Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Roadside Academy

Private | K-8

 
 

Living in Middletown

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $195,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 12, 2014

The lost tools of learning have been found at Roadside while attending in 2013/2014. They were challenged every day to deliver and several reasons contribute to the results obtained including loving teachers, encouraging environment, solid curriculum, and students who naturally strive to deliver their best. The teachers require the students think critically and develop bedrock of character. While students spend such a high percentage of their daily life with teachers it is critical these family partners at Roadside devote themselves to growing moral fiber. The small classes ensure nuances in learning are engrained where students master a skill before moving on to the next development. Our children never waited for the others to catch up and they have no idea how rigorously this program pushes them. The Hillsdale curriculum adopted by Roadside is successful in developing critical minds by selecting correct source documents, autobiographies and classic literature avoiding texts that have been distilled into irrelevancy. Our active children never became overwhelmed or felt unfit. Roadside has been a sound investment in our most important priorities; the children and their minds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2014

My oldest child has attended Roadside Academy for 3 years now. We have been very happy with Roadside overall. The administration and teachers are accessible and responsive to parents. The teachers are capable and genuinely care about the students and their progress. Class sizes are small enough that each child receives individual attention to a degree not possible anywhere short of homeschooling. Initially I was concerned about how small the classes were, but my son has developed positive relationships with his classmates and children in the adjacent grades. The academic pace is somewhat more aggressive than our local public school. I believe this is primarily due to the small class sizes and a high degree of family support for the children who attend. I also believe this is due to an almost exclusive focus on academic basics. That same focus is also a benefit in that we never have to counteract/contradict non-academic concepts being taught at school. At the same time, I would like to see improvements in the areas of art, music and PE. Each is addressed, but the size of the school limits resources in these subjects. We intend to send our other children to Roadside as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2014

I am an alum of Roadside Academy. I completed 1st-8th grade. I was accepted into Suffield Academy and Kingswood Oxford from Roadside. I then went onto Emory University and University of Saint Joseph where I graduated with my BSN, RN. I plan on going onto graduate school next year. Roadside Academy is the reason why I was able to accomplish so much. It was my solid foundation that got me here. The teachers have an unwavering love and commitment to the success of their students education and personal growth. I was in a class size as small as 2 and as large as 15 while I was attended Roadside. I never felt like I was lacking something because of the small class size, rather I felt like I gained personal involvement and attention. Roadside has become a home to me. The school treats students and parents like family. I am now married and have two little ones of my own. My 4 year old son just completed Roadsides preschool program and is onto the Kindergarten class in the fall!!! I am so excited for him to be able to experience all Roadside has to offer!!


Posted June 5, 2014

Our son is becoming a fine student at Roadside Academy. With traditional methods of education and values, Roadside educates and encourages a love to learn independently. We have found the teachers to understand the value of both hard work and play. They genuinely care for each student and their personal and academic success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2014

I have sent all three of my children to Roadside and can't say enough about the quality of the teachers and the staff. The caring staff and teachers empower the children of all abilities to achieve their maximum academic potential . More importantly with a strong emphasis on personal conduct, personal responsibility and solid moral values the school has made raising the kids easier by reinforcing and not undermining what is taught at home. Save for college but Roadside proves that the time to invest in your children is at the foundational grade school level. I'm so glad we found this gem of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

Roadside Academy has given us exactly what we were looking for in a school and more. Due to small classroom sizes and the nurturing environment provided by Roadside's dedicated teachers, our son's reading and math skills are at least one grade level ahead. This school has helped his self-confidence grow and fed his excitement to learn. He loves going to school! We are happily looking forward to his brother starting kindergarten at Roadside this fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2011

I am an alumni of Roadside and I know firsthand how great this school is! At Roadside every student is important and the teachers truly care about each student. The classes that I took at Roadside allowed me to be in more advanced classes when I moved on to high school, and really prepared me for the "real world." I will always be grateful for the wonderful education that I recieved at Roadside and definitely would recomend the school to everyone! Thanks Roadside!


Posted October 20, 2010

We are so happy that we brought our daughter back to Roadside Academy. The teachers are exceptional, and they work hard to inspire your children to reach for the stars. With the small class room 10/1 ratios, my daughter has advanced so much. We love Roadside academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2010

We are very happy with our decision to send our son to Roadside Academy. He has blossomed socially and academically at Roadside. The class sizes are small and the teachers are so helpful. He is given the individualized attention he needs to excel. We love Roadside Academy and are so thankful for finding it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

We love this School !! - Our son has started here late in his Kindergarten year, he loves his teacher Mrs Roberts. The school has a small town feel where all the children and parents are very welcoming. With small class sizes my son has advanced soooo much since starting here - you cannot beat this school ! Thank you Roadside Academy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

At first I sent just one of my children here, we instantly fell in love with the school, and I have since placed my second child here. The teachers have a passion for teaching they care about each individual child and believe all children no matter what can achieve great success. (The teachers actually care, imagine that) I strongly recommend this school, I couldn't be happier!! My children are finally in the right school, and will achieve academic success!!! My only regret is, not finding the school years ago, so my oldest could have truly benefitted. Thank You Roadside Academy!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

This school is second to none! The extremely knowledgeable teachers and small class sizes assure a quality academic experience. The teachers, students and families all know each other well and strive together to work towards educational excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 61%
Two or more races 10% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Black 0% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 20%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 209
P.O. Box 209
Middletown, CT 06457
Website: Click here
Phone: (860) 343-6031

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bielefield School
Middletown, CT


Farm Hill School
Middletown, CT


St. Sebastian School
Middletown, CT


St Mary School
Middletown, CT


Wesley School
Middletown, CT


Snow School
Middletown, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT