Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Highland Park School 1

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
Rude receptionists, over worked teachers, under educated students!!! Everytime I go to substitute the students I hear non stop gossip from the front desk to the teachers, from the lunch ladie to the school nurse. It seems they have nothing better to do than chit chat about the salary of the parents. No, I am so sorry, but the doctor who drops off his son every day in the BMW will not save you from your misearble life francine! I am so sorry but work is work and if you want social hour, save it for after work!!!!!!

Highland Park School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
Rude receptionists, over worked teachers, under educated students!!! Everytime I go to substitute the students I hear non stop gossip from the front desk to the teachers, from the lunch ladie to the school nurse. It seems they have nothing better to do than chit chat about the salary of the parents. No, I am so sorry, but the doctor who drops off his son every day in the BMW will not save you from your misearble life francine! I am so sorry but work is work and if you want social hour, save it for after work!!!!!!


Highland Park School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
Rude receptionists, over worked teachers, under educated students!!! Everytime I go to substitute the students I hear non stop gossip from the front desk to the teachers, from the lunch ladie to the school nurse. It seems they have nothing better to do than chit chat about the salary of the parents. No, I am so sorry, but the doctor who drops off his son every day in the BMW will not save you from your misearble life francine! I am so sorry but work is work and if you want social hour, save it for after work!!!!!!

Highland Park School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted March 03, 2016
- a parent
Rude receptionists, over worked teachers, under educated students!!! Everytime I go to substitute the students I hear non stop gossip from the front desk to the teachers, from the lunch ladie to the school nurse. It seems they have nothing better to do than chit chat about the salary of the parents. No, I am so sorry, but the doctor who drops off his son every day in the BMW will not save you from your misearble life francine! I am so sorry but work is work and if you want social hour, save it for after work!!!!!!

Highland Park School 5

Posted June 04, 2015
- a community member
Love this school The staff is involved and always has a smile Love it's when I went here too


Highland Park School
no rating

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
The school states it maintains a serious approach to bullying. Teachers look the other way. After 'addressing' the problem, your child is no better off. Seek outside professional help. Don't rely on the school. Your child will be left to feel responsible.

Highland Park School
no rating

Posted November 24, 2008
- a parent
The classes are overcrowded. There are 'temporary' classrooms. Library is to small for a teacher to bring a class in together. Due to space there are few books! Plan on bringing your child to the public library downtown. It lacks computers and other modern teaching equipment. It is a poor facility compared to other elementary schools in Manchester. The site was not meant to be a school - traffic flow of busses and walkers is dangerous. There is supposed to be a renovation (I fear economic times may waylay that). They teach to the CMT and forget about the individual child excelling in areas of natural ability. This is not the way to instill a love of learning in young children.

Highland Park School 5

Posted October 06, 2008
- a parent
A very excellent school and i am proud that my daughter and son went there! Also, they might be or already are building an extra part to it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Highland Park School
397 Porter St, Manchester, CT  06040
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (860) 647-3430
Last modified Highland Park School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top