Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ledyard High School 5

Posted November 24, 2009
- a student
This school is excellent. I am in my second year and I have enjoyed every day. The teachers really connect to the students, and everyone is just so friendly. I went to FSHS in Groton in my freshmen year, and I have to definately say, this school is so much better. I love the agri science program and am proud to be a Ledyard Colonol. :]

Ledyard High School 5

Posted July 25, 2009
- a parent
Great staff, Staff cares for the kids always ready to help in anyway. Great Principle


Ledyard High School 4

Posted July 24, 2007
- a parent
I have a child at this school. A new principal will be moving up from the Middle School. He was awesome there! My child has special needs and the program he is in is very good. I do have to push for some things and feel that sometimes he could do more, but he feels very safe there. The staff is mostly wonderful, a few standouts come to mind to drag down that rating. The music program in the vocal area is wonderful. The band area needs tremendous improvement. Math department is outstanding! Involved parents are a key...even if you need to do it from the 'background' so as to not embarass your child. The VoAg progam is great and offers another avenue of learning.

Ledyard High School 4

Posted March 15, 2007
- a parent
Overall decent school. Adminstration woefully lacking but some outstanding teachers. Principal seems over her head and most kids couldn't tell you what she looks like (they never see her). Overall climate less than inspiring. Yes, great music program (chorus anyway). Band is pitifu. No strings. Only one musical drama production every FOUR years. Biggest complaint is lack of encouragement/support. Tough getting classes you want/need. Block schedule lacks flexibility. Not many AP classes offered. Highlights: math and social studies (some incredible teachers). Safety good but would credit overall community more than school policy or staff. Be prepared to be pushy and involved parent.

Ledyard High School 4

Posted March 29, 2006
- a student
I attended this school from 2000-2004 through the Agri-Science program. I enjoyed my experience very much and found it a good choice. I was involved in chorus and drama both of which are wonderful programs. The teachers are mostly great, some are not so wonderful, but I got along well with most of them. Overall it is a wonderful school.


Ledyard High School 5

Posted December 14, 2005
- a student
I attended this school and it was alright. It had great programs and awsome teachers. The only problem was the kids in the school made it bad. They bullied to much and there was always drama about something. Thats why I switched out. But if i could pick one thing to change about any school i would change the kids at Ledyard and i would attend that school again. ~Krystin Pearson (2008)

Ledyard High School 3

Posted May 06, 2005
- a student
i attend ledyard its leadership may be a liitle less than it should but the teachers are great and help when you need them.

Ledyard High School 4

Posted December 08, 2004
- a parent
I have a studeant attending this school out of our own district. I have been very pleased with the quality of the education, and the involvement of the educators at the school.


Ledyard High School 5

Posted August 16, 2004
- a parent
I have a daughter that is going into her third year at the high school. She is very happy there. I am pleased with the curriculum, the teachers and the overall quality of Ledyard High.

Ledyard High School 4

Posted June 03, 2004
- a parent
I have had three children go through the Ledyard School System (two of them are currently in the high school), and our family's experience has been overwhelmingly positive. The administration, considered a weakness in the past, has been a much more positive force since a new Dean of Students was added. Any administrative or budget problems, however, are overshadowed by the fact that the teachers at Ledyard are priceless. My children ranged from AP classes to average level, and they all were taught by intelligent, engaging teachers who truly cared about them. On the extracurricular side, Ledyard boasts a tremendous music program which routinely competes around the country. They have visited England and performed at Carnegie Hall. If your child is interested in music, this is the place for him or her to be, as over half the student body participates. Sports are excellent, too, as LHS continually fields competitive teams.

Nearby schools

Ledyard High School
24 Gallup Hill Rd, Ledyard, CT  06339
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (860) 464-9600
Last modified Ledyard High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top