Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Bridget School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Manchester

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $165,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,170.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2013

Sorry this is a fake review. Just an observation, I am looking to enroll my children in a private school which led me to this page. All the reviews are either 5star or 1star (seems suspicious) The one star reviews were if not all, than mostly by one person. I can tell by the writing style "I'm anxious to leave" "counting the days until we leave" That is just one example Please be advised the 1 star ratings all come from the same parant!


Posted December 10, 2012

Our Catholic School recently closed, we visited all Catholic schools in the area and selected St Bridget's for our 2 children. We have been pleased beyond our expectations! All of the teachers, Principal and office staff are very dedicated and made us all feel very welcome. The curriculum is challenging as it should be, we LOVE the fact they have whiteboards and IPADS, and its great that they have Spanish in Grades 3 to 8 The other schools didn't. Just another plus! Our children just love the school. They have made many new friends! The Principal is just amazing and very caring! We would highly recommend and trust St Bridget's over any school, public, charter or magnet to educate your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2012

I think that this school is perfect with academics and education. The coaches will not let you play or do any after-school activities involving the school if you have a C or below. it's got a strong principal/school leadership, excellent teachers and staff, and its got challenging academic and educating programs. this is the best school you could have.


Posted August 26, 2012

My son graduated from St. Bridget School and he was very prepared for high school. The teachers are dedicated to their jobs and the principal is a wonderful leader and cares for all of the families whether they are students or teachers. The staff works with families, it is a school community that utilizes involvement from families, yes there is fundraising, not just to support the school but to give the kids the extras that many public schools do not offer, ie: sports with uniform, clubs, and family activities. Parents must be involved in their child's education and encourage them to work hard for success. About the bullying comments, I've never seen bullying in the school. Violence isn't tolerated and verbal aggression is dealt with when seen or reported. Most parents work with the school to solve the problem, unfortunately there have been a few parents who feel that anything said by another child that upsets their child is bullying. All parents must teach their child to handle conflict. Maybe these parents complaining about bullying should help their child and the school solve the problem, gather all facts, accept that their child may be exxaggerating or part of the problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

I was saddened to see that we were not the only ones who experienced bullying at this school. My daughter was PHYSICALLY and emotionally harmed by other girls - the admin was fully aware of the problem. We are anxious to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

New to the school and not impressed. Lots of bullying and it seems that certain parents are in charge not the administration. Enrolling anyone to keep the school open, instead of being selective. No one volunteers and I don't know if the school can continue without funds coming in. This is just my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

We recently left an area school. After touring Parochial schools, we settled on St. Bridgets. It's large enough for my child socially, yet small enough where the entire faculty and staff all know my daughter by name. We were very impressed with the newest technologies the school has (Apple ipads and interactive white boards), along with a first class school website. The teachers, academics and extra curricular activities all exceed our expectations. We know we made the right choice for our daughter, and ourselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

We have two children at St. Bridget school and they both love it. The teachers and principal are all very caring and approachable. The first grade teacher in particular far exceeded our expectations. We have been very happy with our experiences the last four years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2011

This past year my daughter was bullied several times by other students in grade 8. Nothing was done. After 8 years and pre-school, we too are leaving this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

St. Bridget School offers a great learning environment. The principal and staff seem to be first rate. I have to say that St. Bridget School is one of the best elementary schools and middle schools I have seen throughout my years of teaching.


Posted May 23, 2011

St. Bridget School seems to be a great place for children to learn. My children go there and I am so impressed. They are doing very well academically. The faculty and staff are wonderful. The principal is so kind and so caring! She recently helped us through a difficult situation with our youngest recently and couldn't have handled the it better. We now have another child who absolutely loves school, as not many elementary school students do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2011

On Friday May 20th 2011, a student from ST Bridget engaged in a violent fight with a student from another school. This student and his parents have been involved in multiple actions that have never been disciplined by the St Bridget pastor of principle. Please!!! Do your own investigation dont make a mistake
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

St. Bridget has many good quality. The size of the school allows for more interaction with the faculty and staff.. If there is a concern they will listen and work with you .. The school is always improving with academics, technology, clubs & sports..
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2011

My child was in a public school in Manchester (not naming school, as I am now biased and 2 sides to every story). My husband and I decided that our child needed more structure and discipline regarding his schooling. We like Manchester as a town, so we looked at the 3 Catholic schools in town. Assumption, St Bridget and St James. They all had the basic / same curriculum. Assumption had no gym and had a " split" 2 location campus, and the kids had to go to a different building (church basement) to eat lunch. also having to walking outside to do so. St James just seemed to large with 2 classes per grade level, and seemed very impersonal. We have to say that we settled on St Bridget. It seemed to have the best fit for us as parents and our child. Decent sized classes, one campus, a gym and separate cafe, all in the same building. The teachers and staff we met at their Open House just all seemed very down to earth, and very caring. Just wanted to share our experiences with those of you having to make an important decision about your little one's education.


Posted December 27, 2010

This school lacks smart boards, computer classes, etc.. this year a lot was cut out due to small enrollment. Maybe 12 children in a class, yet they still have students that fail. High tuition in addition to the fundraising which is $480 (1 child), $680 (2 or more children). Can't imagine what it will be next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

My son is at St. Bridget's and I couldn't be happier. We were concerned that it would be hard to fit into a new school but the staff and parents were very welcoming and treated us like family. The academics are superb! My son was reading in Kindergarten. The teachers and principal are so dedicated; the communication is timely and helpful. We looked at other schools in town but St. Bridget felt like home from the first moment we walked into the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

Disappointed in such low enrollment here, I would blame the principal on this. Not good socially for children. No full-time nurse, and no upkeep on facility because there are no funds. Everything volunteer with too much complaining. Tuition too high for what you get, when surrounding schools are less expensive and seem to be thriving. Counting the days until we leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

Saint Bridget's not only gives the kids a wonderful education but also a moral compass for navigating life.


Posted June 22, 2010

St. Bridget's is an excellent school. Dedicated teachers and smaller class sizes help differentiate the quality of learning and sense of community. The school offers a wonderful blend of challenging academics and social responsibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Not happy with this school. 2nd year here and I'm leaving the school. New principal and it feels as if things are not under control. I spend a lot of money here and I'm not getting the education I thought my child would.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 16% 4%
Hispanic 6% 20%
Black 4% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Hartford
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

74 Main Street
Manchester, CT 06042
Phone: (860) 649-7731

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Bowers School
Manchester, CT


Illing Middle School
Manchester, CT


Waddell School
Manchester, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT