Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Independent Day School

Private | PK-8 | 152 students

IDS is best known for its engaging academics and nurturing environment.
 
 

 

Living in Middlefield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $220,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2014

The Independent Day School is fantastic!! The teachers are amazing and takes the necessary time to get the kids in a safe, learning environment. My child enjoys her time at IDS and has personally developed significantly while her time at IDS. Children learn through play and projects and fun activites and working together in a team and I can feel the excitement when I enter the class every morning. Extremely happy so far with this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

Our son had lost his enthusiasm for school in the public school setting. We moved him to IDS in 5th grade and have been glad ever since. The classwork is hands-on, project-based, and encourages high-level thinking. The teachers provide a stimulating, but supportive environment. He immediately got his zip back and no longer complained about going to school--even though the workload was more! We have been impressed both with the teachers and the friendliness of the school community. There are also lots of opportunities for kids to become "leaders" by participating in various community tasks, which makes our son feel important in the school community. This is an excellent school, where children don't "slip through the cracks."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

The Independent Day School is an amazing school. I have three children who have attended IDS and I cannot say enough good things about IDS. It is a community where students, teachers, staff and parents work together to provide the very best possible education for the children. IDS is a place where each child is respected, valued and intellectually challenged so that the child can cultivate and develop his or her individual gifts and talents. From the classroom, to the athletic field, to the stage in the theater, my children grew and developed on virtually every level. The IDS experience goes far beyond "fearless learning," embodying joyful, challenging, uplifting, empowering and transformative learning. IDS did an outstanding job of preparing my older children for a very demanding high school because it helped them to become self-motivated learners who advocate for themselves, and who developed strong self-confidence within a context of community values. If you want the very best for your child, come visit the Independent Day School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

IDS is a small gem of a school with a big emphasis on "whole-child" education. Though private, the school cultivates a down to earth, inclusive atmosphere, in which kids are encouraged to take care of themselves, their friends, and their classrooms. In "responsive classrooms," students' interests and needs shape the teaching. The small class sizes ensure individualized instruction and a supportive environment in which young learners feel engaged in their education and comfortable taking healthy risks. I personally love the curricular emphasis on experiential and interdisciplinary learning, often across grade levels and with a social responsibility component. The faculty and staff are, hands down, some of the most devoted and talented professionals I've seen. And they help shape students to be well-rounded, well-prepared, poised, caring, and intellectually curious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

IDS has quite simply changed the way I think about education. The school feels like an extended family to us and we couldn't be happier to have our two girls in such a caring environment. They do so well in teaching the children to work as a team while encouraging them to lead and express their own ideas. The teachers are passionate and skilled and ir really shows in our children's development. We could not imagine a better school. Steven and Sandra Levesque
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Our son's favorite day of the week is Monday, when he can go back to school for more great learning experiences. That's what its all about....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Our children have attended The Independent Day School since preschool and are now in the middle grades. It is hard to imagine another school environment offering a comparably engaging and challenging curriculum together with an atmosphere of respect, support and genuine caring among the students and faculty. One of the fundamental features we value most at IDS is the sense of partnership we feel with the faculty, which demonstrates the teachers' desire to educate each child individually and nurture his or her interests. The teachers get to know each student well and so are able to work with students on a very individualized basis. There are opportunites at IDS for students with varied interests: sports, technology, theater, music, writing, debate, student government and others. I would recommend that anyone investigating independent schools in the Central Connecticut area visit IDS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

IDS is a wonderful school. The academics are awesome and cutting edges. The teachers are skilled and caring. The atmosphere is lovely, warm and welcoming. My child is learning to be a better student, a more giving person and an independent young woman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

The Independent Day School provides students with opportunities for growth in so many areas. The academic instruction is challenging and engaging. The school promotes a social curriculum that is essential for these young learners. My sons are demonstrating achievements in both independent thinking and collaborative work and are becoming more confident and capable individuals. IDS truly is a "Great School!"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

Fantastic school. Warm and academically challenging environment. Strong emphasis on fostering social and emotional intelligence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

When my kids were school age, we wanted a school that would be a warm welcoming environment but also have a really great academic program. The Independent Day School fit the bill! With their innovative approaches to learning, progressive social and emotional curriculum, my children have flourished beyond believe. The teachers are amazing. Every year, my kids have a new favorite teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

The Independent Day School is the perfect fit for my daughter. The teachers are amazing and challenge her every day in a nurturing way. She goes to school excited to learn and went from being a shy wall flower to a confident happy student. My daughter always did well academically in school, but never loved school. Because of IDS that has all changed. She loves school and I love IDS because of that!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

My son visited IDS and decided that this was where he really wanted to be. I'm glad we listened to him because it is such a perfect fit for him. There is an excellent technology teacher who taught classes in 3D printing last year and now he is teaching design thinking with electric circuits and architectural design. His home room teacher is thoughtful and encourages innovation while ensuring every child in the class fully understands curriculum material. Beyond the classroom he is in school with very supportive kids and families who have always made our family feel very welcome. It has been the best educational experience for my son and a great supportive environment for our family. We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2013

OK, so I have had children in this school for the past 3 years.The reviews below have given a good description of life at IDS. I don't know about the number of teachers with PHD's, but I can tell you with certainty that the teachers are beyond excellent and actually care about the students... both the advanced and the ones in need of extra help. Beyond academics, what we love most about the school is the focus on developing quality human beings, not just book smart kids. There is a good mix of wealthy and not so wealthy families, and to be honest I have a hard time telling difference between them. The vast majority of parents and children fall right in with the schools driving principle of mutual respect for all. This flows through all types of kids, from athletes to "nerdy" smart kids....they all get along and participate in activities with little to no judgement. Anything else is not tolerated, and it seems like the kids are actually happy about it. Having started with our kids in a public school system, I can say without reservation that this is no small feat. IDS has all the benefits of a private "upscale" school, without any of the pretentiousness. That's it's real charm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2012

What makes IDS different: the warm, close-knit community that allows kids to try new things and to be themselves; the rigorous, but not high-pressure academics (no teaching to the test!); the dedication and attentiveness of the teachers and staff -- they really know your child; the fact that social and emotional skills are viewed as a key part of helping kids grow into successful people. My favorite IDS story is from last year. A seventh grader was doing a power point presentation at the all school meeting, in front of nearly 200 people. The speakers weren't playing the sound from her computer, so a teacher held a microphone up to the computer to project the sound. The entire auditorium, students ages 3 on up, grew completely silent, so this child's presentation could be heard. No adult had to tell them to be quiet -- the older children modeled it and the younger ones followed. I thought it was a remarkable demonstration of what loving, respectful community looks like.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2012

IDS is an absolutely wonderful school! My child has been there for 4 years and will graduate in June. I wish the school went to 12th grade! The teachers are fabulous, caring and offer an exceptional and challenging curriculum. My child has been given an outstanding education and is more than prepared to meet the academic demands of high-school and beyond as a result. The teachers and staff are attentive to each student and the IDS community as a whole is warm and welcoming. The head of school is a wonderful and dedicated leader who is always available and willing to discuss issues and take suggestions and supports the teachers, students and parents in every way. His dedication to the IDS community and the continued well being of the school is what the head of every school should aspire to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2012

IDS is a wonderful elementary school! My two children received a great education in a warm and caring environment guided by talented and caring teachers. I am grateful that my children were fortunate enough to be able to attend this wonderful school. I would recommend IDS to anyone who wants to provide their children with a phenomenal foundation!


Posted June 26, 2012

Actually there are zero teachers with a PhD at this school. I agree save your money. Better to go to your local elementary school where your kids can make local friends, instead of elitist children from all over the Hartford area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

i would not recommend this to anyone. it starts off ok, and gets worse a you go along. save your money for college. mediocre head of school, uncaring disengaged teachers. spoiled mean students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

We are very happy with IDS. Very strong academically in most cases plus the culture of the school is acceptance and respect. It lets your child be the unique person that they are. My daughter enjoys being there very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Black 3% 13%
Hispanic 2% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Mock Trial (2012)
  • CT Regional Festival Participation (2013)
  • CT Physical Fitness Award (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • United Way (2013)
  • Warm the Children (2013)
  • Read to Grow (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:10 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jessi Christiansen
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (860) 347-8852

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Located on a rural campus in Middlefield, The Independent Day School is a private pre-school, elementary and middle school, serving families from over 20 communities. Challenging academics, enriching programs in fine and performing arts combine traditional instruction with hands on learning in a nurturing environment. We encourage our students to develop a sense of curiosity, to display empathy and respect for one another and to be fearless in their learning. 1:6 teacher/student ratio.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
35
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
50
Students typically come from these schools
Public School

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$7000 - $25000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Choate Rosemary Hall
Loomis Chaffee
Mercy/Xavier
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

115 Laurel Brook Rd
Middlefield, CT 06455
Website: Click here
Phone: (860) 347-7235

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Wesley School
Middletown, CT


John Lyman School
Middlefield, CT



Snow School
Middletown, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT