Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Classical Magnet School
Grateful to: Student

Posted December 13, 2015
- a student
I want to say thank you to Ms. Perez, Ms. Roach, Mr. Tucker, Mr. Hoberman, Mr. Pezzulo and Dr. Sirman for providing me with a pleasant Classical experience.

Classical Magnet School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted December 13, 2015
- a student
The teachers here are effective but like in all schools, there's at least one teacher that I believe should go but the rest of them are phenomenal.


Classical Magnet School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 13, 2015
- a student
The workload only becomes overbearing if a student doesn't manage their time well. I'm a student that had been at Classical since grade 6 and I'm now a Senior, the workload is challenging but not overbearing. Classical has 40 minutes at the end of each school day where a wise student could do homework, get extra help from teachers or work on a project.

Classical Magnet School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 13, 2015
- a student
This school definitely pushes students to stand strong in the face of adversity and to advocate for not only yourself but your peers.

Classical Magnet School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted December 13, 2015
- a student
Respect/Dignitas is one of the three pillars of core values that Classical prides itself on.


Classical Magnet School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 13, 2015
- a student
Classical isn't just a school, but due to its small size, it's a family. Students every year participate in several annual events to help the community. A turkey drive is done every year to give turkeys and other thanksgiving dinner essentials to families in need. Classical is the host of Kevin's Run in honor of a former student of Classical that developed leukemia. The proceeds from the race find a scholarship in Kevin's honor to a senior at Classical. Students regularly easier awareness about youth homelessness, various diseases and issues that plague our society.

Classical Magnet School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 13, 2015
- a student
Honesty, integrity and fairness are three qualities that are deeply ingrained into the Classical Community. From 6th grade they teach students the importance of these qualities.

Classical Magnet School 5

Posted December 13, 2015
- a student
(Scroll to the bottom if you wish to avoid my long review and get to what's most important to me) I give Classical Magnet 5 stars because looking back now, as a Senior, I can see I had and I'm still having a very pleasant experience here. Classical gave me the opportunity to create documentaries about our democracy through their partnership with the great Nonprofit CivicLifeProject. This experience gave me the opportunity to interview Governor Dan Malloy, Lt. Governor Nancy Wyman, Speaker of the House Sharkey and many more members of the General Assmebly. After creating two documentaries with CivicLifeProject, they have now hired me. Classical has given me the opportunity to serve within the Hartford District and at the State level, so I may advocate for students just like myself. The teachers here truly care about the students but they are human and have emotions like everyone else. One great thing is that the teachers here do not hold grudges against students that may have gave them a hard time in the past. In middle school I wasn't the most well behaved student but now my 8th grade teacher is helping me get into my dream college. The guidance counselors are amazing here. They take the time to get to know each of their students and check up with them throughout the school year. (Most important part) Classical turns students into leaders. Our community pushes students to stand tall and march to their own drum. I can say honestly, Classical has turned me into a leader and taught me how to think critically and express my thoughts effectively. Classical gives the students so many opportunities but it's up to the students to take those opportunities.


Classical Magnet School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 24, 2015
- a student
Although some teachers will murder the students with the amount of homework they give. Some teachers do give the right amount of homework.

Classical Magnet School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted July 24, 2015
- a student
No, thanks to some of the teachers the students feel dumb if they do not get something fast enough. I used to be like that. But, this school just made me give up.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Classical Magnet School
55 Forest St, Hartford, CT  06105
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (860) 278-5920
Last modified Classical Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top