learn allot about yourself throughout the 7 years ( middle school and high school years). But , To be honest I wouldn't recommend staying for high school. I say this mainly because I feel as a student that the classics is forced upon you,and there aren't many choices to fondle away; literally everything you do is Latin and Greek related. The great qualities about classical are that your learning Latin all your years there and also all your classes are honors; even if your not a honors student. Pass or fail that's a good look on your transcript when colleges see it. Also, the councilors there are very supportive , but some of the other staff are really mean or give off the worst attitudes! Classical magnet high challenges you to the highest extent ,and help if given when needed. The school only gets 3 stars because of some other issues within the school but other than that its an okay school.

Classical Magnet School 2

Posted June 07, 2013
- a parent
This school need to find it's direction again. The administration does not appear to have the control over the staff and daily happenings it should. The focus is not where it should be. We need to educating the whole student, not just focusing on certain subjects. Math and science programs are very weak. There is no priority to bring these disciplines up to the same level as other core subjects. Students graduating are having trouble competing in these areas at the college level. There are a few great teachers here but something needs to be done to bring the rest up to the same level.

Classical Magnet School 5

Posted February 20, 2013
- a community member
I have been going here for five years and I love it. I would recommend this school because it not only challenges you and offers many opportunities but focuses on life after high school. I hope this school doesn't start going downhill because our goal-oriented principle Mr. Sullivan has left. I love all the great friends I have met here and I have learned some of the most important life lessons that I will never forget.


Classical Magnet School 3

Posted March 25, 2012
- a community member
Overall this school is a great school. It provides students with the academic credits they need to get into college. What is stressful about this school is their system of grading. It gets overwhelming because of the homework and projects needed to be done. Work is graded harshly though there are some opportunities to re-do work and tests, depending on the teacher you have.School ends at 2:30 but they let out the students at 4:00 because everyone is required to do an enrichment. Some are fun but others are unnecessary, instead of this kids could be at home doing their homework and trying to get their grades up. Sports end around 6:00 which makes it difficult for some kids to do their homework because they are already exhausted from practice. Though the school is very diverse, everyone still has their own cliques so not much interaction between the kids is shown. Classical Magnet has its ups and downs like all schools do but the downs are a bit much and makes the good things seems like its not even worth it anymore. Its a great school but it can drive kids, depending on the person, insane

Classical Magnet School 5

Posted January 13, 2011
- a community member
Great school, diversity is great. Offers a wide variety of things to learn! Overall: great!

Classical Magnet School 3

Posted January 08, 2011
- a community member
Classical magnet is an overall good school if you know how to apply your self. What gets very over whelming is Homework. Students are loaded with tuns of homework that can keep them up till the morning finishing projects, essays, and homework. The classes are very diverse and can seem almost like collage classes in the area of Teachers. All teachers are different. Some can be miserable and some can be very nice. The school is very secured and extremely strict. Some times I think they go a little overboard with the students in letting them have a little bit of freedom. Classical Magnet does have an excellent Sports program though.


Classical Magnet School 5

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
Greater Hartford Classical Magnet School is an outstanding example of how integration (class and race) truly creates a positive atmosphere and an excellent learning environment. The diversity at this school adds to the academic rigor to create well-rounded, critical and analytical thinkers who are understanding, caring, and celebratory of all perspectives.

Classical Magnet School 5

Posted November 24, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Classical Magnet School
55 Forest St, Hartford, CT  06105
(860) 278-5920
Last modified Classical Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Classical Magnet School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top