Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Memorial Middle School 3

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
There is a lot of improvement that needs to be made at this school especially in the areas of leadership and teachers who should no longer be teaching. There is too much emphasis on preparing for standardized testing.

Memorial Middle School 4

Posted June 17, 2013
- a parent
I have had children at MMS for the last 6 years. My older son experienced bullying, which is going to happen in middle school no matter where you go. I approached his guidance counselor who documented the situation and worked to resolve the conflict. The situation improved somewhat, but when other incidents occurred the vice principal got involved and it stopped completely. We should have gone to the guidance counselor sooner. They need documentation so that they can step in. For the most part, I I found the faculty to be caring and attentive. Great office staff!


Memorial Middle School 5

Posted October 31, 2011
- a community member
All these comments are lies !I go to memorial and their is no bulling and it's amazing I love it!!

Memorial Middle School 1

Posted June 22, 2011
- a parent
Weakest school in Region 15. The principal and vice principal need to retire. The staff has no respect for them, and the children have no respect for the staff. The staff looks the other way and likes to blame parents for everything. A child will fall behind and no one will care. The bullying is horrendous. Not quite sure why because the rest of Region 15 seems pretty good. Have to blame the administration for that. Teachers also seem miserable.

Memorial Middle School 1

Posted November 10, 2009
- a student
I look back at a review from 2007 and I find that the same holds true today. Teachers are okay, but students are snotty and have no idea that there is a world out there. everyone is the from the same socio-economic backround, and so they all act as if everyone is rich. The staff is pretty bad; The principal does nothing and the vice principal is incompetent. Bullying is rampant throughout the school, and the kids are sliced up into nonnegotiable cliques. If you live in Middlebury, send your children to private school instead; it will be worth the money.


Memorial Middle School 1

Posted September 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Memorial Middle School 5

Posted May 30, 2009
- a parent
My son is excelling at MMS and loves going to school every day.

Memorial Middle School 1

Posted May 02, 2007
- a parent
I'm not impressed at all with this school. The transition from 5th to 6th grade is horrible. The teachers are never available to talk. There is no voicemail system set up, which makes it difficult to leave teachers messages. Leadership is weak. No communication between the teachers. Kids can be mean and no one seems to do anything about that, but look the other way. It's very run down and overall the staff seems miserable. Middle school years are hard enough without having all these problems added to it. Disappointing for an affluent community.


Memorial Middle School 4

Posted May 13, 2006
- a student
I am a student at Memorial Middle school and I think overall it is a fairly good school. Two major things that I would change about the school are the lack of diversity and no honors or gifted and talented programs. I really think the children there need to interact with different people from different social and economic backrouds. Second, kids who are ahead of their grade or age group have no chance to advance at their own pace. They are held back. Really there is no excuse for this because trust me they have some money! All in all this schools is great but with a little change it could be fantastic!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Memorial Middle School
Memorial Dr Box 903, Middlebury, CT  06762
(203) 758-2496
Last modified Memorial Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Memorial Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top