Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Simpson-Waverly School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Strohowski! He's awesome!! Great communicator, stern yet fair. Very attentive to the children's needs both educational and social.

Simpson-Waverly School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
I would like to see less worksheets and more homework assignments that are thought provoking, engaging.


Simpson-Waverly School 4

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
The teachers seem to be very passionate about the process of which the children are learning. Communication with parents is excellent. The nurse has a wonderful familial attitude, almost like she's part of the family. Very kind and concerning.

Simpson-Waverly School 5

Posted December 23, 2013
- a parent
This is a school where teachers work very hard. They get a lot of students who are coming from the worst schools. If the community in that area knew any better they would try to support it better.

Simpson-Waverly School 4

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
This school is awesome! From Mr. May who is always there to lend an ear. Ms. Francis always so nice even though I am late everyday to getting my son due to my work schedule. Mr. Jones is the best principal EVER! I have never met a principal so down to earth and is never to busy to have a small chat. Ms. Heinlein is the GREATEST! She takes the time to talk to me everyday to let me know my sons weaknesses and his strengths. I am greatful to everyone at the school for making me feel comfortable. Including the janitor who is always willing to help when I have my one year old with me. Thank you all


Simpson-Waverly School 4

Posted November 29, 2007
- a parent
I am pleased with Simpson- Waverly Classical Magnet School. There is room for improvement . I believe that in due time this school will be back to Blue Ribbon standards.

Simpson-Waverly School 3

Posted September 20, 2007
- a parent
This is my son 3rd year at this school.Every year the teacher's get worst and worst. They do not return phone calls.The class room phone rings with no answer. They need more staff outside when the children are outside.

Simpson-Waverly School 3

Posted September 19, 2006
- a parent
This school has been a big disappointment. It is probably fine for most kids, so that it is at best mediocre currently.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Simpson-Waverly School
55 Waverly St, Hartford, CT  06112
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (860) 695-5160
Last modified Simpson-Waverly School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top