Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Hartford, CT
Students enrolled: 285
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
My sons' Montessori school is one of the few public Montessori schools. The teachers and staff have implemented the learning approach with excellence. Using such materials as the golden beads and "stamp game" both sons are multiplying and dividing 3 to 4 digit numbers in the 1st and 3rd grades. And the independence and self sufficiency they display at home is a testament to the life skills they are learning at school. And the reading! - both are in chapter books and reading with gusto.

Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
No school is perfect, but I love this one. I have twins that attend. One of their "guides" actually let me do an extra parent teacher conference when I was concerned for him. The other twin's "guide" has a blog and weekly newsletter. The staff is wonderful. The school is beautiful. All activities and drop off/pick up are well organized. It is really child focused and kids learn confidence, independence and courtesy. Children and their guides become well acquainted as they are together three years. Older children get a chance to help teach younger and younger kids have role models. You just have to see for yourself, it's really amazing.


Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
Annie Fisher Montessori is such a wonderful community. We couldn't be happier with the education and experience our child is getting. This school is a true Montessori, with all of the appropriate materials, and guides that are very well trained and certified. Our child has learned so much in just a year, and, AFM is so much more than academics. The children are treated with respect and kindness, and in turn they learn how to treat others the same way.

Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School 5

Posted January 27, 2014
- a parent
My child has been here for 6 years. She has developed academically and socially into a beautiful young lady. AFM has supported her as a whole child, not just through academics. I am amazed at her ability to explore and discover. She is independent, confident, and happy.

Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School 5

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
AFM is an AMI Recognized which is really important when looking for a Montessori school. I love the dedication to Montessori, the diversity, and the hardwaork that everyone puts in here. My children are excited about learning and have done really well. Everyone is very welcoming here. Staff knows my children and greets them every morning. We are very happy with AFM.


Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School 1

Posted December 08, 2011
- a parent
Great school and curriculum. The only thing missing is the school administrators become family unfriendly. Years my children have been here, gets worst by the year. Feel unwelcome as parents. Hope this will change. It supposed to be teamwork between school-parents-community.

Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School 5

Posted November 07, 2011
- a parent
My son is in his second year at Annie Fisher. He loves it! The principal is wonderful, the staff is wonderful. It is a vibrant and lively learning environment.

Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School 5

Posted May 13, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is a first year and she has already begun prereading skills such as sandpaper letters. I deeply value the methods and love for learning that the teachers and staff have instilled in her. She not only looks forward to going to school but she enjoys learning. The teachers take her inerests into account and help her to become an independent learner. At Annie Fisher everyone really is a part of a community.


Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School 5

Posted October 20, 2010
- a parent
This is a great school. My daughter is 3 years old she peels carrots, use apple slicer, loves to cook , do laundry all because the Montessori teaches everyday practical home skills, it is so amazing to watch my daughter so active and helpful at home...amazing.

Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School 5

Posted May 01, 2010
- a teacher
The staff, parent and student community of this school are all committed to creating the best possible climate for learning and for all aspects of human development. It's hard to think of a better place for children of this age to be in the region, considering the high quality and availability of the education offered here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School
280 Plainfield St., Hartford, CT  06112
(860) 695-3560
Last modified Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8
Annie Fisher Montessori Magnet School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top