Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Capital Preparatory Magnet School

Public | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2014

My two daughters (grades 5 & 8) are in their second year. We chose Capital Prep over our suburban school and have been very happy. The girls love their school. We are thrilled with the high expectations (and don't mind the strict rules, including uniform adherence, which is made very clear to all parents and students). The gifted program is amazing, for kids who need to be challenged academically, having access to the Johns Hopkins CTY program has been wonderful. Most of the teachers and other faculty have been great and the kids have enjoyed their music and art classes and also their dance and ski clubs. No school is perfect, but we have been very satisfied with Capital Prep overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2013

The intentions of this schools seem positive but its not. It is important to have a staff that understands curriculum. It does not seem to be the case in this school. The atmosphere is somewhat hostile, I do believe that every child should be entitled to an atmosphere that focuses on discipline and instruction. But "What happens when the staff seems uneasy and afraid?" It usually takes away from the joy of teaching, which is floating through the halls of this school. This school has a huge turnaround with staff and students alike. People want to praise individuals who talk a good game but some of tthem who gave this dude the golden crown need to really look at what's going on in this school. Weaver, Bulkeley and Hartford Public were known for dealing with at risk students. At this school, the only way a defiant student can stay at this school-he or she must be athletic. There is so much emphasis on the accomplishments of their track team. Sorry to say, Weaver High was undefeated in track and field for many years. As far as going to college, several students in the former high schools exceeded his college graduates.


Posted October 2, 2013

I regret that I did not do more research on this school prior to sending my child here. The Board Of Education allows mayhem to take place even after presenting solid evidence of the horrific things that go on there. The Senior class is whittled down to a handful of students to give the appearance of 100% graduation rate. My child's transcripts were so erroneous, and I had to bring it to the headmaster's attention! DON'T SEND YOUR CHILD HERE!! Smoke and mirrors!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2013

My son started at Capital Prep in the year 2012/2013 in 3rd grade. I chose to have him enrolled here after he was successful in the lottery and after visiting the school for a drop in, for a PTO meeting, and for the scheduled open house. I felt that it would have structure, demanding excellence, and diversity of student body and faculty. It has delivered on all counts. The thing that I discovered that I did not know when I came in was the opportunities he has on a regular basis to safely work his independence (from his parents) and make key decisions. This is related to the variety of enrichment activities that are offered by teachers and parents. Although some have complained about the consequence of standing for 20 minutes to eat lunch for uniform infractions, I must say that my son did it and staunchly refused to go to school without full uniform from that point on; the right behavior resulted. What I also commend C-Prep on is how they reward extra curricula experiences at home, with family, in the community - I support the fact that learning occurs in and out of the classroom. In just a few weeks, he starts 4th grade and the best thing is that he feels like he fits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

I am the parent of former Capital Prep students. and I regret not having looked for reviews of the principal Steve Perry and this school. After several months of red flags from pervasive, poor communication to parents to poorly implemented programs and curricula to severely strict uniform policies to uncaring responses to discipline issues to just not having created a warm, nurturing environment for young kids, we were finally just biding our time until the end of the school year to escape and find new options for our children. Unfortunately we left sooner! With just 2 months of school left in the school year, we have withdrawn our daughters (ages 8 and 5) after having my 5 year old be harshly disciplined for having a missing belt on that day. Without my notice, was required to eat standing! Even more outrageous is that I have yet to get any response from the Board of Ed regarding my concern over this harsh discipline. Don't send your kids here. You will regret it and it's not worth the trauma to your kids. We need to stop allowing these fame-seeking, fake reformers to ruin our kids and schools! This principal is worse than the teachers and unions he complains about!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2012

My "caucasian" girls from the subburbs love this school. They have never been happier. They are growing up learning that every individual has something to contribute to the learning community. They are also learning social justice and will grow up trying to improve the society in which they live. The curriculum is challenging, the excellent teachers genuinely care about their students, and the principal is a strong leader. Dr. Perry loves ALL of his students and is determined to see that each and every one of them meets their fullest potential. He speaks the truth, and sometimes the truth may be hard to hear for some parents. In the end though, all he wants is what is best for all of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

looks like a great school. is it a safe school? how many caucasuans per class room?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

We love this school, in our first open house when leaving my daugher said this is the school for me, this is where I am going to graduate high shcool from. The best shcool in CT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

Capital Prep has been the best experience for my children from the suburbs. The teachers really give them 1 on 1 attention and the faculty is amazing and so accommodating. I am so lucky my kids got into Capital Prep. They are extremely prepared for Ivy League-Caliber colleges and their friends (other students at Capital Prep) are so nice and mature, they fit in great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

I love Capital Prep because the Principal there works very hard and the majority of the kids attend college when finished
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

This has been an excellent choice for my daughter. It is a focused school in college entrance and the entire staff is phenomenal. Kudos to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

this school is the best out there it is hand on hand with learning and everything you need in a great school


Posted March 12, 2009

The principal does not base his decision on sound education. Do not like how he treats people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

This school is the greatest. The principal helps to make it so. Hope they keep up the good work. High praise for the faculty and staff.


Posted October 15, 2008

I don't believe the current rating for this school is accurate. If it is based on CMTs scores then is should have a deff higher rating. Also, student ethnicity is not 100% black, it is well proportioned in my opinion. Not only am I involved as many parents with the school but also the school in itself is an example model to many others in an inner city such as Hartford. Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

This is the best school I have ever gone to. I love the school climate and I really like the kids who go there.Everytime we have vacation Im always wanting to go back so that I can learn more and so that I can see my peers. That really makes a difference to me. Next Year Im going to be a Freshman and the program here is great!!! I have the oppurtunitie to have a great college career and Im really happy about it so I think that everyone should come to this school and that everyone should get the chance at a good education that Mr. Perry and all the faculty has given us. I am forever greatful for this school it changed my attitude and everything about me. 5 stars hands down!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2008

This school is extremely good. It is good both academically and athletically. It is also very disciplined. There are very strict uniform regulations and very strict rules for everything else. This is not the school for lazy people. Another thing about this school that makes it so amazing is that they take mediocre or worse kids and turn the into geniuses.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2008

I go to Capital Prep and it is a really good school. We learn valuable things that we will not only have in our academics but also in our life.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black43%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English61%

Reading

All Students56%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black55%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English57%

Writing

All Students50%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black45%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English51%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female55%
Malen/a
Black38%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%

Reading

All Students65%
Female68%
Malen/a
Black48%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%

Writing

All Students76%
Female87%
Malen/a
Black61%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Femalen/a
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%

Reading

All Students80%
Femalen/a
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%

Science

All Students76%
Femalen/a
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%

Writing

All Students92%
Femalen/a
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female67%
Male69%
Black52%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%

Reading

All Students74%
Female73%
Male74%
Black71%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%

Writing

All Students74%
Female75%
Male72%
Black65%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female73%
Male56%
Black47%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%

Reading

All Students81%
Female85%
Male78%
Black75%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%

Writing

All Students75%
Female83%
Male67%
Black69%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female78%
Male57%
Black61%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%

Reading

All Students78%
Female84%
Male70%
Black71%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%

Science

All Students59%
Female58%
Male61%
Black55%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English60%

Writing

All Students90%
Female93%
Male86%
Black90%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female59%
Male85%
Black54%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%

Reading

All Students72%
Female72%
Male70%
Black67%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%

Science

All Students77%
Female77%
Male76%
Black70%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%

Writing

All Students85%
Female84%
Male86%
Black81%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 43% 13%
White 27% 61%
Hispanic 22% 20%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

950 Main St
Hartford, CT 06103
Website: Click here
Phone: (860) 695-9800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


High School Inc.
Hartford, CT


Gray Lodge School
Hartford, CT




The Keystone School
Hartford, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT