Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Middlefield, CT
Students enrolled: 152
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Independent Day School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a parent
The Independent Day School is fantastic!! The teachers are amazing and takes the necessary time to get the kids in a safe, learning environment. My child enjoys her time at IDS and has personally developed significantly while her time at IDS. Children learn through play and projects and fun activites and working together in a team and I can feel the excitement when I enter the class every morning. Extremely happy so far with this school!!

The Independent Day School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
Our son had lost his enthusiasm for school in the public school setting. We moved him to IDS in 5th grade and have been glad ever since. The classwork is hands-on, project-based, and encourages high-level thinking. The teachers provide a stimulating, but supportive environment. He immediately got his zip back and no longer complained about going to school--even though the workload was more! We have been impressed both with the teachers and the friendliness of the school community. There are also lots of opportunities for kids to become "leaders" by participating in various community tasks, which makes our son feel important in the school community. This is an excellent school, where children don't "slip through the cracks."


The Independent Day School 5

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
The Independent Day School is an amazing school. I have three children who have attended IDS and I cannot say enough good things about IDS. It is a community where students, teachers, staff and parents work together to provide the very best possible education for the children. IDS is a place where each child is respected, valued and intellectually challenged so that the child can cultivate and develop his or her individual gifts and talents. From the classroom, to the athletic field, to the stage in the theater, my children grew and developed on virtually every level. The IDS experience goes far beyond "fearless learning," embodying joyful, challenging, uplifting, empowering and transformative learning. IDS did an outstanding job of preparing my older children for a very demanding high school because it helped them to become self-motivated learners who advocate for themselves, and who developed strong self-confidence within a context of community values. If you want the very best for your child, come visit the Independent Day School!

The Independent Day School 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
IDS is a small gem of a school with a big emphasis on "whole-child" education. Though private, the school cultivates a down to earth, inclusive atmosphere, in which kids are encouraged to take care of themselves, their friends, and their classrooms. In "responsive classrooms," students' interests and needs shape the teaching. The small class sizes ensure individualized instruction and a supportive environment in which young learners feel engaged in their education and comfortable taking healthy risks. I personally love the curricular emphasis on experiential and interdisciplinary learning, often across grade levels and with a social responsibility component. The faculty and staff are, hands down, some of the most devoted and talented professionals I've seen. And they help shape students to be well-rounded, well-prepared, poised, caring, and intellectually curious.

The Independent Day School 5

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
IDS has quite simply changed the way I think about education. The school feels like an extended family to us and we couldn't be happier to have our two girls in such a caring environment. They do so well in teaching the children to work as a team while encouraging them to lead and express their own ideas. The teachers are passionate and skilled and ir really shows in our children's development. We could not imagine a better school. Steven and Sandra Levesque


The Independent Day School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Our son's favorite day of the week is Monday, when he can go back to school for more great learning experiences. That's what its all about....

The Independent Day School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Our children have attended The Independent Day School since preschool and are now in the middle grades. It is hard to imagine another school environment offering a comparably engaging and challenging curriculum together with an atmosphere of respect, support and genuine caring among the students and faculty. One of the fundamental features we value most at IDS is the sense of partnership we feel with the faculty, which demonstrates the teachers' desire to educate each child individually and nurture his or her interests. The teachers get to know each student well and so are able to work with students on a very individualized basis. There are opportunites at IDS for students with varied interests: sports, technology, theater, music, writing, debate, student government and others. I would recommend that anyone investigating independent schools in the Central Connecticut area visit IDS.

The Independent Day School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
IDS is a wonderful school. The academics are awesome and cutting edges. The teachers are skilled and caring. The atmosphere is lovely, warm and welcoming. My child is learning to be a better student, a more giving person and an independent young woman.


The Independent Day School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
The Independent Day School provides students with opportunities for growth in so many areas. The academic instruction is challenging and engaging. The school promotes a social curriculum that is essential for these young learners. My sons are demonstrating achievements in both independent thinking and collaborative work and are becoming more confident and capable individuals. IDS truly is a "Great School!"

The Independent Day School 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
Fantastic school. Warm and academically challenging environment. Strong emphasis on fostering social and emotional intelligence.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Independent Day School
115 Laurel Brook Rd, Middlefield, CT  06455
(860) 347-7235
Last modified The Independent Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
The Independent Day School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top