Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Stanislaus School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Meriden

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $137,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,100.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

St. Stan's has been a "God" send to my son and my family. My son Brady started kindergarten last year at St. Stan's after the school was recommended to me by a social worker/child counselor. Meriden public schools do not have the one-on-one student/teacher relationship that my child has benefited from at St. Stan's. He is reading at a level far above his grade, his speech development issues were addressed immediately upon enrollment, his teachers communicate openly and positively with me and the overall "personality" of the school is positive. I am proud to send my son there and extremely satisfied with the education and ministry he is receiving there. I look forward to sending my daughter to kindergarten there in 2015.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

St. Stan's has been a great experience for my children. The teachers go above and beyond to help them learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

St. Stans has a great community. Education is the foundation of this community along with school spirit and pride. My child is thrilled to be a student at St. Stans where education is held to a higher standard. From the parents to the principal they are a wonderful group of people that help instill good values in the children. They have shown my child that learning can be fun too. Lots of fun events to participate in that help the school and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

St. Stanislaus school in Meriden CT is a progressive school that teaches gospel values and is positioning itself to become a strong math and science academy. It brings out the best in its students. From parents to children to grandchildren, St. Stan's is the best school in Meriden providing a quality education from kindergarten to 8th grade, setting the foundation for a productive and fulfilling life.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 17, 2014

Saint Stanislaus School has been a great experience for our children. The small size, as compared to public school, allows for extra attention from the teachers and makes school a much more personal experience. The strong academic program and inclusion of the Talcott Mountain Math and Science program has prepared our children for a great academic future. This is a little school with a big heart where our children have been able to thrive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

Saint Stanislaus School will be partnering with Talcott Mountain Science Center beginning in the 2013-14 school year to provide science enrichment and relevant uses of technology in the curriculum. Saint Stanislaus School was founded in 1897 by a group of Polish immigrants who wanted to create a God-centered learning environment where prayer, advanced study, and service were emphasized. Our school curriculum exceeds the national Common Core standards and enhances the knowledge and skills of our students so that they can think critically and become productive moral citizens within a multicultural and technological society. Talcott Mountain Science Center began in 1967 with a dedication to hands-on, inquiry-based science that leverages a child s natural sense of wonder and critical thinking skills to provide a natural outlet for their curiosity and problem solving abilities. The merger of these two great institutions will provide a richer experience for our students. Saint Stanislaus School: Home of High Academic Achievers and Followers of Gospel Values Visit us online at www.ststansedu.org
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 18, 2012

My children have excelled at St. Stan's in all aspects of their education. Under the leadership of our new principal, we have an educational environment that fosters accademic excellence, spirituality, respect, and high expectations. This year new innovative programs have been implemented such as reading program, response to intervention, and a positive discipline program. Recent posts on this site are unfair and appear to be coming from someone who is bitter. See first hand all the great things going on at St. Stan's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

St Stans was a big disappointment. The education was seriously lacking. The school/church relationship is terrible. Unless your check book is out or your a member the clique, forget about equal treatment on anything. My advice look elsewhere for your child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

I feel that St. Stan's is an excellent school, all 3 of my children went there and are doing extremely well. The teachers are great, the staff is wonderful and if your child needs extra help, the teachers are willing to help out. I truly feel that both teachers and staff care about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

This school has been a big disappointment since my son started there in 1st grade. Ever since Father Ed Nadonly left the whole Catholic values, honesty and morals of the school has gone with him. Very sad, and the caliber of the Middle school Math is mediocre at best. This used to be the best Catholic school in Meriden, I honestly can't say that any more. The current Priest did away with the weekly Mass with the children. This is also very sad, the reason I chose St. Stans was the fact that they offered weekly Mass with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

St. Stan's is an excellent choice for anyone looking for a academic challenge for their child. They are ahead of the public school system academically and provide a family atmosphere for the students and their families. I recommend this school to anyone who cares about their students education and emotional well-being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

My son has done very well at St. Stan's. Academically, I believe the school does a good job. I believe the school can do more with math. It seems as though St. Stan's is a little behind compared to public schools in that area. Although I am very glad that Catholic teachings are included in the curriculum, I do not believe they should be the only thing concentrated on when there are other subjects that are valuable as well. The extra curricular activities offered are great and the band program is a definite plus. The classes used to be smaller, but now are larger which does not offer as much individualized attention that I would like. Overall, St. Stan's is a good school both academically and spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

St. Stanislaus School is a great place for students to grow both academically and spiritually. The classes and content my sons are receiving are top notch! My sons will be able to compete with other students academically when they reach high school. In addition, the opportunities for spiritual growth is outstanding. The students here are ready for leadership roles. The school has an athletic,band,and foreign language opportunities. All the parochial schools in Meriden are also working together to perform'High School Musical' this spring. Parents are encouraged to be as involved as they want. teachers are available for after school help. The homework can be demanding, especially at the middle school level, but the results are worth it!!-Rebecca
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

St. Stanislaus School has supplied my family with very important values. My Children have excelled in school even after they have left the family of St. Stans. If you are looking for a school that makes you feel like a family and will give your children an excellent education this is the school.If you get involved you will make friends for a life time. My son was able to take honors corses freshman year with out any problems. This school is not perfect, but it has a lot to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

St Stanislaus is a great school everyone will love. Might I add that it is very big and kept extremely tidy. The athletics program is outstanding and allows each level of capability to be answered. The programs to offer are JV and Varsity girls and boys basketball, along with co-ed soccer for middle school students. They also offer an additional basketball program that allows 1st-6th graders learn the game and also play at their own level against children at our school. The curriculum they offer is also a great part about St. Stans. Teachers allow every student to work to their ability and offer extra help if needed. I assure you from my knowledge that previous students that have graduated always come back to thank the teachers for the preparation for high school. Students also love that there are always millions of friends to have and nobody gets left behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2007

My experience with St Stans is so variable, it is hard to say whether I would recommend it. I have a graduate and a current student. If you want a tidy Catholic education and your child fits in with the idea of a good student, I guess this is a better pick over the public schools. But if your child needs extra help, be prepared to fight for it. The sports program is EXCELLENT I must say, they give most kids of all skill levels a chance to excel. Father Ed was the shining light of the school and would ignore any/all red tape for a child's best interests. Hopefully someone will step up to make St Stans a star again!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 61%
Hispanic 8% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Hartford
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

81 Akron Street
Meriden, CT 06450
Phone: (203) 237-1005

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hanover School
Meriden, CT





Curtis School
Meriden, CT


St. Mary School
Meriden, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT