Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School

Public | PK-8 | 285 students

AFM provides the highest implementation of Montessori education.
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

My sons' Montessori school is one of the few public Montessori schools. The teachers and staff have implemented the learning approach with excellence. Using such materials as the golden beads and "stamp game" both sons are multiplying and dividing 3 to 4 digit numbers in the 1st and 3rd grades. And the independence and self sufficiency they display at home is a testament to the life skills they are learning at school. And the reading! - both are in chapter books and reading with gusto.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

No school is perfect, but I love this one. I have twins that attend. One of their "guides" actually let me do an extra parent teacher conference when I was concerned for him. The other twin's "guide" has a blog and weekly newsletter. The staff is wonderful. The school is beautiful. All activities and drop off/pick up are well organized. It is really child focused and kids learn confidence, independence and courtesy. Children and their guides become well acquainted as they are together three years. Older children get a chance to help teach younger and younger kids have role models. You just have to see for yourself, it's really amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2014

Annie Fisher Montessori is such a wonderful community. We couldn't be happier with the education and experience our child is getting. This school is a true Montessori, with all of the appropriate materials, and guides that are very well trained and certified. Our child has learned so much in just a year, and, AFM is so much more than academics. The children are treated with respect and kindness, and in turn they learn how to treat others the same way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

My child has been here for 6 years. She has developed academically and socially into a beautiful young lady. AFM has supported her as a whole child, not just through academics. I am amazed at her ability to explore and discover. She is independent, confident, and happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

AFM is an AMI Recognized which is really important when looking for a Montessori school. I love the dedication to Montessori, the diversity, and the hardwaork that everyone puts in here. My children are excited about learning and have done really well. Everyone is very welcoming here. Staff knows my children and greets them every morning. We are very happy with AFM.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

Great school and curriculum. The only thing missing is the school administrators become family unfriendly. Years my children have been here, gets worst by the year. Feel unwelcome as parents. Hope this will change. It supposed to be teamwork between school-parents-community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

My son is in his second year at Annie Fisher. He loves it! The principal is wonderful, the staff is wonderful. It is a vibrant and lively learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

My daughter is a first year and she has already begun prereading skills such as sandpaper letters. I deeply value the methods and love for learning that the teachers and staff have instilled in her. She not only looks forward to going to school but she enjoys learning. The teachers take her inerests into account and help her to become an independent learner. At Annie Fisher everyone really is a part of a community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

This is a great school. My daughter is 3 years old she peels carrots, use apple slicer, loves to cook , do laundry all because the Montessori teaches everyday practical home skills, it is so amazing to watch my daughter so active and helpful at home...amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

The staff, parent and student community of this school are all committed to creating the best possible climate for learning and for all aspects of human development. It's hard to think of a better place for children of this age to be in the region, considering the high quality and availability of the education offered here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 2, 2010

Being part of starting this Montessori community has been a pleasure. I enjoy working with all the staff, parents, and volunteers. My children love going to school. We travel a quite a distance to our school and feel it is well worth it! I feel lucky that my children can attend here. We feel Montessori is such a diamond in the rough.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 40% 13%
White 28% 61%
Hispanic 15% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 4%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Security personnel
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
PE instructor(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • AMI Recognition (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:25 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Principal John Freeman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Environmental
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Mentoring
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Auditorium
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School offers children grades PK 3 - 7th grade, tuition free public Montessori education implemented to the highest standards set by Association Montessori Internationale. The Annie Fisher Montessori program seeks to develop in students the power to shape their own lives and the world around them while embracing its racially, ethnically and economically diverse school community. Come see and feel the difference! Montessori is Education for Life!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

Submit your application by

February 28, 2014

 
 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


1 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
45
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
1400
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

280 Plainfield St.
Hartford, CT 06112
Website: Click here
Phone: (860) 695-3560

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Watkinson School
Hartford, CT





Jumoke Academy
Hartford, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT