Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

7-12|Private
104 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
72 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 81 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grove School 1

Posted April 12, 2016
- a teacher
I also believe those 5 star reviews are BS. I have has a horrible experience with this school and suggest you stay clear from this place. You cannot expect to get help when a business is becoming so profitable on your money. The children do not get the individualized and trained attention needed. Experience and knowledge can and should be found elsewhere.

Grove School 1

Posted December 07, 2015
- a parent
What an awful and horrid experience we had at Grove. We have an educational advocate and a principal of a special education school in our town accompany us on the interview and tour. At this time we were all told that our student would be starting the Monday after Thanksgiving. I did not receive any follow up call from staff member Lauren- finally I called and was told to sign the appropriate releases and come back for an admission interview. Due to the holiday our student would not be able to start the Monday after Thanksgiving but the following Monday. I did as told, went back and was told that our student would not be starting on that Monday either. Parent, educational advocate and principal all told at first meeting that child would be able to "mainstream" back into public school system. Then all of a sudden this changes and the student is now required to graduate from the school. They want your money and nothing else. Trust me from a parent perspective, do not even bother with his school. It is a joke.


Grove School 3

Posted July 01, 2015
- a student
The school has definatly helped but has too many unfair unnecessary restrictions. It gets very frustrating easily.

Grove School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted July 01, 2015
- a student
All fresh out of college some even teaching subjects they don't have a previous education in.

Grove School 5

Posted May 01, 2015
- a parent
My son has grown tremendously at Grove, and he really enjoys being a student there. He's made a great group of friends and enjoys his interactions with teachers and staff. It is an extremely positive and nurturing program that challenges kids in all be right ways.


Grove School 1

Posted March 28, 2015
- a parent
I would never recommend this school to any parent. It was presented as a therapeutic boarding school but was anything but that. My daughter was on anti depressants. The head of psychiatry at Grove, promptly took her off all meds at once. No tapering of meds, so it was dangerous. I'm sure there are competent staff there but my guess is the school will close down at some point. The Internet is too powerful now and reviews are made public much easier. Please look elsewhere for help for your child. Don't believe the school public relations campaign.

Grove School 1

Posted October 12, 2014
- a community member
After the influx of five-star reviews (presumably by Grove School staff), my review was removed. Considering how defensive some of the posts below are, and how honest I was, it would not be a surprise if someone inappropriately reported mine in an attempt to maintain the school's reputation. Instead of reading these one star reviews and trying to fix the issues addressed, Grove pretends that they're a godsent. I think that says a lot.

Grove School 1

Posted September 27, 2014
- a community member
The fact that Grove School officials feel the need to write five star reviews on this website says a lot.


Grove School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
Great School!!!! I have referred many families to Grove and have not been disappointed. Grove effectively educates and treats students with emotional issues where other school have failed them. I find them to be a trustworthy, honest and transparent program, and I encourage anyone who is searching for this type of schools to see them for themselves! I am a former teacher and administrator and now I am an educational consultant helping struggling students find great schools to help them and their families. I pay a lot of attention to web sites like this because it bothers me when so few people can end up with a powerful voice to parents who are looking to find help with their child. I believe often times that when you see bad reviews posted by former teachers it is usually sour grapes or someone struggling with their own life issues. If you really want to get to know a program you should go see it and get a sense of the place yourself.

Grove School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
Amazing place- helpful staff, nice facilities and a warm and caring environment. My daughter has been a student at Grove School for a year and we are so pleased with her progress. Prior to her entrance into Grove, we struggled and really lost hope in her future. We finally feel like we have our daughter back and our family is reuniting. There are not many places where you can find solid, college prep academics with the level of therapy and support that Grove students get. We feel lucky to be a part of this community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grove School
175 Copse Road, Madison, CT  06443
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 81 reviews. (203) 245-2778
Last modified Grove School is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Top