Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Mary School

Private | PK-8 | 199 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Middletown

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $195,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2011

My son had his preschool here and his teachers were excellent. They were sensitive to the peculiarities and needs of each child and maintains a fun and happy learning environment. The curriculum was geared towards kindergarten readiness, since they were already given homeworks and being taught advanced things (math: patterns, addition). I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2010

Love,love,love this school.The teachers and curriculum are outstanding. A very friendly and family-like atmosphere.My child is very happy here and so are we.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

Wonderful teachers. Solid leadership in the administration. Exceptional academics. My child is extremely happy here. Wouldn't want to be anywhere else!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

I want to complement the 2nd and 3rd grade teachers at St. Mary's School. The teachers are doing outstanding work & study habits


Posted May 22, 2007

My daughter will be entering the fifth grade next year, and I couldn't be happier. She has been a student since she was in pre-school. Everyone looks out for eachother and that includes parents to teachers to clergy. I really like how the parish and school are so close and really know how to bring and keep a community together. My daughter is a top reader in her class and her tests scores were outstanding. Thank you St. Mary's for giving my daughter the best education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2006

My son is in kindergarten and I am very impressed. There are two teachers in his class of 14. They spend a lot of time with him and he has homework every night. He absolutely loves it. In addition, values and respect are taught from the get go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

I have been very pleased with the quality of this school. Children beginning in K receive homework. This helps to develop the habit of studying at home with parents. Everyone at the school really cares about the students. Older grades helps with the lower grades. Both groups love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 62%
Black 7% 15%
Asian 3% N/A
Hispanic 2% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Norwich
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

87 S Main St
Middletown, CT 06457
Phone: (860) 347-2978

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Sebastian School
Middletown, CT



MacDonough School
Middletown, CT


St. John School
Middletown, CT


Farm Hill School
Middletown, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT